We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, clean & well located”
Review of Hotel Il Colombaio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Colombaio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is family run, clean, comfortable & well located at the edge of the town. Roberta greets guests at reception & is very helpful & friendly. We had a good sized room with adequate furniture & a small fridge which was handy to keep cold drinks. Bathroom was spacious with over bath shower, clean linen & hair dryer provided. There is a swimming pool which is nicely positioned at the back of the hotel. The pool itself was clean & well maintained but the surrounding area needed to be power hosed or cleaned as it looked a bit neglected. The shower area at the pool also required attention but as it was late in the season and nobody seemed to use the pool (due to the weather change), perhaps this will be done shortly. While breakfast is provided from a tiny kitchen, it could be improved (same bread roll & croissant choice daily & only apples for fruit).
This hotel is located at the edge of this lovely town & is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this area of Chianti. There is lots to see whether driving, walking or cycling (but only if you like hills)! Following a days sightseeing it was great to be able to walk into town for dinner, sample good Chianti & take the short walk back to this quiet hotel. I would definitely stay here again as it is a clean, friendly & good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raidy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful place, very kind reception, small but good breakfast and for very reasonable price.
From this place we made a beautiful tour through the Chianti district with such very different features and beautiful small places. It is unbelievable that nature has not been distroyed and the Middle Ages can be found in its purest form!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A beautiful little property, rustic, rundown but utterly charming. Roberta is amazing as host. Our room was spacious, lovingly decorated. Godd fridge for purchases in town, free wifi even by the pool. No air on made for a sticky night and I could of strangled the 2 cats that fought outside our window at 3am for over an hour but one of my nicest days in Tuscany was sitting by the pool drinking Chianti Roberta bought for us. 5min walk to town. Loved it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I visited this beautiful place on a wine tour through Tuscany, on the way to the wine fair Vinitaly. This is what you get: A small, beautiful hotel with a very friendly atmosphere and lovely Italian charme. I cannot understand other negative reviews, I was throughout positively surprised.

The website is pretty well informing you about what to expect - but my expectations were exceeded. The owner and staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. Big and cosy beds, neat and tidy room, TV and free Wifi in room.

It has been a lovely stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank itravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Colombaio in october 2012. It is an old farmhouse with many old furnitures inside. The owner Roberta is very kind and helpful and you can see the family members around which brings a warm atmosphere. It is not a hotel that you would want to spend too much time inside but it has many advantages. It is at a close walking distance from the town of Castellina in Chianti and there are some nice restaurants nearby and a good ice-cream shop. Travelling by car to many Tuscany towns, including Siena is easy since the location is very convenient. The price of the rooms were reasonable and we thought it was a perfect base to visit Tuscany towns.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were loking for a nice place to stay in Tuscany that was not main tourist stop. The Hotel II Columbiao was the perfect location and our host Roberta was great. Our room was clean and located in the main house. It had a TV with satallite service. The breakfast was basic but we appreciated the fact that we didn't have to plan a breakfast stop before starting our day. I asked Roberta for a suggestion to park for a day trip to Florence (less than an hours drive) She recommended the Piazzale Michael Angelo which worked perfectly. The parking was free, and easy to get to without crossing prohibited travel zones. The view alone was work the ride and it is a easy walk to Florence. We also walked to town and had dinner, coffee, and shopping. The walk is short and level and has a great view of the Tuscan valley. We also visited Siena, less than a 30 minute ride and Volterra, about 90 minutes through Tuscan back roads. All were ealily accessable from the hotel. We drove from Rome and the hotel was easy to find. It has ample parking adjacent to the building.
We would have liked to have spent more time in Tuscany and plan to return. I would definetly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DC1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

It's a family style hotel. The mother of the owner was sitting in the lobby watching TV all day long. The room was super nice, and the staff was enthusiastic. Although it is not in the town center, but it is still within walking distance to the village, which is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linbeiwuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casafrassi Hotel
Casafrassi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Colombaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Colombaio

Address: Via Chiantigiana 29, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Colombaio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very small charming hotel,located very closed to the center of town of Castellina in Chianti.13 rooms with bath and breakfast,free wi-fi,parking and swimming-pool.Here we do not have restaurant,but walking distance 300 meters we have two managed by the same family.Come and visit us you'll spend a nice and relaxing holiday with good food and wanderful wines!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Colombaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Colombaio Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing