We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Great - would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great - would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I can't say enough about this hotel. The location was beautiful. The rooms fabulous. Waking up and looking out the window on the Tuscan landscape...a view I will never forget. We loved the spa and jacuzzi. A great find.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boncharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    74
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
62
187
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Palazzo Squarcialupi is without doubt one of the best we have stayed at in Tuscany. This was our second visit to the hotel and we found it even better than before. The service provided at the front desk is second to none. The room was spacious and well equipped and the atmosphere of the hotel very informal yet efficient. We loved it there. Thank you to all concerned at the hotel. 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I came upon this hotel by chance when we were looking for somewhere to get married. Unfortuantely, they didn't have the facilities to host the reception (its a small hotel) but we loved the place so much that we decided to get married in the village and had all of our family members stay in the Squarcialupi for the duration of their stay.
The staff are fantastic. They could not do enough for all our guests and everyone loved the place.
It is so reasonably priced for what you get. The rooms are beautiful. The town is gorgeous. There is a lively little wine bar across the road. It makes a great base to explore the chianti region.
If you get the chance, stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz8Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

This hotel is a place which we try to return to each year for a get away without the children, We fly to Pisa, drive down in around 1 1/2 hrs, park up and have usually had a swim before lunch - perfect! We then don't get back into the car until we are heading home as all the restaurants are within walking distance. The rooms are all lovely and the spa is great at the end of a day by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

My sister and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel and cannot rave enough about the location, the beauty of the palazzo, the staff, etc. Our room was huge, the view from our room was spectacular as we were able to watch the sun set on the Tuscan hillside every night from our own private balcony! Every day was asked the staff for suggestions, directions, etc., and they were so patient, helpful, and informative. In fact, when we left we drove from Tuscany to the Amalfi Coast, and the woman at the desk (cannot remember her name) actually printed out step by step directions for us! The town of Castellina is absolutely charming...great restaurants, quiet, and not a lot of tourists! We would return here in a heartbeat! It's a great location as well for day trips to different Tuscan towns!

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank MGP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed here two years ago and loved the hotel. I was fortunate to come back again and spend 5 days thoroughly enjoying it again only it is even better. Now they have a small spa (free) downstairs with a jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms. The view out my window over the valley couldn't have been better. But, one of the best things about this hotel is the fact that it is like you are at home. They have a big living room upstairs with 3 couches and a little internet room off to the side. They also have a small bar with a little terrace with a great view where you can get a drink. The people at the front desk are always a big help. Free wifi. Don't miss the Bottega in Volpaia for dinner. It has a great view and was a recommendation from Monica.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We originally found this hotel from our GPS. We had planned on staying one night and ended up staying four. We loved this hotel. The town was charming and we just had so mush fun and relaxation. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skelley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
3.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi

Property: Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Address: Via Ferruccio 22, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing