We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Away from it all”
other traveler has booked this property
studio 'Il Rifugio' - sleeping max. 3 (1 double, 1 single sofa bed)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
studio 'Il Rifugio' - sleeping max. 3 (1 double, 1 single sofa bed)
bedroom interior details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
studio 'Il Rifugio' - sleeping max. 3 (1 double, 1 single sofa bed)
bedroom
interior details
sitting and dining area (single sofa bed)
well equipped kitchenette
bathroom - large walk-in shower/wc
large terrace
details - terrace
total property Poderi Val Verde
housing complex
garden view from  the studio
pool with leisure aera
small covered, unheated, pool for cooler periods
cooking is fun
ready for the cooks
Tuscan welcome dinner
out on the 3D archery range
Fabian - the archery teacher
adventure trekking
robbie the peacock
civette
owner Ulrike with son Fabian
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David K
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Away from it all”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We enjoyed our week in this lovely quiet spot. Many thanks to Cleila for meeting us on the first day and getting us off to a good start.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: To do anything you had to travel a fair distance even for walks.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA, USA
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol UK
Reviewed August 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fl.
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom_Chanc...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon after a busy week in Rome. It was the perfect place to unwind and relax, tucked away in a valley teeming with wildlife observed from the pool or one of the various trails leading away from the garden into the hills and neighbouring Chianti Classico valleys. We came without a car and the local village, Castellina in Chianti, is an easy 30min walk through the valley and along a bit of road.

Il Rustico is just the right size for a couple looking for a snug getaway. We cooked most of our meals in the kitchen, relaxed on a couple of cooler evenings on the sofa and gathered some wood from the forests to have an open flame barbecue one evening.

Ulrike was an energetic host, even taking us into Siena one evening to watch her choir perform in the historic Palazzo Pubblico followed by an uproarious meal in a pizza restaurant with the choir, who all started belting out operatic classics at the end of the meal! We would also recommend the delicious welcome meal, and the cooking lesson was great fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegarden...
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and Rustic in the center of the Chianti region”
Reviewed September 16, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Charming and very tuscan - we loved Il Refugio. The sat nite dinner was fabulous and we loved meeting the other couples/families who were staying there. Ended up spending 3 more evenings together - made our vacation very enjoyable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and peaceful
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Reviewed March 21, 2011 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: nature, place for a good rest
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing