We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Podere Cogno” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Podere Cogno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Cogno
Corsicana, Texas, United States
1 review
“Podere Cogno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived about 3 hours later than expected due to a late flight and our GPS rental which kept shutting down in Florence. Marco met us as we pulled into the villa. What a beautiful place. Classic old Tuscany Villa. 2 km from Castellina in Chanti (this is important as we ate all of our meals at either Podere Cogno or in Castellina). Marco and Giovannia both speak several languages. Their English is better than mine. The villa is well maintained and very isolated. Thus the only sounds we heard were the olive orchard workers trimming the olive trees. Be sure and ask Marco about the olive oil businjess. You'll learn the business in about an hour! Really knowledgeable and loves to tell the story. We were there 6 nights and ate two of our dinner meals with them. They have a menu at breakfast of the dinner being served that night. Both meals we had were excellent. Breakfast is pretty traditional Italian with the exception we got to order eggs cooked to order each morning. I'd suggest the scrambled eggs as they were the best ever! It must be the milk they have as these eggs are to die for!! While their marketing materials say room service is every three days, ours was just about every day. The place is exceptionally clean and the hosts are a real delight. You'll also love their two daughters living with them (oldest daughter is working and no longer living with them).

If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay while touring the Chanti area this is as good as it gets. Great location, wonderful hosts, and real Itaian scenery, Plus it is close to all the tourist spots you'll want to visit.

Castellina has four or five great places to eat. You'll enjoy them all if you stay as long as we did. Just a great place to stay if you like this area of Italy. We loved it.

Room Tip: They are all nice so choose whatever is avaiable without worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Burrell, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at Podere Cogno in october, 2011. We were traveling with our two sons and daughter-in-law. We were greeted by Marco and Giovanna who speak very good english. They are very friendly and have many suggestions of what to see. Florence and Sienna are not far from the villa. We chose the family suite on the second floor and had two bedrooms and three baths. They set up a single bed in the living room and it worked out perfectly. The breakfasts were delightful with Italian meats, cheeses, fresh bread, coffee cakes, yogurt, and espresso. The breakfast room is charming and we were able to talk with the other guests that were staying there. The entire facility is spotlessly clean and well taken care of and the scenery is breathtaking. It takes a while driving on the dusty dirt road to get there, but it is all part of the charm. My biggest regret is that we could not stay longer. Hopefully we will get back there very soon. Just lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLowerBurrell_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at Podere Cogno for a week in August. In short, it was fantastic!

The location is stunning: A secluded italian farmhouse 2 minutes down a dusty track from road from Castellina in Chianti.

We stayed in the self-catering appartment, which gave us our own outdoor space, kitchen, living room, whilst still allowing use of the grounds and dining in the evening if we wished.

Marco and Giovanna are exemplary hosts. Dining at Podere Cogno is a must: Giovanna cooks incredible local food made from their own produce, and the outdoor setting overlooking the valley is stunning. We hadn't intended to but could not resist eating there almost every night! Watch out for the limoncello (again, homemade) that Marco offers at the end of the night, it is both strong and delicious!!

Cogno is set away from the road and any other buildings, and as a result is wonderfully peaceful. It is so easy to relax and unwind. And yet, a short drive in the car and the villages and views of Chianti are easily reached.

Marco kindly organised a wine tour for us at nearby Fonterutoli (just for us!) which was great, and was always available to advise us on where to visit, providing maps and directions.

A very special place - highly recommended. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: The self-catering appartment is great, and offers private outside space, in addition to the garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This really is a hidden gem in delightful surroundings in Tuscany run by one of the nicest families you could ever wish to meet. Our third visit and it will not be our last. Excellent food is served by the owners every evening but if you wish to eat out Marco ( the owner ) will be pleased to recommend local restaurants all of which are excellent. All rooms are very comfortable and the self catering apartments are superb if you wish to prepare simple food at home. The only problem with this place is leaving it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our recent 9 day visit to Podere Cogno was our fourth and we will definitely return. The idyllic location coupled with fabulous food and, in Marco and Giovanna, two of the most hospitable, friendly and helpful people you could hope to meet make this place really special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My Wife & I have just returned from our fourth visit to Podere Cogno & I have to say nothing has changed, this place continues to be fantastic.
During our 9 day stay the owners Marco & Giovanna helped by their daughters made our stay as memorable as our previous visits.
If after reading the reviews you think this place sounds too good to be true, I can assure you it is, personal friendly service with attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. It is perfectly placed for exploring the beautiful Tuscan countryside yet only 18k from Siena but secluded enough to provide total away from it all experience.
Don't think about it, book it & you won't be disapointed.
5 stars is the maximum allowed but I would give it more if I could.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DELIDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I spent five nights in this beautiful place. It was our favourite part of a five week trip in Italy. Podere Cogno is in an idyllic setting and is magnificently equipped with a pool and delightfully furnished, immaculate rooms. Marco and Giovanna and daughters were excellent hosts. They are warm, genuine people who have a commitment to provide the absolute best for their guests at all times. One of the highlights was the five star meals created by Giovanna and Marco. It was such a treat to be served a beautiful four course meal at the end of each day. Marco was very helpful in providing us with comprehensive daily trip advice and maps. We drove to Castellini in Chianti, Sienna, and San Gimignano and we also did some good walks around the area. It was a special and memorable time at Podere Cogno.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VandAOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
0.4 mi away
Castello di Fonterutoli
Castello di Fonterutoli
#4 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 38 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Molino di Bombi
Il Molino di Bombi
#16 of 38 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
3.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Cogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Cogno

Property: Podere Cogno
Address: loc. Cogno, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the renovation of the ancient buildings of the farm, guests are cordially received in the elegant suites of the main farm house, where the limited number of places available guarantees the most personal of treatments and the most stylish accommodation down to the smallest details.High quality meals are prepared by the landowner herself, using the genuine products of the farm, the best local ingredients and following old Tuscan and Italian recipes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Podere Cogno Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing