We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Italian home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Godenano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Godenano
Save
You added Hotel Villa Godenano to your Saves list
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went as part of a tour. Perfect location for our daily walks through quaint towns and gorgeous countryside. Villa offered a base for these excursions and we had the place to ourselves. Rooms were comfortable,common areas grand and breakfast delicious.
Loved Laura the owner. She has another beautiful property called Villa Lecchi where I had dinner one night. More upscale.
Want to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed with a 16-strong Explore group, so the villa was given over to our use only. The rooms are large and whichever window you have, you have a lovely view. The gardens are beautiful, and there is a good sized pool. Laura, the owner was so lovely and friendly and produced awesome breakfasts for us! Castellina is a pretty and interesting little town with lots of places to eat, great artisan shops, a weekly market, and is only a short walk from Villa Godenano.

Room Tip: I had lower ground floor which opened on to 'almost my own' garden! They all seemed to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

While some of the facilities were a bit rusty, the size and layout are fantastic for a large group.

Nice pool.

Large garden and grounds.

Short walk into town.

We had some rob with air con and WiFi by they were sorted.

Indoor barbeque is curious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tcm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henly in Arden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed for a week as part of a group tour. The villa is rustic with period architecture. My room was spacious, comfortable & clean... with a great shower. The tranquil setting was perfect for relaxing by the pool after a day's walking in the beautiful countryside. Breakfast was varied, I loved the eggs & combinations of cakes, cheese & pastries in addition to the usual cereals & breads. The home cooking was delicious. A short uphill walk to the village brings you to local shops & restaurants. A wonderful week that will remain in my memory for years to come. Many thanks to Laura & family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here with EXPLORE on a walking holiday. Castellina in Chianti is a beautiful village with fab restaurants and is as quaint and cute as a button. Vila Godenano is a perfect place to chill and relax after a busy day. The house keeper Lena is beyond fab and just smiles ear to ear all day - a gem of a lady!!! Laura the owner pops in from time to time and she is also a lovely lovely lady sharing her familes story making your stay even more special. I would thoroughly recommend staying here, the scenary is spectacular, food AMAZING and well what can I say Toscana is just the best place for a week of chilling and forgeting the stress and strains of life......dont hesitate GO :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sylvia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This villa is situated on a hill with a beautiful view of the valley. It is walking distance from the village for shopping, and placed well for visiting other villages in Tuscany. The rooms are clean, fresh decor, quite elegant, and the baths modern. There is a gathering room with a bar, which we used for serving up our own wines and nibbles from the village. We had dinner in a separate large dining room, with a superb chef serving 4-5 course meals of local recipes, all delicious. The breakfasts were big spreads with fruit, cereal, frittatas, sometimes eggs, bread or toast, pastries (homemade) and varied other choices. The weather was so nice that we usually took our breakfast on the terrace. The atmosphere was elegant but homey. We were a group of friends of 21, and took up the entire villa, which we liked. This villa only serves groups. They do, however, own another larger and fancier hotel nearby with a spa, where they can take on one room at a time, Villa Lecchi. We visited it for dinner and thought it was also extremely elegant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaeJean893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

this was my second stay at the Villa, love it! Food is yummy and the wine was free flowing. The Villa is a 10 min walk to Castellina which has some great shopping . Also it is located, so day trips work in well, close enough to sometimes take in two lovely towns in a day. I highly recommend this hotel, beautiful grounds, staff that is just great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radfordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.9 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Godenano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Godenano

Property: Hotel Villa Godenano
Address: Localita Godenano 1 | Siena, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Godenano Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing