We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan perfection”
Review of Castello La Leccia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello La Leccia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan perfection”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a long afternoon's drive from the Cinque Terra, we arrived at the accommodation fairly late in the evening. 

Despite the late arrival Francesco, greeted us with a huge smile and made us feel like VIP guests from the moment  we arrived to leaving the following day. We were saved a table for dinner that night and the setting in the courtyard was beautiful and sophisticated (We had only been on the premises for an hour and already felt like the highlight of our three week honeymoon in France/Italy).

 Giuseppe was also friendly, informative and charming. Our dinner was amazing and really enjoyed the  white wine from their own vinyardm making it the best meal of our trip.

We were upgraded upon arrival and enjoyed spectacular views of the surrounding chianti region out of the windows in the morning. 

This place has everything if you're after a true taste of Tuscany. The rooms and interior spaces are a perfect mix of modern interior whilst still respecting the charm of the old buildings. The rooms also felt extremely cosy and really didn't want to leave so soon! 

Our breakfast was as excellent as the dinner we had eaten the previous night. Francesco offered us a tour of the buildings and winery. We loved every minute of the story he told us about the history of Castello La Leccia and his vineyard. My husband and I have been on a few wine tours before but this was by far the best due to Francesco's charm, local knowledge and his passion for his vinyard.

We enjoyed a few lazy hours poolside before having to move on to our next accommodation. Giuseppe looked after us by the pool and made sure we took our time to relax and enjoy the setting for as long as possible.

We bought a few bottles of their wine that we enjoyed so much at dinner and also received a bottle of their olive oil as a honeymoon gift.

My husband and I never write reviews but everyone needs to know what a special and friendly place this is!

Thank you to everyone at Castello La Leccia for such an unforgettable experience - really wished we had been able to stay longer and hope to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sue,

first of all, we are very thankful for your magnificent review of our agriturismo. It is a real pleasure to encounter our guests' favours and the thought of having left them a good memory of us is one of our greatest satisfactions.

It is one of the highlights of our Castello to make each guest feel as a VIP, and we are happy and proud to show you the beauty of our territory and the heartiness of our people. Each and every single one of you is a person, and a very important one, to whom give all our care and our heart.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Tuscan cuisine of specialities, as well as our wine and olive oil, which are some of the pillars of our agriturismo and whose production is a matter of heart and soul to us. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed so much both of them, as they are made with all our care, a characteristic we are sure all of our guests appreciate.

We would be delighted to receive you once again, should you be in need of any assistance for your next booking do not hesitate to contatc us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What can we say? The best hotel, service and location of our 4 day stay in Tuscany. It is an agriturismo hotel where the main occupation is agriculture, olive and wine. They have recently opened the building as a hotel after a very stylish renovation, so everything is brand new in a nice traditional Tuscan setting. Relaxing place with scenic views, friendly staff and spacious rooms. It is a pity we stayed only one night there, (we could not try the restaurant either) we would certainly like to come back for a longer stay. It is a good spot to use as a base and discover all Chianti region.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe and superior rooms which were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your positive review on our agriturismo.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed every part of our Castello, and that you had a good time with us even for a short time.

We take special attention in the care of our guests, and we are content of giving a frienfly touch to each moment of your stay. Making you relish your holiday with us, even if a brief one, is our main prerogative and we are always keen on making your experience at La Leccia an unforgettable one.

We will be delighted to receive you again, should you need any assistance with your next booking please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I were travelling around Tuscany & Umbria for 2 weeks by car. Chose La Leccia for the setting and location, looking for a relaxing, scenic spot within easy distance of Siena, as we travelled down from a stay in Florence. The property itself has been refurbished with the utmost care, atention to detail, use of technology, but not at the cost of compromising on the historical features that make it so attractive. The decor is far from traditional/chintzy yet is not the overly-minimalist variety that can sometimes leave one wondering how expensive room rates are being justified! I believe we were upgraded to room 8 which had spectacular views from 2 aspects - one across Chianti towards Castellina, the other towards Siena and one can make out the two towers from the lovely pool as well as our bedroom. Being able to see all this not just from your pool lounger, but while sitting on your bed is quite something. The bathroom, bed, fittings, etc were all of the highest spec and while this isn't a hotel, it certainly feels 5 star.
The staff were again, for us, just right - friendly, informative and welcoming, yet not over the top. Francesco was keen for feedback and that we enjoyed our stay - he was asking for where they could improve and said they are opening up the place slowly to ensure they get it right. Giuseppe in turn was extremely helpful and informative with recommendations that proved to be spot on. Very knowledgeable and charming chap, yet to be fair everyone seemed in tune with the guests.
The location lends itself to peace and quiet and this in turn makes a car a necessity in my view. Castellina, Greve (we were lucky enough to coincide with the Chianti Classico Expo weekend!), Radda and of course Siena were all within half an hour. Castellina has a a couple of nice little restaurants for evenings when you don;t dine at La Leccia. The food there is fantastic, as indeed are the breakfasts.
To return to Francesco's wishes for feedback on areas for improvement I am struggling - not one for gushing reviews - indeed the temptation is to try and put you off so we have a better chance of a room if we are lucky enough to return! - but genuinely feel they have it just right here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebrookier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for such a nice review from your part.

While restoring our property we considered conjugating the charm of Tuscany with a new and elegant touch different from the typical rustic-countryside look you so often see in other accomodations.
Technology plays a very important role, as all of our castello is run with a thoughtfulness toward our territory and history: our vine-growing is sustainable, and the radiant wall panels in our rooms are a feature you do not often see in other places.
We are indeed glad that such choices made a real difference in leaving a good memory to those guests whom, like us, consider the respect for the history and the tradition of our land a plus.

It is also a great pleasure to see that the our cares toward our guests are appraised in a beautiful way. We always seek to achieve your well-being during your stay while providing you with the best possible service and a cosy, friendly atmosphere.

We are extremely thankful for your generous feedback, and will be delighted to receive you once again in the beauty of our Tuscan lanscape. Should you be in need of any assistance for your next booking, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great holiday here. We booked at the last minute and were so fortunate to have found this palce. It is simply stunning from start to finish. The views are fabulous, the food is traditional Tuscan fare which we really enjoyed. The whole place is very relaxed, an atmosphere engendered by the friendly staff who were simply lovely from start to finish. A special mention to Guiseppe who was a very attentive (but not too attentive!) host. I would recommed this place without reservation. Only 30 minutes from Sienna and 2 minutes from the very sweet town of Castellina in Chianti, I can't think of a better location for a Tuscan retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you very much for your positive review of our agriturismo.

We are delighted to see that Castello La Leccia represents the perfect Tuscan retreat for our guests, with our traditional food, spectacular views and familiar atmopshere we are so keen on surrounding you with.

It is with sheer pleasure that we see that the care and attention we put into every moment of life at the Castello is fully aknowledged by our guests, whose well-being is our primary concern.
It is our honour and great happiness to provide each customer with an unforgettable and new Tuscan experience, always relishing in seeing that we achieved such goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This is the most amazing place I've stayed in. The architecture was very well restored. La Leccia was located on a higher ground hence the view is spectacular. We were allocated suite 8 which has to best view! We had one window facing Siena and another with the view of Chianti.

The staff on the premises are friendly and the service was always good. Breakfast was served in the garden with fresh baked pastries.

The manager, Giuseppe, was a nice character with such great hospitality. We tried both their white and red wines and really enjoyed them. One evening, we also had dinner in the garden. The food was unpretentious yet with such great flavours.

The room was spacious and fairly new. The bathroom had these olive toiletries that smell amazing good.

Unfortunately we did not had the chance to take a dip in the pool. The pool had a beautiful view of Chianti and the deck looks so inviting!

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Tuscany. It's located almost in the between Florence and Siena. So it's a good location without the crowd of big cities.

And did I mention that the sunset was breathtaking!!

Last but not least, we would like to thank the staff for making our stay amazing! Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your positive review of our Castello.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us: the place, the food and the people, who are our greatest feature and always keen on surrounding you with a cosy and relaxed atmosphere we always look for.

We are glad to hear that you relished our wine, whose making is one of the pillars of the Castello and represents our past, present e future.

We will be honoured to have you here with us again, should you need any information for your next booking do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have to give all credit to my wife. She booked this place and I was somewhat nervous since this was a new establishment. Simply put, this is an amazing place. We travel all around the world and stay at luxe places. Shanghai, Beijing, Auckland, London, Paris,Tokyo.. this place has them all beat. Palo Alto is our home and thus we are used to quick weekend getaways to Napa, Tahoe, Vancouver, Portland, Maui, Oahu etc. Castellina in Chianti is an amazing little town. Small town feel that puts Sonoma to shame. We travelled throughout Chianti and still feel that Castellina was the most quaint town of them all.

The property is just amazing. It is a restored castle that Francesco (owner) spent 5 years restoring. He went all out in the restoration with beautiful rooms. They are tastefully anointed in modern minimalism. Everything is top quality- from the amazing bed, to the "green" tech air conditioning system (cooled water is pumped through the walls of the castle) for convective and conductive cooling. Humidity is controlled so that the rooms are perfectly comfortable from the hot tuscan weather.

The staff make you feel so welcome in a non intrusive way. They check you in and voila melt into the background. However, if you need anything done, the quickly materialize to take care of you. For those that can't disconnect, the wi-fi is awesome.

The grounds are amazing as well. You have a panoramic views of the chianti region in every direction. My wife and I just laid out and took in the amazing scenery. At night, you can walk out with a bottle of vino and enjoy the stars as well as the twinkle of lights of the various tiny villages that dot the Chianti region. There is a beautiful pool to relax in.

Serenity is the key word here. Given that there are only 12 rooms, there is no sense of crowding. You have breakfast any time from 8:00 to 11:00 am. The breakfast is complimentary. Dinner can be had on the property or you can venture into town (only 1.5 miles up the road). Then you can chill out on the grounds to read a good book or just sleep the day away.

For you athletic types. I brought my bike and did some amazing riding in the region. This is a climber's paradise. I would recommend compact gearing if you ride here. I rode amazing routes here from village to village. You can also trail run on the property as well. Just know that it is gravel roads here on the property. You can't really road run in the chianti region.

Finally the intimate touch that this property provides adds a feeling of "home". Francesco (owner) met with us personally to take us on the winery tour. Francesco clearly loves wine making. He spent an hour with us explaining in every detail the workings of his winery. You finish with a wine tasting and we ended up loving his reserve collection. He has a small distribution in the US but we ended up cramming bottles into our luggage.

Honestly, there were no downsides to our experience here. We will come back over and over. I am going home and raving about this place as much as I can!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laleccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello La Leccia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Castello.

It is a great honour to us to read that you loved our property as much as we do, and that we are a good match to other wonderful places around the whole world.
The care we took in restoring La Leccia has always been respectful of nature, the territory around us and our history, like the radiant wall panels in the rooms and our sustainable vine-growing technique. It is marvelous to see that these choises have met many other people's favour.

Furthermore, we relish that our guests can appreciate the human touch of our staff and their willingness to always be of help and guarantee you an unforgettable Tuscan experience.
Your satisfaction is our greatest reward.

We are thrilled to know that you loved our countryside and Chianti territory, the setting of La Leccia is one of its main features, one we believe makes the place different from others our guests might have visited before. The atmosphere of Tuscan countryside is unique in the world and we are happy that you were able to fully enjoy it.

Our wine and wine making is one of the foundations of La Leccia, and we are always happy to share the knowledge of how we grow the vines and produce our wine. It represents our history and land, we are proud that you enjoyed both the story and the taste of this wonderful product.

We are looking forward to welcome you again, should you be in need of any assistance with your next booking please do not hesistate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,

Beatrice Cambioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello La Leccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello La Leccia

Property: Castello La Leccia
Address: Localita' La Leccia, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello La Leccia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello La Leccia is an ancient hamlet situated two kilometers south of Castellina in Chianti on a hill 450 meters above sea level, in a position commanding a panorama of the Val d'Elsa stretching from Siena to San Gimignano all the way to the Apuan Alps. Castello La Leccia is an estate that produces Chianti Classico wine and extra-virgin olive oil.In 2008 we started an extensive renovation of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castello La Leccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello La Leccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing