We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Il Colombaio
Nearby Hotels
Tenuta di Ricavo(Ricavo)(Great Value!)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Casalecchi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi(Castellina In Chianti)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino(Castellina In Chianti)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casafrassi Hotel(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda La Capannuccia(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Castello di Fonterutoli(Castellina In Chianti)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais(Castellina In Chianti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Casale Dello Sparviero(Castellina In Chianti)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
38
41
13
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
41
13
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnearby winerywonderful ladyold world charmrobertaaubergefarmhousehostregiontownspropertygrounds
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 98 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful place, very kind reception, small but good breakfast and for very reasonable price.
From this place we made a beautiful tour through the Chianti district with such very different features and beautiful small places. It is unbelievable that nature has not been distroyed and the Middle Ages can be found in its purest form!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A beautiful little property, rustic, rundown but utterly charming. Roberta is amazing as host. Our room was spacious, lovingly decorated. Godd fridge for purchases in town, free wifi even by the pool. No air on made for a sticky night and I could of strangled the 2 cats that fought outside our window at 3am for over an hour but one of my nicest days in Tuscany was sitting by the pool drinking Chianti Roberta bought for us. 5min walk to town. Loved it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I visited this beautiful place on a wine tour through Tuscany, on the way to the wine fair Vinitaly. This is what you get: A small, beautiful hotel with a very friendly atmosphere and lovely Italian charme. I cannot understand other negative reviews, I was throughout positively surprised.

The website is pretty well informing you about what to expect - but my expectations were exceeded. The owner and staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. Big and cosy beds, neat and tidy room, TV and free Wifi in room.

It has been a lovely stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank itravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Colombaio in october 2012. It is an old farmhouse with many old furnitures inside. The owner Roberta is very kind and helpful and you can see the family members around which brings a warm atmosphere. It is not a hotel that you would want to spend too much time inside but it has many advantages. It is at a close walking distance from the town of Castellina in Chianti and there are some nice restaurants nearby and a good ice-cream shop. Travelling by car to many Tuscany towns, including Siena is easy since the location is very convenient. The price of the rooms were reasonable and we thought it was a perfect base to visit Tuscany towns.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were loking for a nice place to stay in Tuscany that was not main tourist stop. The Hotel II Columbiao was the perfect location and our host Roberta was great. Our room was clean and located in the main house. It had a TV with satallite service. The breakfast was basic but we appreciated the fact that we didn't have to plan a breakfast stop before starting our day. I asked Roberta for a suggestion to park for a day trip to Florence (less than an hours drive) She recommended the Piazzale Michael Angelo which worked perfectly. The parking was free, and easy to get to without crossing prohibited travel zones. The view alone was work the ride and it is a easy walk to Florence. We also walked to town and had dinner, coffee, and shopping. The walk is short and level and has a great view of the Tuscan valley. We also visited Siena, less than a 30 minute ride and Volterra, about 90 minutes through Tuscan back roads. All were ealily accessable from the hotel. We drove from Rome and the hotel was easy to find. It has ample parking adjacent to the building.
We would have liked to have spent more time in Tuscany and plan to return. I would definetly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DC1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews