We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome day at Tregole and Dario Castagno”
Review of Fattoria Tregole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fattoria Tregole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have been reading Dario's books about Chianti and the history of Chianti since my last trip to the area in 2007. I was so happy to be able to arrange a wine tour and lunch with Dario at Fattoria Tregole during my last visit to Tuscany. We started with an informative history about the area followed by the tasting and tour. We first visited the chapel where we tasted Tregole's Chianti Classico. Next, we moved to the aging area where we tasted the Chianti Clasico Reserve and Tregole's IGT red blend. The tasting was followed by a spectacular lunch where the wine and Dario's stories of the area flowed freely. The lunch was awesome, Pecorino Flan, Ribollita, and chocolate mousse. Fattoria Tregole will ship wine anywhere - I ordered a case, and cannot wait to get it! Dario will arrange a driver (recommended) for transportation to and from your villa and Tregole. We had an extremely fun and informative afternoon at Tregole and I highly recommend this tour and lunch.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 306 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

When in Chianti, don't miss this hidden gem. By hidden, I mean, literally hidden. Signs off the main road point to Tregole--the road is unpaved and it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere, but when you get to Tregole, population 21, you'll be spellbound. Fattoria Tregole is one of the jewels in this area. The owner Edith is warm and welcoming, the restored 16th century farm estate is postcard perfect. I did not stay at the B & B this time, however, did get to see a few of the suites and was impressed. The winery tour with Dario Castagno was the highlight of my 3 week trip to Tuscany--not to be missed. I enjoyed the tour and the wines were excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place looks lovely even though we arrived in a rainy day. We stayed in suite3 which is spacious and has a good size bathroom. Being there during a low season, there wasn't much of a crowd and we had problems contacting the owners for dinner options. We felt abandoned for the two nights we were there. Maybe our experience would have been different if we had been there during a high season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just stayed at tregole with 3 other couples and we all agreed that of the 4 places that we stayed in Italy this was the best! Edith and Costello were perfect hosts with great wine, food, attitude, and scenery. I also highly recommend the dinner by Edith and the tour of the winery by Dario was very fun and educational! It was very easy to find and conveniently located to visit other Chianti towns. We WILL be back to Tregole!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is one of the best places we have ever been, in fact we liked it so much, that we stayed there twice, once in March 2012, then again in October 2012. The location is perfect & beautiful, the house is charming, rooms - super clean, service - outstanding, cooking - perfect. Edith is a fantastic host and great cook (the cooking class is a must for anyone remotely interested in food!). My husband and I are looking forward to going back there again this year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vannav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A little delayed with this review, but better late than never, as this place is so amazing everyone needs to hear about it! The 3 of us rented a 2 bedroom self-catering villa called Vignetto which also has its own little outdoors area perfect for late evening dining after cooking up our market purchases. I had a double bedroom upstairs with ensuite and my own little sitting room (just sofa and wardrobe on the landing but nevertheless), and my friends had a double bedroom downstairs. The beautiful common areas, a sitting room and a dining room/kitchen were beautifully appointed and cosy with a huge fire place. We stayed in the late summer, but I can imagine how cosy this place would be in winter.

Everything about this property is just so beautiful, homey and relaxing, from bay leaf hedges fragrant in the morning when you get your lovely breakfast on the verandah, or the infinity pool with fab views of Chianti hills, the beautiful gardens, the house, the working farm part of it, or the wine and olive oil that you can avail yourself on a honesty system basis in the main dining room. If you are staying in the villa and intend to cook or buy beautiful tomatoes in Greve markets or the like, make sure you get a bottle of Tregole's olive oil, fresh and beautiful.

We did a cooking class with Edith the owner (who is a fabulous inspirational woman, and fun to be around and cook with), "helped" only by their gorgeous dog Frankie in a fab huge industrial size kitchen. It was so much fun. If you are at all into food, I would strongly recommend it (even if you are already a fairly advanced cook), it is just so much fun, beautiful fresh produce and fab price as your dinner price is included. We cooked for 13 people who were at the hotel that evening, and it was fab setting as the sun sets and meeting people from all over the world. We also had dinner at the villa one other night (though we didn't cook this time, and it was similarly top quality and super tasty). Guys shouldn't be intimidated and they had just as much fun and were well instructed and looked after by Edith.

I have sent friends here since who rented just the room, and they had fabulous time despite being there out of the season when it was rather cool and pool was not in use, Edith also looked after them to perfection. The sunrise and sunset views from Vigneto alone are worth staying here for. Absolutely love this place and recommend it unreservedly!

Room Tip: Try the olive oil and wine produced on their farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here on our last few days of our honeymoon in October 2012. It was fantastic. Our room was amazing (we booked the suite), it was clean and spacious with a real Tuscan farm house feel. The owners were friendly and the wine they produce is lush!It was a real treat to stay at this peaceful retreat, just a few minutes drive outside Castellina in Chianti. We are planning to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
4.4 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
1 mi away
Villa di Capovento
Villa di Capovento
#2 of 18 in Castellina In Chianti
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
Podere Patrignone
Podere Patrignone
#3 of 18 in Castellina In Chianti
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Tregole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Tregole

Address: Localita Tregole 86, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $96 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel with all comforts, wine tastings and cooking classes, breathtaking views from the pool. Medium price €150,00 daily per 2 Person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fattoria Tregole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Tregole Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Fattoria Tregole Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing