We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cooking Class in Italy!”
Review of Fattoria Tregole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Tregole
Certificate of Excellence
CO
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Cooking Class in Italy!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Fattoria Tregole. We cannot visit Italy without spending at least three nights here. My husband and I always stay in Appartamento Vigneto , while our friends stay in Appartamento Aia. We take our trips to Italy in the Fall, preferring the cooler weather and lack of crowds. Although we have eaten Edith's amazing cooking in the past, we have never had a cooking class with her and Marguerite. This was absolutely the most outstanding cooking class that we have ever taken. We all decided that morning on the menu, then Edith and Marguerite went shopping to ensure fresh, local ingredients. We had so much fun, chopping and stirring and talking and laughing and, of course, drinking their exceptional wine. We learned how to make six different dishes and then were able to eat an extraordinary dinner. Read previous postings for a thorough review of the property itself. Once again, we thank Edith and Marguerite for everything they do that goes above and beyond expectation. You will not find a more perfect location for your trip through Tuscany.

Room Tip: Absolutely love, love, love Appartamento Vigneto...sitting in front of a blazing fire with a glass o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
178
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielsko-Biała
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After reading the books by the Tuscan author Dario Castagno my wife, my daughter and I decided to travel to the described places and meet the author in person. We arranged a visit in Tregole (to see the winery), and another one in Siena (to see the famous Nobil Contrada del Brucco). Both turned out to be the most interesting experiences of our Tuscan adventure. The visit to Trattoria Tregole and lunch with Dario and another couple of tourists was one of the most memorable moments in our Tuscan holiday. Contrada turned out to be even more interesting, with lots of historical detail and a specific personal approach of our guide. Dario's great knowledge of the region's history and culture makes his tours exceptional and entertaining.
If you still hesitate how to spend your Tuscan holiday, we certainly recommend Dario's services!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Fattoria, only had lunch during the visit, but the place is in countryside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Templar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Appartamento Vigneto in June 2013.
The apartment was exactly as it is presented on the homepage of Fattoria Tregole.
The surroundings, the facilities of the Fattoria, everything's perfect.
Edith is a perfect host, friendly, helpful, offering any support you need. Her recommendations for sight seeing and places to go for dinner are competent and they were all able not only to fulfill our expectations, but even to exceed them!
The Fattoria Tregole is kept in perfect condition by two very friendly housekeepers, always willing to give you support. If you want to have an Espresso, no issue; They even have interrupted their work for heating up the Espresso machine although it was an unusual time for such wishes.
The meal is perfect, hand-made food based on regional food and specialties.
And to make it even more perfect the wine from their own wineyards is as well excellent.
The location of Tregole is perfect as well, best to be used as starting point for sight seeing visits to Siena, Montepulciano, Montealcino, S. Gimiagno,...
I fully recommend Fattoria Tregole if you are looking for a perfect place to relax and to enjoy the numerous joys of Tuscany life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay was fine, but ... perhaps we were just expecting too much. We had pre booked supper, but were all disappointed. Breakfast was fine too but compared to others during our Tuscany tour, it was only average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The question I have to ask myself is how one could go to Tuscany and not engage the services of Dario? He helps you finely tune your senses to the Chianti region so that you can experience it through the lens of an insider - an insider who is steeped in the flora, fauna, history, people, culture, traditions, food and drink. He takes every care to set the stage for making a visit to Tregole magical. Each turn at the winery brought a lovely twist, be it happening upon a gorgeous outdoor garden room with a stone table for an honest assessment of the wines of the region (table wine to super Tuscans), to stopping at just the right point to learn that the barn stands as it did hundreds of years ago, to the natural lighting in the chapel being enhanced by candlelight and the passing of lovely cheese and salami, to the cellars having just the right background music for a romantic, candlelit telling of the winery story. Dario arranged for a lovely meal by having the private dining table beautifully set and and even changed courses quickly to accommodate gluten free dining. Over our meal and wine, we made sure to engage Dario about the Palio, his district, wild boar hunting, the economy and his political and religious views. Watch out, you might want to stay a little longer, read a bit more (he is a prolific author and I own many of his books - you can peruse them and get them inscribed), and find yourself wondering if that beautiful stone villa in the distance could have your name on it. The hours with Dario Castagno were the best of our Italy experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritersCramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Dario organised a private driver, who picked us up and drove us to 3 small villages with excellent commentary and local knowledge. We were greeted at Fattoria Tregole by Dario and a few other tourists for a short ramble through the grounds and a tour of the wine cellars. Dario's English is excellent and he managed to tell us the fascinating story of the area combined with his own childhood experiences (tomb raiders was every boys dream).All the while sipping the local Chianti wine which is inseparable from his narrative.Lunch was a simple but rewarding 3 course meal with wine and great conversation ( vegetarians catered for) It was great to escape the city heat of Florence and see the green hills and vineyards. Highly recommended.The Frattoria looked beautiful and had a large swimming pool , although we did not stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our three week trip to Tuscany began on April 22, 2013. The region has beauty that meets every expectation. There is no photograph that can capture the depth and breadth of all that your eyes will see.
We had the good fortune to spend four nights at Fattoria Tregole. We hoped to find a comfortable base for visiting the local sights. It is! But we found it to be so much more. This is an extremely well-kept and beautiful property. It is rural with the last kilometer of the journey on a “white” (unpaved) road. It is quiet and dark at night. Look up at the stars. For big city people, these are rarities. At the same time it is close to so many things: slow roads, fast roads, scenic roads, shops in scenic towns, food from basic to gourmet, even a city (Florence) are all really close by.
Owner Edith Kirchlechner is the kind of person everyone should have in the family. Friendly, helpful, and informed are only the starting point. Edith asked what interested us, made suggestions, and guided us to all.
If you are lucky enough to be there on a day when Edith offers an evening meal, a treat is available to you! We thought it would be a convenience for that day; it turned out to be one of the best meals in Tuscany. Of course, we had the option to enjoy wine made on the premises. We did: very nice! Our night included the company of others staying at the property. A very enjoyable group as dinner flowed into after dinner conversation.
For other nights, there is a great high-end restaurant just a couple kilometers away. Or, if you want to go simple, a pizzeria on the main street of Castellina in Chianti offers an amazing selection of pizza in a casual ambiance that makes you want to have another glass of wine and stay a little longer.
We also were offered the opportunity to join in a wine tasting. Not being a “wine person” and one who already has had the experience of sitting around a table sniffing, sipping, swishing and spitting, I intended to skip it. But, we were interested in Chianti and the wine operation was literally under our feet, so we said yes. Lucky, lucky us! This was a light-hearted and informative view on wine, winemaking, grapes, Tuscan history, and human behavior. Conducted by Dario Castagno who was long a Tuscan tourist guide and is possessed of personality plus. He is also an author, Google him. We walked about the premises with a glass of wine(s) in hand and it felt more like a social occasion. No pretense, no sales pitch, just fun.
Tuscany is an experience to be savored. The same is true of Fattoria Tregole.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.4 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
510 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
539 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Tregole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Tregole

Property: Fattoria Tregole
Address: Localita Tregole 86, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel with all comforts, wine tastings and cooking classes, breathtaking views from the pool. Medium price €150,00 daily per 2 Person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fattoria Tregole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Tregole Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Fattoria Tregole Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing