We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Hotel for a Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Belvedere for 4 nights during our honeymoon. I would have loved to stay there forever. Belvedere is a country style hotel situated on a vinyard in beautiful Tuscany. The wonderful people who work at the hotel were so helpful during our stay. Dinner at the hotel was fabulous! The food was the best we had throughout our 16 night tour of Italy honeymoon. The hotel's shop in Castellina was amazing with a free wine tasting. Laura, who work there was so wonderful to us and we learned so much about the wines that Belvedere makes. All of their wines can be drank at dinner at the hotel as well. Although the beds weren't that great the room had such charm. The servers at dinner were so friendly answering our questions about the food, wine and surrounding areas. We are thinking about coming back int he spring with the rest of our family so that they can see how wonderful this hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haynezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    101
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
89
318
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great to be back. Everything as wonderful as ever with a few new twists: new furniture in the lounge and more choice in the restaurant. Staff always helpful and the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Splendidly relaxing in stunning surroundings. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreakyDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We found this beautiful hotel on tripadvisor and it was even better then what we saw online. Kristina and Anna at the reception area are delightful and answered all our questions with a big friendly smile. This is for sure the most authentic Tuscan experience being surrounded by vineyards and enjoying such beauty. We could not wish for a more romantic place. The rooms are clean and very cozy and comfortable. Thank you for all your hard work it is much appreciated and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Pros: (1) Location - The setting of this hotel is magnificent - overlooking vineyards with quiet areas to sit and enjoy the views and a glass of wine. The hotel is a 5 minute drive to the quaint town of Castellini in Chianti and less than 20 minutes from other sight seeing venues like Siena. From this hotel we visited Florence, and many spots in Tuscany, always returning at night for the views, the pool and the dinner. (2) Food - the food at this hotel, especially dinner, is wonderful. While the menu is limited (choose from a couple of appetizers, entrees, pastas etc.) the food is just so good. The service and the setting in their garden makes you feel like you are at a five-star hotel, the hostess Heike and host Mario were charming. Wine list is great and you are not rushed at all. (3) Rooms - while "rustic" and somewhat cave-like, the rooms were very quiet and well air-conditioned which was good because it was 90 degrees F plus during our stay. (4) Pool - clean pool, good furniture and umbrellas, overlooking the vineyards. (5) Attitude - everyone here from the staff to the other guests seemed really happy and relaxed.

Cons : A little hard to find at first because it is outside the small town on the main road. Also, the room we were in was a little dark but we didn't care because everything else was so nice.

We all agreed we would come back to this gem of a hotel over and over again. There were other guests there that had been coming for years some staying for months.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Belvedere has a devoted returning customer base and with its good value, stunning location (in the vineyards but not on a white ie unmade road) you can see why. We have returned many times and will continue to. Its formula is simple - this is a three star - good food, simple but good bar, traditional rooms but beautifully clean and well maintained and a helpful staff. That Italians stay there is a good recommendation. The gardens are small but extremely well kept and over recent years the owners have put in some nice little upgrades - bathrobes better toiletries which are all welcome. Free wifi rather than an hourly charge would be an advantage but there are new laptops for those who want internet access and are prepared to pay. The pool isn't heated but is well maintained and when the mercury rises warms up quickly. The breakfast room doubles as dining room outside summer or when it rains which is always a shame because when dinner is served outside it's a location that's hard to beat. The only downside can be the large groups which go through - cyclists, tours - which depending on the dynamics of the group may be an issue as with any large group if they keep late hours, or as when we were there, they decide to hold their own little concert late at night! One tour we heard complain the hotel was 'rustic' and lacked air com throughout. Well this is Tuscany and it's not staying on a farm but we don't look for Philippe Starck! And people who have come for twenty years is a great recommendation for anywhere!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We spent three nights at this lovely, reasonably priced small hotel during a driving tour of Tuscany and Umbria. Our daughter had stayed with them a few years ago and recommended it. We loved it. There are several stone buildings dating to the 15th century, all well appointed. Attractive landscaping, nice patio area and a pool with an incredible view over the vineyards and hills offer great places to relax at the end of the day with a drink and good book. It's a good location for excursions to Chianti area sites Castellina, Greve, San Gimignano, and Siena, including a delightful winery near Greve, Castello di Verrazzano (three hour tour, lunch with wine pairings). You don't need to go far for great food. The ladies at Hotel Belvedere served up some of the best dinners we had on our trip. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Vinyards and olive orchards, rolling hills, great food and wine and a great to location from which to explore Tuscany. The hotel staff is professional and friendly. They even found a home for a kitten we found on a roadside that was almost hit by passing cars. Take a walk through the countryside or lounge by the pool. Hotel Belvedere is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopiescuneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Property: Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing