We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood”

Ristorante Monna Lisa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Hot Springs Village
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Seafood”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Find the parking area (free) on Google satellite map just outside the walls, walk to the left, around and through the town gate, up the road a short distance to the charming piazza and there you'll see the Monna (2 n's?) Lisa. The fruitti di mare is the best I've had- worth a special trip. Good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    279
    77
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional restaurant with a twist”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Lovely Italian restaurant serving traditional food but will some original combinations. Good selection of wines.

Room is charming and elegant yet intimate and has high ceilings. Pleasant, friendly and professional staff. A restaurant rather than a trattoria.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food, variable service but don't get there too soon!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We called into Castiglione del Lago en route to Rome for the flight home, so were on a bit of a tight timescale but wanted lunch.

Of all the restaurants in the town, this looked the best but they were quite adamant we couldn't eat before 1230. So we stood around, and were seated as soon as they would let us.

But, the meal was great. The pick with wild boar was tasting, filling and well made.

Sitting outside was a delight, the service was a bit surly but good overall. The patron was very charming, and, judging by the conversation he was having with two other diners, very knowledgable about wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly entertaining service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a party of three who stopped in for lunch, and we were delighted with the experience! Our food was very good, and we appreciated that the menu choices are more varied than most Italian restaurants. We had sea bass with a citrus sauce, pasta with seafood, and lasagna--all cooked very nicely and delicious. The warm chocolate cake with pears was especially good. We thought the price was excellent for the quality of the food and ambiance. Our host, Maurizio Bracci, was accommodating and quite charming as he told us the history of the beautiful building--last a bank and before that part of a grand palazzo where Pope Julius II stayed during a visit that no doubt put the place on the map. We found the interior very pretty, with soft lighting and vaulted ceilings painted in a renaissance style. Our service was attentive though at a leisurely pace that suited us as we're on vacation--anything more rushed would be rude by Italian standards I think. We'll certainly thank our host from the apartment we're renting for this recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pretty good food but slow service that left an aftertaste”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were a party of 10 people (4 adults and 6 kids) for lunch on a Thursday, late September. We got a table inside and waited for the waiters to get to us. Finally a guy who seemed to be the owner showed up and when he heard one of the kids say the word Lasagna he immediately said there was only one serving left. Then he left and came back later to take our order. When he did, he said (honestly I might add) that it is not a good idea to take many different pasta dishes because it takes a long time to make them and we will have to wait longer. We were not in a terrible hurry but wanted not to be late for a tour we had booked so we said OK and ordered a very small variety of dishes. We ordered one Lasagna since we knew they had one serving and to our disappointment he came back and said that it was already ordered...This was very strange to us since he knew we wanted the Lasagna and were sure he had reserved the last serving for us. We waited a very long time for our food. When it finally came it was good, except for a strange broiled ham which was very salty. The portions were not big.
We were left with a bitter taste as we were not able to order what we wanted off the menu and because of the long waits (even for paying the bill!).
I was really looking forward to eating here after the great reviews on TA but I would not recommend this place, unless you have a lot of time to kill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OritN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Monna Lisa also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing