We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Chianti area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our trip through Tuscany and we wished that we could have stayed a bit longer.

In a quite area in walking distance to the charming town of Castellina in Chianti, this hotel offers a beautiful view on the Chianti landscape. The garden is very peaceful and we were even tempted by the nice pool, although it turned out to be still quite cold in May (we had been warned though ^^)

The rooms were a nice mixture of rustic traditional elements (some of the furniture), combined with modern comforts (very nice bathroom, TV, fridge, etc.)

The real strong point of the hotel is however the service. All of the staff members are extremely helpful and friendly provide useful information on surroundings, restaurants, tourist sites, wineries etc.
We were especially thankful to Sylvia at the front desk, who never tired to give us friendly and useful advice or to answer our questions about her home region.

The breakfast buffet offers a large choice of continental and especially Italian breakfast.

Due to its central location in the Chianti area, all main tourist sites can be reached easily by car and you will appreciate the calm in the night after the bustle of the day.

The only slight criticism we can make is that internet is not included in the hotel price, but has to be purchased extra (even if it's at a moderate price of 2 EUR for 24 h)

All in all, we can fully recommend the Salivolpi Hotel if you visit the Chianti region and would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 525 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

the hotel is amazing ! loocation is the best The hotel was located in a quiet yet central breathtaking landscape surrounded by vineyards and near Sites of interest
Located between Florence and Siena 15 km off the highway , the ladies in the front desk are helpful courteous, welcoming smile, speak several languages ​​and know the area well ! very clean
the breakfast tasty served at a high level, an intimate dining room and nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for only one night.

Charming Hotel, set a road away from Casteliina in Chianti centre. Vey hospitable, with spacious clean rooms.

Outside a beautiful green area and a good sized swimming pool, perfect if lodging here in summer.

I highly recommend this hotel, ideal for those travelling with a car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in hotel Salivolpi. The hotel is well kept, super clean, staff is very friendly and helpful with things to do in the area, dinner and wine tasting reservations...
Special thanks goes to Silvia from front desk: when we arrived, we found out the previous hotel which was 20 km away did not return our IDs. Silvia called to the hotel and picked up our IDs in the evening on her way home! Really exceptional service....Thank you Silvia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatarinaP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Ms. KatarinaP22,
we are happy to know you enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Salivolpi and we are very grateful to you for the wonderful review you wrote with a special Thank you from Silvia.
The friendly and assistance for every problem of our customers is the heart of our mission to make holidays at Hotel Salivolpi unforgettable, as well as suggestions for activities, any kind of tours & restaurants, high quality of all services as buffet breakfast and cleaning, all added by the typical atmosphere of our authentic tuscan farmhouse. We all hope to Welcome you again at Hotel Salivolpi to help you exploring the Chianti region!
The Manager (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Warm welcome and helpful with our dinner reservation. And received a ten percent discount at the restaurant they booked for us,--nice bonus. Bathroom was super clean with nice amenities and good linens. We booked the least expensive room while it is small it is very comfy and clean. The wifi worked n our room even though they said it would only work a at the reception

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastport95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed only one night on our way to Florence. Our room was noisy as the window faces the main road - traffic noise late at night and at the first crack of dawn.
Breakfast is not included unless you pay Euro7 per person. We paid Euro75 or Euro79 for our room and I think it is definitely overpriced with no breakfast.
This hotel is within walking distance to the village but I won't be coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Ms. Vivienne h,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our typical authentic Tuscan-style property offers various room types with different characteristics: your room was a Superior one with a fantastic view of the vineyards, by the side of the road however usually, there is very little traffic also because is a secondary countryside one way road. If you had reported to reception your difficulties, with pleasure we changed the room in a more congenial for you. From our web-site it’s possible to see the size, location and photos of each room to be able to choose the favorite room. We give the opportunity to the customers to have a little breakfast at the lobby bar (so you pay the consumer) or a breakfast buffet that offers fresh produces such as fresh fruit, bread and wholemeal sandwiches, juices, yogurt , eggs, croissants of two types, homemade cake, jam, two kinds of cheeses, two types of cold meats as well any kind of hot drinks (espresso, coffee, cappuccino, tea, chocolate etc ...), cookies, biscuits, corn flakes of 2 types, muesli etc ...
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Salivolpi maybe for a longer stay to be able to appreciate the best of our hospitality.
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The staff at the hotel were the absolute best. Friendly, knowledgeable, and always there to help you with whatever you needed. The rooms where each unique and modern at the same time. New bathroom, room cleaned everyday to an extreme. The breakfast area was tucked away in a small peaceful area, also with incredible staff and food. I will go back to Tuscany because of this hotel - also the best gelato was only a fifteen minute walk down the street! what a bonus

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
591 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
140 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $73 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing