We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a gem...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda La Capannuccia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda La Capannuccia
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

My partner and I are from Sydney, Australia and had decided to take a 3 month trip, mostly through Europe and our stay at La Capannuccia was one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

We had hired a car and drove from Rome and actually had no intentions of staying in Chianti but got charmed by the quaintness of Castellina. After scouring the streets for a nice B&B we noticed that the Lonely Planet recommended this little B&B, hidden off the roads. Boy are we glad we listened.

The owners, Mario and Daniella were incredibly lovely and took us in, despite having no prior reservations. We got in in the late afternoon and they were kind enough to offer the option of paying for a home cooked meal, which we gratefully took (the weather in Italy at the time was not so crash hot). We asked for traditional Tuscan meals and we were not disappointed.

Our stay for the night was so lovely that our original intention of staying one night went out the window and we booked an additional night. We asked for another home cooked meal on the second night (with a recommended Chianti wine) and amazingly this surpassed the previous days. So much so that I had to ask for their chickpea soup recipe before I left! =)

The rooms were so cosy and we had amazing views over the valley. The owners were so hospitable with suggestions on areas to visit, providing us maps and having a friendly chat whenever we were in the house.

Thank you for an amazing couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTwallets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

After the hustle of Rome and FLorence it was a sweet treat to settle in to the quiet of La Capannuccia, which is 1.2 K off the highway. The room was well appointed and lovely with a comfortable bed, and gave us the best sleep we had on our 2 1/2 week trip. In mid October it was chilly at night but lovely during the day. The pool is beautiful and would have made a nice swim had we brought our suits. Lounge chairs outside and a patio (where breakfast is served, weather permitting) off the dining room let you relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside. Daniella made dinner both nights we were there and it was delicious, served by Mario. The dining room of this very old converted farmhous/barn lends a warm and peaceful air to a "slow food" meal accompanied by a selection from Mario's collection of jazz. Daniella speaks fairly good English, Mario a little less. They are lovely people who will give you information about the area and the history of their lodging. We hope to go back there again when we return to Italy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tailgate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Completely not what lonely planet made this place seem like. As soon as we got to our room, we discovered a live lizard in the toilet! The bugs were incessant and it felt like we were camping- not something that is worth 95 euros a night. And when we said we wanted to check out after 2 days instead of 4, owner was rude and lost all her supposed hospitality. Our only disappointing hotel during a three week trip!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutesy0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacapannuccia, Proprietario at Locanda La Capannuccia, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Bugs and lizards in the countryside: what else?
Our Inn is located in the heart of the Tuscan countryside and this is well advertised both in our website and in the Lonely Planet guide. As everybody knows “sometimes in the countryside it is possible to meet some bugs and lizards”. As testified by the other reviews we are used to provide the best possible service to our customers and, thus, we are really sorry to read that these guests have defined the behaviour of the owner as rude. Probably this is due to an unpleasant misunderstanding. We thank the Lonely Planet guide that made our Inn well known to many tourists who always demonstrated appreciation for our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had the best 3 nights of our week in Italy here at Locanda La Capannuccia. Daniela & Mario, the owners, looked after us brilliantly and gave invaluable recommendations for local restaurants and things to do. The one night we didn't follow their advice we had a less than average meal so listen to their suggestions!! The bedroom was lovely, very peaceful setting down a steep drive. Lovely pool and delicious breakfast every morning. We will be recommending them to anyone visiting the area and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarecharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Locanda La Capannuccia. A friend and I stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. The owners were welcoming and warm and we enjoyed spending the evenings talking to them. The room was very clean and the bathroom felt like it has just been renovated. We had a deluxe room and it was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. There are definitely mosquitoes there and no screens on the windows and no AC (just a ceiling fan), so just be aware. We loved it so much though that sleeping in a warm room was a small consideration.

The inn is surrounded by Tuscan hills and it's really lovely. We saw fireflies, deer and a wild boar during our stay. The driveway down and then back out can be a little treacherous and nervewracking but well worth it for what you get when you arrive. The location is perfect for touring the Chianti hills, as it was easy to get everywhere.

We had dinner at La Capannuccia one night and while a little expensive, was easily one of the best meals we had in Italy. Daniela is a wonderful cook and I highly recommend having at least one dinner there. The breakfast spread was bountiful and delicious.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theLAgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

My wife and me stayed at this B&B in september 2008 for 10 nights. From the beginning we have been very pleased with this lovely House and it's hosts.
Too bad it has been too cold to use the pool (which is not typical for that time of year), but on the other hand, that did not bother us too much. La Locanda Capannuccia lies wihtin the woods, about 2km from the next mainroad down the hill, which makes it more than quite. You won't hear nothing but nature there.
Next town is Castellina in Chianti. So you have the ideal base to explore Tuscany. The lovely hosts will always assist you in finding the right places to go to, whether for sightseeing or for dining. If you love good wine, you're also in the right place. There are some of the best Chianti-vineyards in vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

This review is overdue but thought better late than never as we would highly recommend La Capannuccia.

We stayed there in September 2007 as the last stop on our Tuscan holiday. La Cappannucia is a lovely Tuscan farmhouse and our room was both comfortable and well-appointed. The house is set in a picturesque valley surrounded by Tuscan hills, secluded and wih a real sense of peace about it - there are comfortable loungers overlooking the valley and we enjoyed sitting there in the evenings with wine and cheese as the daylight slowly faded. I also had a lot of fun on the twisty-turny drive down through the woods from the main road.

The location was superb for exploring the Chianti area and Daniella gave us some great recommendations for dining in and around Castellina-in-Chianti, especially once she found that we were both foodies. We also dined in one night and had a delicious Tuscan meal - Daniella is an excellent cook and her chickpea soup lives on in our memories!

  • Liked — Its authenticity
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
5.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castello di Fonterutoli
Castello di Fonterutoli
#4 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Capannuccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Capannuccia

Property: Locanda La Capannuccia
Address: Localita la Capannuccia 1 | Pietrafitta, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda La Capannuccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Capannuccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing