We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming little house right in the heart of Chianti region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fiaba Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were thrilled by the place, when we arrived. It's one of those typical tuscan houses made of stone. Room has everything you need, it's also very clean and the whole house is lovely decorated. The backyard is also nice arranged, so that you can enjoy your coffee or a glass of wine there (in the company of 4 hens and 2 cats :D). Breakfast, served in the kitchen, was also delightful.

Erica, the host, was very friendly (maybe a little over-friendly).

For us, there were only two downsides about this place:
1. location is about 7 km away from the nearest village. So if you want to do a wine tasting, somebody has to drive home...
2. check out was at 10 am, which we didn't knew, nor expect. So we felt kind off thrown-out the day we left. Erica wasn't very understanding regarding this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kity0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

To summarise : perfect in all aspects : hospitality / location / lovely breakfast / immaculate bathroom / quiet road for easy driving / great night's sleep + very good price. No complaints whatsoever and we will definitely look them up for another stay upon our next and longer trip to Tuscany.

We stayed here 2 nights in May and highly recommend La Fiaba, a lovely B&B in the heart of Chianti / Tuscany. We chose La Fiaba primarily for its central Tuscan location, easy drive to Siena / Florence / San Gimignano and all points in between. Panzano & Castellina are a few minutes away, where we had dinner both evenings upon on hosts recommendations. It ended up being the perfect spot in our very compressed first-ever trip to Italy, travel;ling up from Pompei and prior to our next leg to Cinque Terre.

Erica and Simone are both lovely hosts and great fun, with lots of helpful tips for seeing the region and the multitude of towns therein.

Just a note of caution… at first, we had a bit of difficulty finding their B&B as I had “mistakenly” relied on the Google Maps location (it is wrong by roughly 500 metres)…the B&B is further north along Route SR222 & actual GPS co-ords are : 43.516832, 11.292148 & part of a little community called Molino Nuovo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripPinSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at La Fiaba for three nights in May which was highly recommended to us by a friend who lives in Italy and has stayed there. Erika is the proprietor. She is very friendly and helpful. She helped us plan day trips including wineries to visit. She provided us with great maps of the area and brochures. She made dinner reservations for us at a wonderful restaurant that was very reasonably priced called il re gallo in Castellina in Chianti.
The room we stayed in was very nicely appointed with its own bathroom and was 65 euro a night. The entire place is very nicely decorated with unique furnishings. Wifi was just installed before our visit. The kitchen is quite lovely and she prepares a wide variety of items for breakfast including hot out of the oven croissants and rolls, meats and cheeses, wonderful homemade jams, honey, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices and coffee or tea. She encourages you to walk outside and see her garden and chickens. The chickens are very friendly and will come running up to you in their penned area. Finding La Fiaba was challenging for us because we kept looking for road 222 and couldn’t find it. After we called her, she pointed out that it is important to look for the sign of the big city you are heading towards. La Fiaba is clearly marked with a small wooden sign down near the road and parking is just across the street. It is a great location for the Chianti region. We look forward to our next stay at La Fiaba.

Room Tip: You will be pleased with any of the rooms. Erika runs a top-notch B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Happytraveler1USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Bubbly Erika a died in the wool Fiorentinian runs a great B&B located in the heart of Chianti country near to Castellina, Panzano and Greve. The room are quiet and very comfortable. plus a covered sit out area at the rear of the B&B. Erika , the owner is very welcoming and takes real interest in getting to know her guests. The breakfasts were excellent , plenty of variety and a lovely kitchen/diner to partake it in. Erika will point the way to close by good eating places .
We drove up the hill to Panzano, free parking area near the bus stop for a 45 minute ride into Florence Greve , beware of over zealous traffic wardens, Of the three main towns in the area we preferred Panzano, not so touristy plus good eating places and interesting walking area.
Plus they have a DIY laundry , not too many of those around .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wdhawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Normally we do not tell personal secrets, but in this case we reveal that La Fiaba is THE top-B&B in Chianti! We had a wonderful stay, the landlady and the landlord are so nice, the rooms have country-specific furniture and the breakfast consists of local ingredients, first and foremost of home-made jams - our favourite was lemon, but there are many others (no comparison to poor breakfasts in many Italian hotels). The location of La Fiaba is central if you want to visit the highlights of Tuscany as well as for relaxing, hiking or biking-tours. We shall come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZSKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we spend 4 night in 2 rooms. one for me and my husband and the other for our children adolescents18,14.14.
The house is two stories high and has a number of rooms. A small inner garden with trees and plants. The rooms are well kept and very aesthetic. The rooms are large and broad big bed and very comfortable. Romantic atmosphere. Shower room and has all you need towels are soft and pleasant. And especially the rooms are clean and polished and every day beds made and room cleaned.
Erica is a lovely woman kind, warm and welcoming guests.

Satisfying breakfast cereal contains yogurt with croissants and rolls with homemade jams.
The location also is pleasant and accessible anywhere in the environment, in Chianti Florence Siena . We went all day trips and returned in the evening to eat at restaurants recommended by Erica. We strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orab5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Erika runs a nice B&B located on the Chiantigiana between Castellina and Panzano. The rooms are nice, very clean and it is very quiet. The owner is very welcoming and takes real interest in getting to know her guests. The breakfasts were good and we had enough choice to fill us up for a while. We would recommend this nice place with no hesitations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDinKanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Cristina
Villa Cristina
#8 of 18 in Castellina In Chianti
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fiaba Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fiaba Bed & Breakfast

Address: Localita Molin Nuovo 66 | Localita Grignano, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fiaba Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the heart of Chianti in a charming historic location.Castellina in Chianti, half way between Florence and Siena, presents best the wonderful wiev of the Toscan's countryside. The vineyards, olive farms and oak forest are the most typical for the locality of Castellina in Chianti.The middle age churches, castle and farms are all spread throughout the beautifully surroundings. In the 13th century Castellina with Gaiole and Radda formed a part of the "Lega Chianti". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fiaba Bed & Breakfast Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing