We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect Tuscany getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Tuscany getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first trip to Tuscany. The hotel was truly picturesque. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect; close enough to the villages and cities such as Sienna and Florence, but far enough away that the ambience was truly peaceful and quiet. If you stay here a car is a must. The rooms are very nice. We peeked in another room, and were impressed with that room as well as ours. The dinner was delicious and served on a beautiful outdoor patio. We watched the World Cup Soccer match with other guests in the common room; it was quite fun. The included breakfast was adequate. We ate on a different outdoor patio overlooking the pool and a vineyard. Lastly, the pool was great.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is quiet and peaceful, but close to many different villages and activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the pool and vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    94
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
84
294
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Belvedere after 4 jam-packed days in Rome. It was like stepping into a movie. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. The staff was so friendly and nice, helping us book a wine tasting and giving us directions and suggestions in Siena. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel itself as we explored the area a fair amount, and we didn't stay at the hotel for meals, but we would definitely go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mms2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights last week. The hotel and grounds are beautiful -- everything you think of when you picture an Inn in Tuscany. Beautiful flowers, breathtaking scenery, warm and friendly staff. Every staff member we encountered was more than willing to assist in any way possible. Room was comfortable (directly over kitchen -- minor drawback) but bed was comfortable, beams on ceiling, stone walls, just perfect. Ate in the restaurant two nights and the food was delicious. Would absolutely recommend -- our first choice to stay in Tuscany!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Europelover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here in early July 2014 for three nights. We had originally intended to use the place as a base to explore the Tuscany region but after check-in we realised how amazing it was an spend a lot more time at the hotel than originally intended.

The staff are very friendly and speak a variety of languages (we're from Sydney and can safely say their English was perfect). We had a superior room which was lovely - very spacious, good bathroom, nicely furnished and quiet.

The hotel provide dinner each night (you have to book during the course of the day) and the menu changes each day. We ate here 2 of the 3 nights but I wish we had eaten here all nights as the quality of the food, the service and the outdoor setting were amazing.

There is a great pool area for those times you're not exploring the wineries or engaging in another activity.

I recommend the excursions the hotel can organise for you. We did a cooking class with a local lady - Paula - and she was amazing. It ended up being a private cooking class and we made a four course meal for lunch in around 3 hours (cost was 85 euro).

We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent a long weekend (4 nights) in this Hotel. We arrived very late around mid night and were still offered some wine and a plate of antipasti with cheese and meat in the bar. Our room was quite small but very friendly decorated. We booked the cheapest room, therefore I do not know the other rooms. Breakfast was good. We did not try the restaurant, because you have to decide in the morning if you want to stay. The reception and the service is great. They speak fluently dutch, german, italian and english.
We would certainly recommend this place

Room Tip: The rooms with pool view look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katmat1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Returned this June after a gap of three years and found it just as good as ever. The latest chef is probably the best yet - and that is a real accolade! The handsome dinner waiters are matched by the pretty breakfast girls. All staff are terrific and treat regular guests like old friends. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights in June and loved it. Very beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio each morning. Lots of variety on the buffet. Location is perfect for exploring Chianti region. We especially loved Volpaia. Had a very memorable meal there. We ended up having dinner every night at the hotel. Food was varied and wonderful and the garden location was charming. The waiters were attentive and fun. Would definite go back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBeach111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Property: Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing