We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this beautiful hotel which is situated right in the centre of the Castellina village, and yet within 10 minutes drive you are in the enchanting Tuscan countryside. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The hotel restaurant was only opened about 4 months ago and it is excellent! We had 2 meals there and really enjoyed the food and the wine of course! It is also very reasonably priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonWLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed a week in this perfect village hotel situated in cobblestoned Castellina-in-Chianti, which has cafes, shops, Etruscan tombs, and medieval walls. The friendly staff was very helpful. Our room was wonderfully large, with a TV (that we did not turn on), a modern bathroom equipped with small shower and bidet. We never tired of looking out our windows at the beautiful Chianti countryside. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. There is a 'Spa' area (hot tub pool and showers), but we didn't use them. We did however enjoy 2 dinners in the new hotel restaurant. Delicious, but we always saved room for the amazing gelato that was a couple of doors down the street. Also, the cafe across from hotel has excellent pizza!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back, where the country views are (you might hear guests on the hotel terrace in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paris1scarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and were very charmed by the location. On the Main Street which was very convenient - stunning views out the back. Our room was very large and included a double bed and sofa. The bathroom was also a good size and all was very clean.

The receptionists were always very helpful and welcoming.

Great location for exploring lots of the Chianti region around - San Gimigiano, Greve, Siena, Gaoile etc etc all not far away.

Breakfast was fine and had all that you would expect for a cold buffet. Some hot water (as in genuinely hot water) for the tea would have been welcomed.

All in all I'm sure you would not be disappointed with this 'typically Etruscan' hotel full of character

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PudD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My room overlooked the valley. Spacious with a comfortable bed. Bathroom larger than all the others we stayed in while in Italy. Located in small town that was fun to walk through and also a short drive away from other towns. Helpful, friendly staff. Son's room was of course smaller without the view but as he is more a world traveller than me (He has lived in Zurich for 4 years) his opinion should also be noted and he too was very impressed. Finally the breakfast room was spacious and the offered breakfast meats and cheeses quite satisfying. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Marcmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A perfect place to stay in beautiful Tuscany! The staff very friendly and helpful, the views from our room overlooking the vine clad valley stunning and the spa very welcome after a tour of touring. Have just opened a Taverna next door which was fabulous. Would highly recommend Palazzo Squarcialupi and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a very pleasant and well located hotel in the heart of Castellina in Chianti, with wonderful views to the Chianti hillside as well as a great presence on the main pedestrian street of this charming town.

Our room was comfortably equipped and the breakfast is a good start for a day of strolling the town or trekking the wine country. The parking is included and a pleasant walk to the car.

With the opening of their own restaurant next door, this will definitely remain THE place to stay in Castellina.

(there were a few hot water problems but understand that is a town emergency power thing during a rain storm)

Room Tip: any room looking out to the hillside would be a wonderful choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is located right in the middle of Castellina. I have stayed here twice. This is the perfect location for day trips throughout Tuscany! The staff is more than friendly, they treat you like family. The rooms are spacious for US standards! There are a lot of hidden small towns nearby, that you would never know they existed, unless you asked. The staff is extremely good at sending you to these hidden gems, the simple question is, where would you go today?, what is off the beaten path? The breakfast here is wonderful! Angela is awesome at helping you out, not only here, but she told us about " white night" in Florence, as she knew we were heading there next! Of all the places one could choose to stay in Tuscany, nothing is comparable!

Room Tip: Second floor, valley side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
551 reviews
3.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
3.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
891 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi

Address: Via Ferruccio 22, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $160 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing