We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, service can improve..”
Review of Collelungo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Collelungo
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The accommodation is set on a huge winery property and is incredibly peaceful and quiet. We had some of our best nights sleeps during our stay. Villa's are quite old and so too the decor as you would expect. They did have character, however if you decide to stay be sure to purchase basic items such as tea, coffee, bread etc in nearby town. All these are self-service, very little was actually provided within the rooms.

There is a nice pool on the property with deck chairs and so forth. Wine and beer is available at very reasonable prices.

The main drawbacks were around the service we experienced. Reception is only open for a few hours a day and it was annoying having to ask for things like toilet paper etc which were meant to be available in the shared laundry, however supplies weren't replaced enough. When we did have to ask for things it feel as though we were putting Koutar out of her way, so didn't make the experience all that comfortable.

A car is essential if you plan to stay here. You cannot walk to the nearest town. Either hire a car of private driver. We used Hills and Roads who were exception and we have posted a separate review on their service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WallyandKeliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were supposed to stay at this resort for 3 nights and were very excited as soon as we got there because the scenery was terrific and the grounds looked well kept and clean.
However we soon started to run into issues that we tried to overlook but were unable.

The resort has a helpful receptionist, but unfortunately she is only there for a few hours of the day. No AC! just windows...with no screens! In August when we went it was very hot and without AC or an open window you cannot sleep!!!
The grounds are crawling with lizards, which we were ensured don't come into the rooms, but when my wife found one in our room, she wasn't happy. They were the reason we couldn't open the windows - along with the bees and flies that bit.

Our room was musty, bathroom was uncomfortable and tight, bed was horrible.

The receptionist tried to help which was very much appreciated but we couldn't stay at this resort and enjoy our time in Chianti. I've read other posts where people have complained and the management responded with an attitude of "this is how it is", "too bad for you".

we left after the first night and found a great place that didn't have any issues, we asked for our money back for the two nights that we didn't use their property and were refused. We aren't picky and can overlook a lot of things but when you are willing to leave a hotel you've paid for and pay extra to stay somewhere else....it says a lot.

I would strongly recommend staying away form this place, there are many places in Chianti that you can stay at, the one we moved to and were very happy with was Vescine (http://www.vescine.it/). We found it on a wine tasting tour of the region.

This resort may have decided to take our money for services not provided, and they may think that my complaints are silly and unfounded, but i hope I can keep others away form here. and although we had this issue in Chianti the region was beautiful and we will most certainly go back, but we will not be staying that this resort. Guaranteed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This little jewel is tucked in one of the most scenic areas of Tuscany. The apartments are attractive and immaculate (Franca works so hard to please.) The staff was extremely welcoming and did whatever possible to insure that our stay was memorable. In particular, Koutar was gracious, warm, and charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without too many steps to cliimb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I ve just booked my second trip to Collelungo. Can't wait to be there. Real peace and relax in this corner of paradise, spectacular wine at the property and gorgeous food in the area. You cannot miss this jewel if you are travelling to Tuscany. It is a perfect place to discover all the area of Chianti, Siena, Florence, San Gimignano, but also the perfect home to be inside nature in total relax.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed at Collelungo end of August this year and had the most wonderful time in Tuscany.
Total peace and relax in stunning surroundings and very congenial hosts! Fabiola was very welcoming and hospitable and made everyone feel welcome. Lorenzo, the owner, took us around the property and made us discover the secrets of his winery.
The property is in fact a working farm. They produce a gorgeous Chianti Classico. It is set amidst rows of vines in a peaceful setting away from the main road. Our apartment Selva was a ground floor one, with a large bedroom and kitchen / sitting area. We also had a nice outside sitting area in a private garden. We made good use of the pool which was beautiful both day and night, and also made very good use of the honor bar and downed several bottles of Collelungo wonderful chianti.
A car is a must, as the property is about 5 minutes drive from Castellina in Chianti, but the roads round about are fairly quite and easy to manage. The location is ideal for day trips to places like Siena, Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra & Monteriggioni, as well as dozens of small charming medieval villages that are slightly off the beat & track. Try Volpaia and Vertine, very close to Collelungo. Stunning!
The beauty of the area and the excellent food and wine and the most breathtaking views of all Italy made this a wonderful, relaxing holiday and we really recommend you go and stay in Collelungo.
This is really the Tuscan paradise. It is everything and more. Try it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WagS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The perfect place for a vacation in Tuscany. The agriturismo is incredibly charming with old stone buildings perfectely renewed surrounded by vineyards. Fabiola was at the reception and was very friendly and helpful, and provided eating recommendations and driving directions. The location is central for all sight seeing in Tuscany. We were able to do easy day trips to Florence, Siena, Montalcino, San Gimignano and nearby towns and wineries of Panzano and Greve. It was harvest period in Collelungo and we were so lucky to have the opportunity to enter their winery and discover the process of making their wines. Gorgeous and unforgettable! We also took a bottle of Collelungo's great wine from the honor bar and sat in the lounge drinking wine, lietening to music and chatting with guests staying in another apartment. One sunny Sunday we did a nice BBQ on Collelungo's grill after buying a huge bistecca in Castellina together with other guests we met here. We didn't use it, but there is also pool. Definitely don’t miss this place if you travel to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenKleis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed in Collelungo end of September and really can say this is an absolute fantastic place. Perfect for Tuscan lovers as it is so close to Florence, Siena, S.Giminiano and mid the chianti classico area. We could drive around and easily reach Greve, Radda and Gaiole, stopping at wineries for wine tastings.
Our apartment was spacious with a nice fireplace we used one night during our stay. The agriturismo is beautifully restored mid the countryside, all surrended by vineyards. We sat outside in the morning enjoying the sun and the great views, before setting off exploring the region.
Fabiola was very helpful and informative, provided great hints for restaurants and shopping.
We really liked the peaceful Collelungo and being away from the crowds was its highlight. We highly recommend a visit if you want to stay on a working farm. Harvest period was gorgeous!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FriederikDreher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
3.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Querceto di Castellina
Querceto di Castellina
#6 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collelungo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collelungo

Address: Loc. Collelungo 12/14, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $112 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Collelungo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collelungo Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Collelungo Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing