We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Colombaio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Colombaio
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Practical Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Colombaio in october 2012. It is an old farmhouse with many old furnitures inside. The owner Roberta is very kind and helpful and you can see the family members around which brings a warm atmosphere. It is not a hotel that you would want to spend too much time inside but it has many advantages. It is at a close walking distance from the town of Castellina in Chianti and there are some nice restaurants nearby and a good ice-cream shop. Travelling by car to many Tuscany towns, including Siena is easy since the location is very convenient. The price of the rooms were reasonable and we thought it was a perfect base to visit Tuscany towns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
51
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were loking for a nice place to stay in Tuscany that was not main tourist stop. The Hotel II Columbiao was the perfect location and our host Roberta was great. Our room was clean and located in the main house. It had a TV with satallite service. The breakfast was basic but we appreciated the fact that we didn't have to plan a breakfast stop before starting our day. I asked Roberta for a suggestion to park for a day trip to Florence (less than an hours drive) She recommended the Piazzale Michael Angelo which worked perfectly. The parking was free, and easy to get to without crossing prohibited travel zones. The view alone was work the ride and it is a easy walk to Florence. We also walked to town and had dinner, coffee, and shopping. The walk is short and level and has a great view of the Tuscan valley. We also visited Siena, less than a 30 minute ride and Volterra, about 90 minutes through Tuscan back roads. All were ealily accessable from the hotel. We drove from Rome and the hotel was easy to find. It has ample parking adjacent to the building.
We would have liked to have spent more time in Tuscany and plan to return. I would definetly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DC1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

It's a family style hotel. The mother of the owner was sitting in the lobby watching TV all day long. The room was super nice, and the staff was enthusiastic. Although it is not in the town center, but it is still within walking distance to the village, which is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linbeiwuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at this little hotel for four nights last year and thought it was absolutely lovely. Now there is no tv in the room but who cares ? We were in gorgeous Tuscany who needs tv's!! Stayed in a suite which had two bedrooms and lovely big bathroom. Very clean and very classic interior. Service was very good and the pool was great and makes this suitable for kids. Breakfast was also good - very simple which is all you need really. We will definitely stay in Hotel II Colombaio the next time - and there will be a next time we visit Castellina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnRow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Roberta was extremely accommodating and helpful. Thank you so much for all of your help!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otic9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We accidentally found this hotel when we needed a place to stay for the night. It was so amazing and beautiful that we stayed longer.
The area of the hotel looks like taken from a post card, the internal design is classic and clean, and the service is the best.
This hotel is located 5 minutes by foot from Castellina's city center, and we enjoyed from every minute of our time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevermind182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

The place is very close to heaven,take care not to fall in love otherwise you will never return home again !!! we loved it. Thanks Barbara for your quick check in help ;-) thanks carwyn for the nice talk we had.
Thanks tuscany you are a nice place on earth.
all the best for the future
fränz

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscany2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Colombaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Colombaio

Property: Hotel Il Colombaio
Address: Via Chiantigiana 29, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Colombaio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very small charming hotel,located very closed to the center of town of Castellina in Chianti.13 rooms with bath and breakfast,free wi-fi,parking and swimming-pool.Here we do not have restaurant,but walking distance 300 meters we have two managed by the same family.Come and visit us you'll spend a nice and relaxing holiday with good food and wanderful wines!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Colombaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Colombaio Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing