We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Tuscany Charm and Hospitality”
Review of Riserva di Fizzano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riserva di Fizzano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Riserva di Fizzano has a lot of character and charm in the heart of Tuscany. It is an old estate, tastefully restored with breath taking views every where you look. You can see San Gimiganino and the towers on a clear day from the property. All of the suites are spacious and very authentically decorated to keep the charm of the location and era, very rustic and rather large rooms. We had a two bedroom suite, one with a full size bed, and another with twin beds for our two kids. We had a full kitchen, dining table and living room. You can easily cook and store food in your wonderful apartment. Each bedroom had its own full bathroom too. When you think of wanting to experience the charm of Tuscany, this is definitely the place to do it. The hospitality of the staff is exceptional. They are very attentive in helping you in any way.
We ate at the restaurant on the premises and experienced local Tuscany cuisine. We did not realize that Riserva di Fizzano has a big role in working with the Olive Garden US restaurant chain. The Chefs at Riserva di Fizzano regularly train the chefs that work at Olive Garden to learn how to prepare authentic italian Tuscany cousine. The food was fabulous and the wine that they served was fantastic partially because the property is owned by the Rocca delle Macie winery. Many of the dishes melted in your mouth with exceptional quality and taste. Something you won't find at the local Olive Garden, lol, but you will be impressed in the way they prepare and present the dishes. YUM!!!

We signed up for a wine tour and tasting and really enjoyed seeing the full range of wines. My husband and son who are not normally dessert wine drinkers, found theirs to be exceptional in full body taste -- highly recommend Dolceluna. We enjoyed seeing their wine process. The tour was well worth the time in understanding how they prepare their wines. The wine shop can ship any where in the world, so you can order and have your wine shipped back to you in the states. We bought a case of white and red wines and are having them shipped to the US.

If you want daily room service, you have to request this at the front desk. We did not know this and after having a full day of fun in Tuscany, we came back to our beds not being made. We had an apartment type suite on the second floor with some fantastic views, but the stairs going up were a little steep and very rustic. While the stairs were not a challenge for us, it would be for my parents that are in their 80's. If you have elders in your party, you may want to make reservations in advance to secure one of the suites that are on the ground floor, so you do not have to deal with the steps.
The drive to find this country estate could be challenging without renting a GPS -- we were able to enter the coordinates and be brought right to the front door. It is out in the countryside, so I would highly recommend renting a GPS for the week.
This country estate is beautiful. It surpassed our expectations in every way and if we go back to Tuscany, there is no question about our plans to stay there again. Our two kids who are in their mid-20's were really taken back and thoroughly enjoyed the Tuscany experience. A trip of a life time, and Riserva di Fizzano made it a very memorable time for all of us. THANK YOU.

Room Tip: All of the suites appear to be spacious with great views no matter where you get a suite. Second fl...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Riserva di Fizzano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

Riserva di Fizzano is located in the herat of Chianti. Rather difficult to find it. Old estate, tastefully restored. All rooms/appartments are spacious and well decorated. Also a good restaurant. Here you can buy some samples of the "Rocca della Macie" wine selection.

Room Tip: Dont worry too much, all rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrosS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

First of all, don't stay here if you are looking for flat-screen tv's, free wi-fi, workout facilities and valet parking. DO stay here if you are after hospitality and charm in the middle of the Tuscan countryside.
We were a group of 20+ travelers from Brazil staying for 5 nights for a friends 50th birthday celebration. We couldn't have been better accomodated. Someone mentioned the GPS coordinates, I plugged them into my Garmin and arrived at the doorstep of the hotel. Driving the Tuscan countryside can be a little tricky, especially in the evening, so make sure to arrive during daylight hours, if possible.
The rooms are very rustic (NOT musty, moldy or rundown, just rustic), clean, comfortable and huge. I saw at least 6 of the suites and they were all very nice. The restaurant is decent, I didn't see the menu, in that we had fixed meals as a group, but the food was tasty and authentic. Try the tiramisu, divine... I am not a huge breakfast eater; coffee, juice, a croissant or two, all available and very good and homemade on site.
Best of all are the views from nearly every spot on the property. Standing in front of the restaurant, you can see the towers of San Gimignano off in the distance, and the rolling hillsides all around. In addition, this property is actually owned by the Rocca delle Macíe winery, so there are not only lots of good wines available, but also tours of the winery and tastings that can be arranged.
The ONLY con I can come up with is that you have to request daily room service if you want it. No extra charge, but we were a bit surprised the first day when we arrived back at the hotel after a long day out and about and our bed was still unmade.
All in all it was a delightful stay, I would recommend this property to just about everyone, including families with kids, except perhaps those with physical disabilities and/or mobility restrictions.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringoWim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were so impressed by our first stay at Riserva di Fizzano in 2008 that we did not consider another location for our recent trip. What a wonderful, peaceful, amazing place. Our villa was outstanding; lots of room and all the amenities we needed. The staff are all extremely accommodating ensuring that all our needs were handled (Ilaria and Jho). There is no better place to stay in the Tuscan countryside!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This summer we have stayed in six different places in Tuscany and Riserva de Fizzano has without a doubt been the best of them. Its a friendly and nice place, where you feel welcome and where the staff (from the reception to the gardeners) do everything to make your vacation relaxing and comfortable. The on-site restaurant serves great food for a very reasonable price - even though the lunch portions could be a tiny bit bigger.

The only thing which I can - and will - put my finger on, is the fact that WIFI internet access is charged at 4€ per hour. In the year 2011 and with the fairly steep rates at Riserva de Fizzano internet access should be free, which I hope it will be when I return next summer to our already booked room at the Riserva de Fizzano :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malene816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just arrived after a week in "ville di corsano" at an agriturismo charging 600€ a week.

Place looks nice and clean. To gey there follow the brown sign "Fizzano" which is never mentioned. GPS coords from site will get you on the correct road, not the appartment!

Asked for WIFI access, they ask 4€ per hour! That's crazy. Last place had free (and price for a week was half as much as this one) wifi and all over the country wifi is free most of the time.

Even my mobile internet charges only 2€ a day! This is in my opinion a very bad thing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here for 1 week in July. Everything about this property was superb from the excellent customer service, wines, pool, views and breakfast. The property is originally hundreds of years old that has been renovated into 22 rooms if i recall. We had dinner there 1 night but preferred to take the 7KM drive into Castellina in Chianti which we absolutely loved for a quiet little town. We actually much preferred Castellini in Chianti to the bigger hillside tourist traps of San Gimignano and Volterra. Siena is about 45 mins away which we also loved.

Take the wine tour on offer and go to their cellars after for tasting. Wine in Italy is superb and very cheap compared to Canada. We were jealous of all the northern Europeans who could simply drive down and load up their cars with case after case of wine

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiaussiecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
0.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
525 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
591 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
140 reviews
4.7 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riserva di Fizzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riserva di Fizzano

Address: Loc. Fizzano, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $132 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riserva di Fizzano 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Tuscany’s Chianti region, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves lies Relais Riserva di Fizzano, a beautifully restored complex of medieval farmhouses.The complex is made up of self-contained apartments, gardens, an old chapel and a restaurant which offers genuine Tuscan cuisine. There is also a large swimming pool overlooking the valley and mountain bikes are available free of charge for those who want to venture into the gorgeous surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riserva di Fizzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riserva Di Fizzano Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Riserva Di Fizzano Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing