We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good (but can become great!)”
Review of Vegi Farmhouse

Vegi Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vegi Farmhouse
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good (but can become great!)”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a couple of nights in Chianti and we based ourselves at Vegi Farmhouse.
An amazing place to stay and we regret we did not have more time there.
With a bit more effort it can become really great.
Adding small things (I think that a little extra in the price would be OK) might make the experience a bit more relaxing.
I am referring to Wi-Fi, missing products in the bathroom (i.e. shampooo, shower cap.... We travelled with hand luggage only and we expected to find those items. Shops were far), anti repellant for the mosquitos (watch out! There are many. Though it is expected in a farm house, we did not think about it).

Our room was dark but I expect there might be brighter places.
The swimming pool was really great and the owner was welcoming (he welcomed us with a nice free bottle of Chianti!!).
Breakfast is with home made cake.... HMMM Felt like spoiled childhood!

But as I said... with a little bit extra can become really great!! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaraInThePond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just spent a week at Silvio's Fattoria Di Vegi farmhouse. We are a family of r, with kids aged 10 and 12. The town of Castellina in Chianti is charming. Very upscale. Very friendly. Restaurants are great. We had a really nice stay at the farmhouse. Madelena, the cook, greeted us every morning with really strong coffee and freshly made cake. Silvio greeted us upon arrival and ran down the extra costs of wifi, which was inconsistently working and the wine or olive oil prices, should we decide to purchase anything. We did day trips each morning to nearby medieval towns and usually spent the afternoon at the beautiful pool. Our room was very basic. The beds were basically cots with very uncomfortable pillows. There where lots of mosquitoes, and it was extremely warm in the room. We had to do laundry and had to pay for it. Kitchen was free for us to use, storing food, however no utensils for actual cooking. Overall, a beautiful setting, but the owner spent more time and importance on costs than on customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitchen1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Chios, Proprietario at Vegi Farmhouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
This customers came in late July and were very critical about everything. To pay less, they wanted to sleep together in one room and to please them, we added beds for the children. Our beds are instead all with wooden slats and very comfortable.
These guests of Canada have booked the accommodation in rooms knowing that there is no use of kitchen (but only the use of the refrigerator to make cold lunches) and there is no use of washing machine (on the contrary the accommodation in apartment has every thing) and once there, however, they have demanded to cook and to have a free washing machine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at the Villa 13 people ages 3 months to 63. The owner Silvio was very helpfull and tryed to make our stay the best. The location is good after you get there the first time (with a navigator). A very convinienet supermarket near by. The facilitys are quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minamanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We are a young couple traveling with 2 young children and stayed here for 3 nights. It is an old family-owned and operatedTuscan villa/farmhouse which still runs as an active winery. Beautiful building, spacious rooms (about 14 of them if I remember correctly), gorgeous grounds filled with olive groves and acres of vines, an infinity pool, and a charming courtyard for meals. Silvio, the owner, is very receptive, knowledgeable, and helpful, with excellent English. He greeted us with a bottle of his Chianti Classico which is excellent. The location was perfect, right between Poggibonsi and Castellina in Chianti, about 1-1.5 hours south of Florence, 30-40 minutes east of San Gimignano, and 45 minutes north of Siena--perfect for relaxed day trips to each, though initially difficult to find (arrive in the day time if you can!). Fairly inexpensive too--68 euros a night in the shoulder season. Note--you need a car to get here, and there is no internet access, which may be considered drawbacks, but also are a nice way to take a break from society for a spell. Would definitely stay here again. Awesome Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicomaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
0.8 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riserva di Fizzano
Riserva di Fizzano
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#5 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
223 reviews
4.0 mi away
Collelungo
Collelungo
#12 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vegi Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vegi Farmhouse

Property: Vegi Farmhouse
Address: Localita Vegi 16, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Vegi Farmhouse Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing