We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Tuscany”
Review of Castello La Leccia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello La Leccia
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven in Tuscany”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Castello La Leccia was our first stop after landing in Rome in early September 2012. Upon arriving we were pleasantly greeted by Alice, a porter handled our luggage, and we were shown to our gorgeous Suite #1. The room, the bed, the sitting room, and the wardrobe room were all amazing. Arriving in the late afternoon, the sun was reflecting off the vineyards below our window and the soft sound of the fountain outside could be heard. This was undeniably the best residence we've ever stayed in. The next morning the sun rose over the hill directly into our window -- we kept the windows open all night and a just perfectly cool breeze kept us refreshed. The accommodations are topped off by expert service at the restaurant and especially Giuseppe (who is the owner and vintner, Francesco's, brother). We had two superb meals -- the first we let Giuseppe choose all of the food considering he knows it best, and it was fabulous. The wine served was their in-house 2008 Riserva -- a spectacular choice. We stayed two nights and upon leaving Monday morning Francesco took personal time out to greet us and take our pictures and tell us the story of his family and how he resurrected the Castello. I cannot say enough good things about Castello La Leccia -- we would stay an entire two weeks if we could. It's definitely a retreat -- if you want to come and relax and enjoy the sounds of the countryside, watch the beauty of an afternoon thunderstorm pass through and cool down the fields, and just spend time with someone you love or alone, I can imagine few other places as perfect as Castello La Leccia.

Room Tip: Suite #1 is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Guest Relations Manager at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Castello.

We are thrilled to read that your stay with us was a nice one and that you relished every single aspect of our agriturismo, for which we take special and absolute care, as we do for our guests, whom we always seek to make feel like at home, in a familiar and cozy surrounding.

We absolutely enjoy to tell the story of our property and of how Castello La Leccia came into being, we hope it is one of the many touches of care we put in everything we do to make every experience here with us unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you again, please feel free to get in touch if you need any assistance with your next booking.

Kindest regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
142
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent location, very high quality and stylish decoration, very clean place to stay. Great hospitality by the owner Francesco, we highly recommend this place for its environment,perfect view and great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oksan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Guest Relations Manager at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review of our agriturismo.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the care to detail and to the customer's wellness we take in every aspect of the Castello makes us special.

We are looking forward to have you again here with us, please feel free to get in touch if you need any assistance with your next booking or information.

Kindest regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visit now before some NYT travel writer discovers this and it's overrun. Opened in May 2012 and located just south of the quaint town of Castellina in Chianti,, this agriturismo hotel has just 12 rooms (13 planned for 2013), but every one is tastefully and beautifully done in a contemporary style blended into the centuries-old Tuscan castle stone and brick. Francesco Daddi runs a marvelously welcoming operation. Giuseppe runs the kitchen that features a big breakfast and wonderful Tuscan dinner menus. The food and service were impeccable. Alice runs the front desk and handled every reuqest, no matter how mundane, efficently and quickly. The family knows every corner of Tuscany and helped plan all of our day trips. The farm produces its own wine and olive oil, including a crisp white blend for the first time in 2012. We stayed in the Suite of Stuccos, a separate suite from the main house, that was roomy, very comfortable, very quiet and had its own separate terrace from which to view the hillsides, olive groves and vineyards. And sunsets; did I mention the spectacular sunsets from the terrace near the house that faces west? We spent a week here, happily would have extended our stay if we could, and are looking forward to returning. This is one of the best stays we have had abroad, ever, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor west side will get the sunsets. However, the Suite of Stuccos is worth every penny in ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wcpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Guest Relations Manager at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your marvelous review of our Castello.

We are delighted to see that all the care and attention we put in every aspect of our agriturismo is a good way to make a difference from the rest of the other places our customers have previously visited.
We are proud to provide our guests with a cozy, familiar atmopsphere supported by a very good service and a true willingness to take care of their well-being as to make them feel at home.

Furthermore, we are very glad to see that our array of Tuscan specialities, food and wines, has been an integrant part of your good memory of Castello La Leccia.

We look forward to have you here with us again, please feel free to get in touch if you need any assistance with your next booking.

Kindest regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a long afternoon's drive from the Cinque Terra, we arrived at the accommodation fairly late in the evening. 

Despite the late arrival Francesco, greeted us with a huge smile and made us feel like VIP guests from the moment  we arrived to leaving the following day. We were saved a table for dinner that night and the setting in the courtyard was beautiful and sophisticated (We had only been on the premises for an hour and already felt like the highlight of our three week honeymoon in France/Italy).

 Giuseppe was also friendly, informative and charming. Our dinner was amazing and really enjoyed the  white wine from their own vinyardm making it the best meal of our trip.

We were upgraded upon arrival and enjoyed spectacular views of the surrounding chianti region out of the windows in the morning. 

This place has everything if you're after a true taste of Tuscany. The rooms and interior spaces are a perfect mix of modern interior whilst still respecting the charm of the old buildings. The rooms also felt extremely cosy and really didn't want to leave so soon! 

Our breakfast was as excellent as the dinner we had eaten the previous night. Francesco offered us a tour of the buildings and winery. We loved every minute of the story he told us about the history of Castello La Leccia and his vineyard. My husband and I have been on a few wine tours before but this was by far the best due to Francesco's charm, local knowledge and his passion for his vinyard.

We enjoyed a few lazy hours poolside before having to move on to our next accommodation. Giuseppe looked after us by the pool and made sure we took our time to relax and enjoy the setting for as long as possible.

We bought a few bottles of their wine that we enjoyed so much at dinner and also received a bottle of their olive oil as a honeymoon gift.

My husband and I never write reviews but everyone needs to know what a special and friendly place this is!

Thank you to everyone at Castello La Leccia for such an unforgettable experience - really wished we had been able to stay longer and hope to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sue,

first of all, we are very thankful for your magnificent review of our agriturismo. It is a real pleasure to encounter our guests' favours and the thought of having left them a good memory of us is one of our greatest satisfactions.

It is one of the highlights of our Castello to make each guest feel as a VIP, and we are happy and proud to show you the beauty of our territory and the heartiness of our people. Each and every single one of you is a person, and a very important one, to whom give all our care and our heart.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Tuscan cuisine of specialities, as well as our wine and olive oil, which are some of the pillars of our agriturismo and whose production is a matter of heart and soul to us. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed so much both of them, as they are made with all our care, a characteristic we are sure all of our guests appreciate.

We would be delighted to receive you once again, should you be in need of any assistance for your next booking do not hesitate to contatc us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What can we say? The best hotel, service and location of our 4 day stay in Tuscany. It is an agriturismo hotel where the main occupation is agriculture, olive and wine. They have recently opened the building as a hotel after a very stylish renovation, so everything is brand new in a nice traditional Tuscan setting. Relaxing place with scenic views, friendly staff and spacious rooms. It is a pity we stayed only one night there, (we could not try the restaurant either) we would certainly like to come back for a longer stay. It is a good spot to use as a base and discover all Chianti region.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe and superior rooms which were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your positive review on our agriturismo.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed every part of our Castello, and that you had a good time with us even for a short time.

We take special attention in the care of our guests, and we are content of giving a frienfly touch to each moment of your stay. Making you relish your holiday with us, even if a brief one, is our main prerogative and we are always keen on making your experience at La Leccia an unforgettable one.

We will be delighted to receive you again, should you need any assistance with your next booking please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I were travelling around Tuscany & Umbria for 2 weeks by car. Chose La Leccia for the setting and location, looking for a relaxing, scenic spot within easy distance of Siena, as we travelled down from a stay in Florence. The property itself has been refurbished with the utmost care, atention to detail, use of technology, but not at the cost of compromising on the historical features that make it so attractive. The decor is far from traditional/chintzy yet is not the overly-minimalist variety that can sometimes leave one wondering how expensive room rates are being justified! I believe we were upgraded to room 8 which had spectacular views from 2 aspects - one across Chianti towards Castellina, the other towards Siena and one can make out the two towers from the lovely pool as well as our bedroom. Being able to see all this not just from your pool lounger, but while sitting on your bed is quite something. The bathroom, bed, fittings, etc were all of the highest spec and while this isn't a hotel, it certainly feels 5 star.
The staff were again, for us, just right - friendly, informative and welcoming, yet not over the top. Francesco was keen for feedback and that we enjoyed our stay - he was asking for where they could improve and said they are opening up the place slowly to ensure they get it right. Giuseppe in turn was extremely helpful and informative with recommendations that proved to be spot on. Very knowledgeable and charming chap, yet to be fair everyone seemed in tune with the guests.
The location lends itself to peace and quiet and this in turn makes a car a necessity in my view. Castellina, Greve (we were lucky enough to coincide with the Chianti Classico Expo weekend!), Radda and of course Siena were all within half an hour. Castellina has a a couple of nice little restaurants for evenings when you don;t dine at La Leccia. The food there is fantastic, as indeed are the breakfasts.
To return to Francesco's wishes for feedback on areas for improvement I am struggling - not one for gushing reviews - indeed the temptation is to try and put you off so we have a better chance of a room if we are lucky enough to return! - but genuinely feel they have it just right here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebrookier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for such a nice review from your part.

While restoring our property we considered conjugating the charm of Tuscany with a new and elegant touch different from the typical rustic-countryside look you so often see in other accomodations.
Technology plays a very important role, as all of our castello is run with a thoughtfulness toward our territory and history: our vine-growing is sustainable, and the radiant wall panels in our rooms are a feature you do not often see in other places.
We are indeed glad that such choices made a real difference in leaving a good memory to those guests whom, like us, consider the respect for the history and the tradition of our land a plus.

It is also a great pleasure to see that the our cares toward our guests are appraised in a beautiful way. We always seek to achieve your well-being during your stay while providing you with the best possible service and a cosy, friendly atmosphere.

We are extremely thankful for your generous feedback, and will be delighted to receive you once again in the beauty of our Tuscan lanscape. Should you be in need of any assistance for your next booking, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great holiday here. We booked at the last minute and were so fortunate to have found this palce. It is simply stunning from start to finish. The views are fabulous, the food is traditional Tuscan fare which we really enjoyed. The whole place is very relaxed, an atmosphere engendered by the friendly staff who were simply lovely from start to finish. A special mention to Guiseppe who was a very attentive (but not too attentive!) host. I would recommed this place without reservation. Only 30 minutes from Sienna and 2 minutes from the very sweet town of Castellina in Chianti, I can't think of a better location for a Tuscan retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you very much for your positive review of our agriturismo.

We are delighted to see that Castello La Leccia represents the perfect Tuscan retreat for our guests, with our traditional food, spectacular views and familiar atmopshere we are so keen on surrounding you with.

It is with sheer pleasure that we see that the care and attention we put into every moment of life at the Castello is fully aknowledged by our guests, whose well-being is our primary concern.
It is our honour and great happiness to provide each customer with an unforgettable and new Tuscan experience, always relishing in seeing that we achieved such goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
364 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
510 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello La Leccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello La Leccia

Property: Castello La Leccia
Address: Localita' La Leccia, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello La Leccia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello La Leccia is an ancient hamlet situated two kilometers south of Castellina in Chianti on a hill 450 meters above sea level, in a position commanding a panorama of the Val d'Elsa stretching from Siena to San Gimignano all the way to the Apuan Alps. Castello La Leccia is an estate that produces Chianti Classico wine and extra-virgin olive oil.In 2008 we started an extensive renovation of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello La Leccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello La Leccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing