We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of "a peaceful location"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Capannuccia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda La Capannuccia
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The definition of "a peaceful location"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

My wife and me stayed at this B&B in september 2008 for 10 nights. From the beginning we have been very pleased with this lovely House and it's hosts.
Too bad it has been too cold to use the pool (which is not typical for that time of year), but on the other hand, that did not bother us too much. La Locanda Capannuccia lies wihtin the woods, about 2km from the next mainroad down the hill, which makes it more than quite. You won't hear nothing but nature there.
Next town is Castellina in Chianti. So you have the ideal base to explore Tuscany. The lovely hosts will always assist you in finding the right places to go to, whether for sightseeing or for dining. If you love good wine, you're also in the right place. There are some of the best Chianti-vineyards in vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

This review is overdue but thought better late than never as we would highly recommend La Capannuccia.

We stayed there in September 2007 as the last stop on our Tuscan holiday. La Cappannucia is a lovely Tuscan farmhouse and our room was both comfortable and well-appointed. The house is set in a picturesque valley surrounded by Tuscan hills, secluded and wih a real sense of peace about it - there are comfortable loungers overlooking the valley and we enjoyed sitting there in the evenings with wine and cheese as the daylight slowly faded. I also had a lot of fun on the twisty-turny drive down through the woods from the main road.

The location was superb for exploring the Chianti area and Daniella gave us some great recommendations for dining in and around Castellina-in-Chianti, especially once she found that we were both foodies. We also dined in one night and had a delicious Tuscan meal - Daniella is an excellent cook and her chickpea soup lives on in our memories!

  • Liked — Its authenticity
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

what a wonderful location! Came here after Rome and Florence and the tranquility was amazing! Really nice hosts and wonderful rooms - never had such a good nights sleep.

Perfect location for exploring Tuscany: we went to a few vineyards, walks around and ate in the local town, went to Siena and San Gimignano - I recommend them all.

There was only one other couple staying when we were who we met at Breakfast and we all agreed that this place was great and we wished we had spent more time there

  • Liked — Location, and the peace and quiet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quentin_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

Nothing could have prepared my wife and I for the ultimate relaxation of Locanda La Capannuccia, and its wonderful hosts.

We took advantage of the offer to have dinner prepared for us the night we arrived. It was delicious, and just the beginning of our excellent stay in the Tuscan countryside. The included breakfast was just as great.

Loved our room, with views of the surrounding hills. It was very clean, well decorated, and the bed was heaven.

We liked this place so much, that we asked to stay an additional night. We'd have stayed even longer if we didn't have further plans. It's a great home base for Tuscan day trips to cities such as Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Castellina, etc., etc.

It was fun just driving around the surrounding countryside visiting vineyards for wine/oil and just getting lost, and found again.

I'm a little late in posting this review, but I wouldn't hesitate to send my best friends here! It was by far our favourite place to stay on our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Location, the owners/hosts, meals.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 457khz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
1.9 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Podere Palazzolo
Podere Palazzolo
#6 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fattoria Tregole
Fattoria Tregole
#1 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Capannuccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Capannuccia

Property: Locanda La Capannuccia
Address: Loc. La Capannuccia | Pietrafitta, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda La Capannuccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Capannuccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing