We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We chose to stay at Colle Etrusco as w thought that its close proximity to a small village would give us more dining options, and this was proved true as there was a Michelin star (One star) restaurant just 5minutes down the road!

We were greeted to a beautiful sight of the famed Chianthi vineyards every morning, and were able to sleep with our windows open as our room didn't face the road. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom, and very clean.

The staff were very friendly, and helped us make reservations at the restaurants. They even notified us about a small festival going on in the village during one of the days, and it was there that we got to eat the best roasted chestnuts we have ever had.

A definite recommendation if you are looking to stay in Castellina in Chianthi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear raizz, we are very grateful for your beautiful review, it is really an honour reading your satisfaction in spending your holiday with us! Glad that you appreciate all the moments of your stay, especially the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and the little distance to the village, which is “just a walk” from us and makes you feel immersed in the countryside, but near to the centre. Our staff is proud to help the Guest in all possible ways and we really hope you will enjoy soon another stay with us! Thank you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 532 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

The stay at salivolpi was perfect. the staff was friendly without exception. The hotel has beautiful gardens as well as a pool. The rooms are charming, cool and clean. The hotel is only a short walk from the village.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Nandu11, thank you for your beautiful words, we are really glad to know that your stay with us has been pleasant and enjoyable. The fresh gardens and the lovely swimming pool offer a relaxing and inviting spot where our Guests can fully rest after a long day of exploration trips to the beautiful places of the Chianti region. Our rooms are always impeccably cleaned and well cared from our chambermaids. We will be glad to welcome you again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel; it was ideally located for our trips all around Tuscany and also a short walk into the lovely town of Castellini; it offered an oasis of calm in the very hot July sunshine.The staff were welcoming,and helped us immensely with booking of wine tour and museums which was much appreciated.We hope to return to explore on our bikes when it is a bit cooler!

Room Tip: The time when we came was unusually hot which made sleeping a bit uncomforable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Louise L,
A big Thank you for spending your time to write a so wonderful review about Hotel Salivolpi.
We are really satisfied that you enjoyed your staying for our friendly and helpful staff of reception, always ready for any suggestions, the central location to explore the region and the calm of the true tuscan life of the village, Castellina in Chianti.
We are amazing waiting for you again and for bikes tours, we are ready to give you any possibility of itinerary.
See you soon at Hotel Salivolpi!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Although it was extremely hot and the hotel has no air conditioning, we were able to cool our room off with fans and our stay was pleasant. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoggwild95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear hoggwild95,
Thank you for recommending Hotel Salivolpi to others : it’s the best goal we can reach!
As we are situated in heart of Chianti area just 650 meters above sea, the evening the temperature drop ever with a pleasant breeze.
We all really hope to welcome you again at Salivolpi with a big smile!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, thoughtfully decorated, and sizeable. The grounds are spacious enough to find a quiet corner to read or to chat with friends. The pool was perfect for a dip after a long, hot day of touring.

It was a great jumping off point to discover the region. We did day trips throughout Tuscany from this terrific home base. Would definitely recommend to others and we hope to return as well ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnoliaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Magnoliaml,
Thank you for your sharing with this community your splendid review !
We are so glad that you enjoyed everything of the Salivolpi: the lucky position among all attractive and beautiful towns, such as Siena, Monteriggioni, San Gimignano… the comfortable and clean rooms, the hotel’s staff and the service which are the special point of our hotel. Glad that you liked finishing your day relaxing by the swimming pool, maybe drinking a good glass of Chianti wine and then enjoying the end of the day in our nice and fresh garden.
We all hope to see you soon at Salivolpi, you and your friends will be most welcome!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Highly recommended, excellent service, beautiful location.

Room Tip: I prefered the old section of the hotel. Choose rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAntoniou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear GeorgeAntoniou80
Excellent was to have the wonderful pleasure to welcome you back at Salivolpi!
We are so glad to read your satisfaction in your comment. We always try to do our best for giving the stay of our guests most comfortable and unforgettable at Salivolpi.
Thank you for the time you dedicate to us and we really hope to welcome you and your kind Madam again in heart of Chianti area!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I travel to Italy twice a year and have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years. Hotel Salivolpi is perfect from the accommodations to the most pleasant staff. We are
looking forward to our return trip in September.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear csolle, we are so glad to hear from you that you are so happy staying with us even after 10 years and every time is always our pleasure to welcome you here again! We hope you will enjoy your next stay with us in the heart of Chianti in September, we will do our best to make you feel like “at your home” as Salivolpi is your home in Chianti! A special “arrivederci” from all the staff members and see you soon!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
601 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
392 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $68 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing