We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, beautiful location & personalized service”
Review of Podere Cogno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Cogno
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful location & personalized service”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I traveled to Tuscany with my 77 year old mother & we stayed in Podere Cogno's suite. Cogno's owners, Marco & Giovanna, are incredibly hospitable, and they made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. It is everything you would expect from a Tuscany get-away. Charming & in the middle of Cogno's olive farm. The views are beautiful and the farms rustic beauty restored my soul!
If you stay here, you must plan to eat dinner at Cogno as often as possible, as Giovanna is an amazing chef.
I would highly recommend Cogno to anyone & look forward to returning (hopefully) one day.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekahineeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Podere Cogno is the perfect place to explore the Chianti region of Tuscany. Marco and Giovanna were gracious hosts and owners of this wonderful Tuscan olive farm. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the spacious suites and modern amenities in a centuries-old building, wonderful hospitality and fantastic meals.

On our third night we were served two different versions of wild boar - both delicious. There is always another option for each of the courses. All of the food is local and fresh. Of all the places that we stayed in on our three week trip, Podere Cogno was our runaway favorite. Marco and Giovanna's advice on our daily excursions was always very much appreciated.

Please don't be daunted by the long dirt road when traveling to Podere Cogno, signs directing you are well placed and the accommodations are well worth the effort. We hope to be able to return soon to our favorite Italian getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Go and savor Podere Cogno. Its location gave us easy, scenic access to lots of hilltowns, wineries and cities in Tuscany. The historic village of Castellina in Chianti is about 3 km away and great to explore. Marco and Giovanna warmly welcomed the four of us and provided very comfortable, private accommodations - unusually spacious, sparkling bathrooms with each bedroom having adjacent living rooms. We looked out onto lovely gardens, olive groves and the pool - all nestled within the surrounding countryside. The breakfasts were delicious and abundant - and also we were offered an optional choice of having dinner there. Were we ever glad we chose to do that! The homemade food from family recipes was so scrumptious and the courses presented beautifully along with expertly selected wines. We look forward to when Giovanna will have her cookbook finished so we can try somehow to duplicate those wonderful flavors.

Above all, though, we appreciated our hosts' knowledge of Italy which they readily shared with us. With their kind assistance, we were able to discover delightful destinations. All services were reasonably priced too - including freshly laundered clothes. After our 3-night, not-long-enough stay, we left Podere Cogno with dear memories of the Matteini family - wishing we had more time to enjoy them and their idyllic setting. Next time we will. If you're in this region, drive down their short "white" road to experience the best of hospitality.

Mille grazie, Giovanna and Marco. All your work and gracious consideration give much joy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeoncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
268 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Total relaxation in Chianti - spacious rooms, fabulous views highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Advised to go to Podere Cogno by locals, we were already expecting something special. But this was really perfect! Already seeing too much hotels and accomodations because of my work, this accomodation was a very nice surprise! nice rooms, not too many guests (a maximum of 12, so I was told by Marco) a perfect place to unwind in a beautiful quiet area! Hot Tub, a pool, fitness room... and I should not forget the delicious food Giovanna prepares every night... I can highly recommend this accomodation, not in the least because of the friendly hosts.
We will certainly return next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingveertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Podere Cogno is the stuff that dreams are made of. Sitting couched in a delicious valley of olives and vines, the house is the most beautiful example of the Tuscan farmhouse you could hope for. As you approach, the tapestry hills wrap you up in their nourishing embrace and you know this is a place that will look after you. Nothing changes as you take a closer look. The rooms are gently and tastefully decorated and space generously abounds in the amble suites, bright bathrooms, living room, terraces, rolling garden and woods beyond. The rustic integrity of this working olive farm remains intact despite an abundance of little luxuries for guests – hot tub, swimming pool, fitness room, terrace. This place is so cleverly done that it is quite remarkable and I cannot think of a single thing I would change about it. But the house and place, whilst flawless, come second to the exceptional warmth and welcome of the Matteini family. Marco and Giovanna are natural hosts. You are instantly at ease. Giovanna’s home cooking is worthy of the highest praise, dinners are delicious and generous, like everything else here. The daytime snacks are a real treat too, wonderful enjoyed on the sunny terrace with a glass of wine over a book from the impressive library. I can only describe the farm’s own olive oil as a kind of nectar, crammed with taste and silky in texture, that I would be quite willing to eat with every meal for the rest of my days. Everything here is good for you, very very good for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Fabulous as always. Marco and Giovanna are such lovely people and staying in their stunning home is always a perfect way to enjoy a superb holiday in wonderful Tuscany.
We will post more photos shortly, but I need to check the lottery results to see if we can go back immediately, because leaving this time was difficult.
As we said before Podere Cogno is so worthy of high recommedation but selfishly we don't want too many people to know about it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMChippingCampden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
0.5 mi away
Castello di Fonterutoli
Castello di Fonterutoli
#4 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Molino di Bombi
Il Molino di Bombi
#15 of 38 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.8 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Cogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Cogno

Property: Podere Cogno
Address: loc. Cogno, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the renovation of the ancient buildings of the farm, guests are cordially received in the elegant suites of the main farm house, where the limited number of places available guarantees the most personal of treatments and the most stylish accommodation down to the smallest details.High quality meals are prepared by the landowner herself, using the genuine products of the farm, the best local ingredients and following old Tuscan and Italian recipes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Podere Cogno Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing