We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caprese salad and duck pici ragu”

Ristorante Monna Lisa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best caprese salad and duck pici ragu”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booking essential. Beautiful home cooked fresh food. Caprese salad and duck pici ragu were the best i've ever eaten. Portions here are larger than average and it was more than I could eat. Service was charming and the price was below average. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    279
    77
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I choose a restaurant by its food quality and then location. I guess we all do that. This restaurant has both! The food is delicious, accompanied by a good house wine and it is placed in the little fountain square in Castiglione del Lago.
The service was impecable and the owner was very kind with any questions we had and offered us advice on thevchoice of food.
Magnificent place, I will always come back to it if I can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aerandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Remarkable”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is authentic Italian very well presented and whatever dish you choose it will be freshly cooked and taste as good as it looks. My wife requires a gluten free diet and received help and advise from the menu and had a good choice of fish dishes (the best sea bass we ever had) and excellent steak.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best culinary experience! Are you somewhere around the go there!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Corona, Montalcino, Arezzo, Montepulciano - if you are somewhere close to those cities, then you need to go to Castiglione del Lago. Not for a city tour but for a great culinary experience. The owner will recommend great food (both for adults and kids) and great wine. We were living around Cotrona but we managed to be there twice. One of the bests bruschetta (three different taste), wonderful spaghetti vongole, fantastic soup with sea food (hide portion, which can be shared for two), hime made ravioli with nuts and shrimps ... Very Tasty ... and unique desserts :))

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRAZ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Excellent service, helpful and friendly serving staff, so-so food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We made early reservations for our party of eight so that we could see Rigoletto at La Rocca in Castiglione del Lago. Friendly welcome and helpful advice from the manager who seated us a nice table in the piazza. When it came to ordering, he was keen for us to try some Umbrian, as opposed to Tuscan, fare. He suggested an Umbrian riserva made from Gamay grapes over my preference for a Nobile di Montepulciano. I should have stuck to my guns. The second bottle, an Umbrian Sangiovese, which was the vino rosso della casa was better. Coperti included some lovely pieces of Umbrian but, early warning signs of the fare, we were served with small pieces of pizza, meat pastries, cubed (processed) prosciutto and mozzarella. Some of us then had excellent antipasti of large shrimps and melon; others had a (very large) prima of homemade pici and very good duck sauce. The secondi were less good. Two of us had the Umbrian fish soup, which is a pale replica of French bouillabaisse: the freshwater fish - perch, tench, eel, trout, and pike - were too oily while the tomato sauce was the wrong side of subtle. Others had slices of veal and pork that were bland. The best of eight secondi we agreed was a grilled whole bass. The contorni were very good, especially the patate al rosmarino and spinaci (some with chicory and chard). We skipped dolci as we had to rush for Rigoletto. €240 for 8, including tip. Service was excellent. Would we return? Probably not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Monna Lisa also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing