We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect vacation”
terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
terrace
total view cottage 'Casa Capannina' beautiful, secluded  setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
terrace
total view cottage 'Casa Capannina'
beautiful, secluded  setting
Poderi Val Verde
complete few of Poderi Val Verde
leisure area
livingroom/diningroom
view from kitchen into sittingroom
dining area
kitchen
kitchen
details kitchen
downstairs bedroom
upstairs bedroom
upstairs shower
floor plan
endless views from terrace - autumn
community pool with gardens
garden details
garden details
flower power
Mushrooming as of end of Sept.
Olive picking in Nov/Dec
Tuscan Welcome Dinner
Cookery Courses
Little Cooks
Iris show in Florence in May
Rudolfo
Tinchen
Ulrike - the German owner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
726Julia
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect vacation”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A dear friend and I recently celebrated our 50th birthdays with a trip to Tuscany. Ulrike's lovely property was perfectly situated, comfortable, relaxing, and easy to travel from. We had the most lovely time. It was great to have our own little cottage, to be able to make meals when we wanted. The house was clean, well stocked, and just right!! I highly recommend this spot if you are looking for perfect, low key location in Tuscany. A great value!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiloracCC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in the middle of the Chianti region”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed one week in this big house, which is located a bit apart from the other houses and thus even more private. The house was very clean, has a modern kitchen, two modern bath rooms, two bedrooms and has really everything one needs. It is furnished with a lot of love and we enjoyed every single day. It was perfect for us with two kids (3, 5) and has a very big terrace with a wonderful view into the green nature. The kids loved this holiday as the could run free in the whole areal, feed the sheep, play football, jump in the big and very nice pool, visit Robbi (the ostrich), Gioia and Toto (the dogs) or the cats, play with other kids, etc.. Ulrike is a great host, she was always helpful and very uncomplicated. She makes the best plum marmelade ever (not the only thing we brought back home). As Poderi Val Verde is such a wonderful place, we stayed the most time there and made only a few trips to the wonderful little cities nearby. But as we have already booked La Capannina for next year (then for 3 weeks), we are confident that we will then be able to leave Poderi Val Verde for at least a few hours per day to see more of the wonderful Chianti region :-).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexT186
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved staying at Poderi Val Verde, it was the perfect Tuscan experience for our family of five. Our children loved the animals, soccer field, natural spring, basketball, table tennis. We loved our host Ulrike's warmth, cooking, send of humour and advice on the area. We spent a wonderful Easter Sunday with Ulrike and her circle of friends and other guests and the local food and wine was fabulous. I highly recommend Poderi Val Verde as a relaxing base to explore the wonders of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVurinari...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Home Away from Home”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a true Tuscan experience, a stay at Poderi Val Verde is it! This little cluster of ancient Tuscan buildings once part of the Casanova Ricavo, is set in a private valley and now also serves as a working farm. But don't let the words ancient or farm scare you. Our 2 bedroom cottage had been fully renovated with the most up to date amenities while still maintaining it's authentic soul and charm.
The real soul of Poderi Val Verdi though is the owner Ulrike. Her pride of ownership and passion for Tuscan culture can be felt in everything. From the welcome dinner of the freshest foods harvested from the farm and made from recipes pasted down from many generations, to breakfast on the deck of just plucked eggs and zucchini flowers, everything was thoughtful, delicious and so full of love.
As an experienced cook myself, the cooking class was a really pleasant surprise. The recipes shared were so authentic and old they are ones you would never find in a cookbook. They included wild game caught on the property, veggies from the garden, and of course lots of the fantastic local wines. On top of that, Ulrike made it so much fun!
One week was not long enough, and we are already talking about when we will return next.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salzburg/ Austria
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frankfurt
Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing