We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Poderi Val Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poderi Val Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent two weeks in Poderi Val Verde in Castellina in Chaianti.
The grounds were beautiful with lots of blooming flowers and a lovely view of the country side.
Urlike our hostess was a delight. Helpful every time we ask for directions, the best vineyards to visit or where the best restaurants were. One of the best nights spend at Poderi val verde was our cooking class, Loads of fun and informative.
Jayne

Room Tip: because we were a large group we had several interconnecting apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    19
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
89
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and our 3 children joined a friend, his wife and their child (a total of 8 people) for a beautiful, and incredibly fun, week at Casa Pineta in Poderi Val Verde.

The proprietor, Ulrike, is a magnificent hostess who consistently went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was exactly what we wanted--which is to say a farmhouse-style getaway in Chianti. She was on-hand anytime we need anything (more wine!), gave perfect dining recommendations resulting in discounts from some local establishments, and even helped arrange tours and told us the best places to park in our day-trip destinations (e.g., Florence, Sienna, etc.).

We opted to go for the daily breakfasts, which I *heartily* recommend. Every day was something a little bit different, coupled with homemade jams and jellies, and different teas (I am a tea drinker, the other adults all had coffees). In fact, Ulrike had some fantastic teas!

The accommodations are perfect--Wi-Fi, pool (that we had almost to ourselves anytime we wanted it), walking trails, table tennis, and of course, beautiful scenery!

For our family-style vacation, the outdoor Legos, the pool, and the cats were just right. There are plenty of great spots on-property for portraits, and the night sky is clear and bright.

I had a great time, with a great hostess, in a great region. What's not to love? We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tuscany was the second week into our family vacation to Italy. After our initial week in Rome, we were looking for a relaxing time in Tuscany. We stayed in Casa Pineta along with another family for a week in mid-July.

Like other reviews, if you are looking for bed and breakfast type accomodItions or resort type setting then DON'T stay in Poderi Val Verdi. As Ulrike will tell you, "it's a working farm". STAY if you are looking for a rustic farmhouse (beds are somewhat uncomfortable), quiet evenings, and a place to return to after day trips to the Chianti countryside. Our teenagers loved the pool which was a welcome respite from intense heat during the day. Location is centrally located as Florence and Siena are all within 35 minutes of driving.

The town of Castellina is quaint with a well stocked Coop to purchase groceries and sundries. Do get gelato at Antica Delizia. Hubby liked the chocolate combined with black cherry or strawberry. One of the drawbacks is there is not enough in Castellina to visit each evening. Being first time visitors to Italy we were not comfortable driving long distance to return to the villa. You will need a car and download maps of Italy for your GPS.

All in all, we would recommend staying at Casa Pineta. We found Ulrike to be very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 4kois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very beautiful place. My wife and I only stayed there three nights but it was the best stay of our trip to Europe. Ulrike was great. made you feel right at home. Enjoyed the welcome dinner and the pool was fantastic on the warm summer afternoon. Cool and refreshing. The grounds were beautiful. If we are lucky enough to go back to Italy again we will definitely stay here again
T Dimock

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked Il Refugio - we are a young couple who were after a relaxing stay in a good location to explore the Chianti region. Ulrike very welcoming and the welcome dinner was lots of fun. Il refugio was nice and cool inside, an escape from the July heat, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Nice outdoor patio for eating and sunbathing. Loved that this wasn't a regular hotel or B&B stay - had walks starting from the farm, sheep, pets and a peacock. We could easily have stayed longer. Castellina is a few mins drive with lots of restaurants and a Coop. Set in spectacular hills of Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ulriki was magnificent! Our family of four, with grown daughter and son, spent a glorious evening learning how to cook an authentic Tuscan dinner in her kitchen. We learned so much and could have spent the whole night chatting with Ulriki as we enjoyed the fruits of our labor under her expert direction. This is truly a hands-on class and we loved to be a part of the process. Our first task when we return is to try it on our own. I highly recommend this class for the lesson, ambience, and overall experience. Probably the highlight of our two weeks in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The welcoming dinner, cooked by Ulrike should not be missed. Fantastic pesto pasta with choices of various pestos. Insalata and meat dish. House wine very good. We had unusually cool and rainy weather, and use of the fireplace in the lounge was a necessity, Very clean, comfortable beds, very nice bathrooms. The patio is very large, dining table and lounge chairs. Quite private. Very short drove to Castellina, which has always been one of our favorite Tuscan towns, with very nice restaurants and shopping. The town has a useful Co-op and several good mini-groceries.
Also close to Fonterutoli, an excellent winery with a well known chianti and a new restaurant.
Go to Fonterutoli for lunch or dinner, best in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosieraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
488 reviews
2.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
205 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
553 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poderi Val Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poderi Val Verde

Property: Poderi Val Verde
Address: Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official site of the WBHC 2017 Ask us for links to detailed apartment and property videos Val Verde, privately owned by the German Ulrike Eder, is an authentic rustic and still active farm estate from the 15th century offering relaxing country-style vacation. Its located only 3 km from Castellina in Chianti, some 35 km from Florenz and 25 km from Siena and very central to most important sights. On extended grounds we offer carefully restored, well-equipped self-catering apartments and houses ("Casa Pineta" - 4BR/4BA farm house, "Casa Acacia" - 3BR/2BA farm house, "Casa Capanninna" - 2BR/2BA cottage, "La Tana" - 2BR/1BA ground floor apartment, "La Bellavista" 1BR/1BA loft apartment, "Il Rifugio" -1BR/1BA studio) all very private with terraces, bbq etc. Rates range from euro 75/day (1 bedroom unit) to euro 400/day (4 bedroom unit) - we prefer weekly rentals - only the studio rents on a 3 day minimum period 2 ha of park-like gardens with large community pool (May-Sept), use of covered, unheated pool for cooler seasons possible on request, leisure area with garden furniture and shaddy gazebos as well as playground with sandbox, swing, soccer field, volley- and basketball equipment and ping-pong table. Only privately owned demanding 3D Archery Range in Tuscany with 22 positions, following the WBHC2017 there will be a total of 4 ranges !!! We give archery lessons and may teach flint napping Our little "zoo" hosts many cats, 2 dogs, geese,ducks, free roaming peacocks, pigeons and chicken as well as a small herd of Cameroon sheep. Surrounded by olives, meadows, macchia and forests or pine and oaks this is a little lost paradise for nature and animal lovers.. Activities: Game, bird and butterfly watching, in spring and autumn hiking/trekking, mushroom "hunting" i, road and mountain biking, half-day hands-on cookery classes of local dishes , wine tastings, city guides, weddings, birthday and anniversary celebration for small groups . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poderi Val Verde Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing