We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming farmhouse and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming farmhouse and staff!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Although it was extremely hot and the hotel has no air conditioning, we were able to cool our room off with fans and our stay was pleasant. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoggwild95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear hoggwild95,
Thank you for recommending Hotel Salivolpi to others : it’s the best goal we can reach!
As we are situated in heart of Chianti area just 650 meters above sea, the evening the temperature drop ever with a pleasant breeze.
We all really hope to welcome you again at Salivolpi with a big smile!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    144
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
337
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, thoughtfully decorated, and sizeable. The grounds are spacious enough to find a quiet corner to read or to chat with friends. The pool was perfect for a dip after a long, hot day of touring.

It was a great jumping off point to discover the region. We did day trips throughout Tuscany from this terrific home base. Would definitely recommend to others and we hope to return as well ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnoliaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Magnoliaml,
Thank you for your sharing with this community your splendid review !
We are so glad that you enjoyed everything of the Salivolpi: the lucky position among all attractive and beautiful towns, such as Siena, Monteriggioni, San Gimignano… the comfortable and clean rooms, the hotel’s staff and the service which are the special point of our hotel. Glad that you liked finishing your day relaxing by the swimming pool, maybe drinking a good glass of Chianti wine and then enjoying the end of the day in our nice and fresh garden.
We all hope to see you soon at Salivolpi, you and your friends will be most welcome!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Highly recommended, excellent service, beautiful location.

Room Tip: I prefered the old section of the hotel. Choose rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeAntoniou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear GeorgeAntoniou80
Excellent was to have the wonderful pleasure to welcome you back at Salivolpi!
We are so glad to read your satisfaction in your comment. We always try to do our best for giving the stay of our guests most comfortable and unforgettable at Salivolpi.
Thank you for the time you dedicate to us and we really hope to welcome you and your kind Madam again in heart of Chianti area!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I travel to Italy twice a year and have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years. Hotel Salivolpi is perfect from the accommodations to the most pleasant staff. We are
looking forward to our return trip in September.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear csolle, we are so glad to hear from you that you are so happy staying with us even after 10 years and every time is always our pleasure to welcome you here again! We hope you will enjoy your next stay with us in the heart of Chianti in September, we will do our best to make you feel like “at your home” as Salivolpi is your home in Chianti! A special “arrivederci” from all the staff members and see you soon!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had the most wonderful 4 nights here. The staff were so attentive and kind. They helped me in arranging a Tuscan cooking class, a day tour and several ideas for wine tours and great dinners. The pool was a nice treat after a day of site seeing. I was concerned before I arrived that there was no a\c in my room during one of their surprised hot spells, but it was not needed. The nights always had a cool breeze and I actually used my covers! Without question I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to my friends. To the staff, thank you for making my stay in Castellina so wonderful.

Room Tip: My room looked over the garden. It was lovely. The breakfast building- room was so pretty and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear mcampo, how beautiful is reading such a nice comment from you. It is always a pleasure for us to hear that you are totally satisfied about your holiday at Salivolpi. The staff is always very helpful with suggestions about daily trips and special places for nice and tasty meals. Glad that you enjoyed our refreshing swimming pool for a swim after a full day of explorations. We are on the top of a hill and it is easy to find a gentle and pleasant wind on the summer nights! We are proud of your positive impressions and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit, with a good Chianti wine glass! See you in Salivolpi!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night at the hotel. Our room was spacious and the views wonderful. Our only complaint is that both people who were at the front desk at different times seemed rather put out to give us directions to wineries and suggestions. There was a wine festival in town that we happened to discover when we walked to dinner. The hotel did not even mention it to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear sharon g,
Thanks for taking your time to write this review about Hotel Salivolpi.

To you, as to all guests arriving for the weekend in which the event took place, was sent an e-mail on May 19 with the complete program, as well as being exhibited a large poster to the Front/Desk about it and in the folder with the information in each room, its brochure .
It 'possible that the whole of the informations that we gave at the check-in, we missed to inform verbally of this event .... and for this we apologize.
Thank you for the wonderful words he wanted to dedicate to our hotel, we hope to welcome you back to Salivolpi, always with a smile ... see you soon!!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel Salivolpi is a collection of converted farmhouse buildings. Our room (a superior) was of a good standard - full of character, spotlessly clean and with lovely views. The pool area is also lovely.

The hotel is in a great spot. Our favourite thing was that there was a good size town (Castellina in Chianti) within a few mins walk, so although it was useful to have a car, we could just walk into town for lunch or dinner, as there were plenty of nice restaurants. The restaurant about 50m down the hill is particularly good as well as being great value and I'd definitely recommend eating there one evening. By car, it's also about 20 mins from Siena and 30 mins from Florence.

Having read all the reviews about the hotel, we were, however, a little disappointed. For example, when you turn up, nobody takes your suitcase to your room - for £100 a night, it seems a bit shoddy. The hotel also tried to make small amounts of money from things that really should be standard eg charging Euro 1.50 for a pool towel. It's not the money, but rather the attitude which bothered us. Likewise, internet was included in our room, but they have a crazy system where it logs you out after 15 minutes, so that every time I came back to the room I'd have to type two long codes into my iphone to be able to check my email. Again, annoying, and more for the benefit of the hotel than its guests.

One other thing is that there is some noise in the mornings- we could hear other guests coming and going from breakfast, and there was some sort of machinery from a nearby farm which was pretty loud- it woke me up, although sounder sleepers won't be bothered (my girlfriend slept through it). It did stop after an hour or two usually.

All in all, it was a beautiful hotel, in a perfect position. With a few changes it could be really excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rf263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
571 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
365 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
133 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Property: Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Address: Via Fiorentina 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing