We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in Tuscany”
Review of Locanda Le Piazze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Locanda Le Piazze
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Locanda Le Piazze was definitely one of our favourite places to stay in Italy. We stayed for four nights and used it as our base for exploring Tuscany with day trips to Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano and Montepulciano. Only scraped the surface, but that only means we will come back again and will not hesitate to stay at Locanda again!
The room was very comfortable and clean with lots of amenities, and the whole place was just so quiet and peaceful with all the charm that you would expect in Tuscany. We were there in September right before the harvest so the vines were still full of grapes!
We ended up dining at the restaurant every night so that we could relax with a bottle of wine at dinner and every night, there was enough variety on the menu for both of us to try something new.
Thank you for making our stay in Tuscany so wonderful! We look forward to coming back again soon in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review and words.
We are glad to read you totally enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our property a peaceful place where you can easily relax.
From the Locanda you can quickly reach the main art Tuscan cities and all beautiful small villages of the Chianti area.
Thank you for choosing us and see you soon again at Locanda Le Piazze!

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    33
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
243
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our stay at Locande le Piazza was amazing. The location was stunning and peaceful, and the amenities were top notch. The rooms were clean & spacious with complimentary wifi and the staff were friendly & knowledgeable. We had dinner at the onsite restaurant both nights we were there, and the polpo diavolo was so incredible I had to get it both nights! Breakfast was included with your stay, and consisted of a fresh collection of pastries, coffee, yogurt, fruit and cheese. Locande le Piazza was a lovely and relaxing place to stay on our visit to Castellina in Chianti. I would highly recommend to friends and family, and hope to return for a visit again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good morning for Locanda Le Piazze.
Thank you so much for the time you spent in writing this beautiful review. It will for sure help many to choose Locanda Le Piazze for their stay in the Chianti area.
See you soon again at Locanda !

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Locanda is just beautiful, so clean, and comfortable. Great beds and linens. Gorgeous grounds, pool and views to forever. Breakfast is delicious and dinners good too. But the real bonus is the front office staff .... Jean and Claudia are so warm, welcoming and helpful, they just make you want to come back again. And we certainly hope to one day. Day trips to Castellina, San Donato, Colle val d'Elsa and other towns are not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good afternoon from Tuscany!

thank you for your wonderful review!
We are happy we helped make your stay memorable. Locanda Le Piazze really enjoys a wonderful position with stunning views to the entire valley and guest always love it.
We are glad to read you had the same feeling!
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon and send you our warmest greetings!

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and all the staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Locanda Le Piazze. As soon as we arrived, we decided to extend our stay and wish we could stayed even more. The staff is very kind and welcoming, the rooms are very very comfortable and the hotel ambiance overall is just magical.
I will definitely be recommending it to my friends. İt was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ayse,

thank you for choosing us for your stay in the area and for your review.
We are happy to read you spent a nice time in our property and that you call it " home away from home". This is really what we try to offer, we are very proud that you expressed your experience at Le Piazze that way.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and send you our warmest greetings from a still sunny Chianti!

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Loved this place, very charming staff, beautiful interior with chic decorations, a very nice restaurant, breathtaking surroundings and a panoramic view to die for from the pool. I long to come back, we had such a pleasant stay here and although there was some misunderstandings from their side: I emailed them about my gluten intolerance a few weeks before our stay and also that I would like a prosecco to our room for my husband's birthday - which none was fulfilled - but I feel like the over all experience compensated it all.

This place is great for couples looking for relaxation, perfect for exploring chiantishire, the old towns and vineyards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.
We really work hard in order to let guests have a wonderful stay and we are happy to read you really enjoyed it despite our dafaillance, for which we apologize.
We await your next visit and send you our warmest greetings
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an amazing time at this beautiful place - the interior decoration and attention to detail is unlike anything we've seen anywhere in Italy so far and we have traveled extensively. I am SO glad I ignored fact it wasn't listed in top 6 The photos are exactly as is and We are only sad we had just one night. The hotel has just been completely upgraded - grounds, rooms, pool and pool deck is incredible as is the view!!! Entire staff was wonderful. We met Natasha the owner who is French, an interior designer and it is apparent thats why this place is so special. The food was wonderful. We planned on salad only as stuffed full from a cooking class elsewhere that am but the smell of chefs food lured us and we ordered food after all on beautiful outside patio had an amazing baked cod that was so delicate it melted in our mouths. Who could think cod would be adore in Italy?! There's even an honor bar within this sparking clean Tuscan retreat ( hmmm restoration hardware meets Tuscany ) but some of the artwork and the driftwood tables and art pieces were made and overseen by the owner which was lovely. Because its been designed as a home, it is luxurious yet warm. Thank you !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good morning from the Chianti hills!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, the staff and I are so happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again at Locanda Le Piazze

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the Staff of Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great stay at Le Piazze - with a car, the location is perfect for visiting the key cities and sites within Tuscany, but it can be hard to leave the poolside with its fantastic views. Service from waiters was very friendly. Food was for the most part excellent - we had one disappointing dish in 4 meals, which can be forgiven - the rest was fantastic.
The only reason I've not given Le Piazze an "Excellent" is the price - at this price it provided everything we expect, rather than anything above and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good morning from Tuscany!
Thank you very much for your review and for the nice words you expressed.
The staff and I are glad to read you had a remakable experience with us.
We all look forward to welcokming you again at Le Piazze!
Sincerely

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the Staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
10.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
679 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
570 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
557 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Le Piazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Le Piazze

Property: Locanda Le Piazze
Address: Localita le Piazze 41, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Le Piazze 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you dream of discovering a small, luxury boutique four star hotel in Tuscany, the romantic Locanda Le Piazze is as exclusive as you will find. Located in between Florence and Sienna, the hotel sits upon a picturesque hill about 6km away from the village of Castellina in Chianti boasting a breathtaking view of the surrounding vineyards.Exuding a simple and understated decor, Locanda Le Piazze was completely renovated this spring and fitted with modern amenities. Each room features air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini bar and safe.A path through olive groves leads to a stunning swimming pool and terrace. Welcomes children 14 and above. Our restaurant " TAVOLA DI GUIDO" by Chef Guido Haverkock offers a variation of traditional Tuscan cuisine, using biological local ingredients." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Fastbooking, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Locanda Le Piazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Le Piazze Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing