We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan gem - not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castello di Fonterutoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I booked one night here with their "Stay and Dine" package - one night in a superior room, a 4-course tasting wine dinner, and the winery tour, for 256 euro. We loved it so much, we booked another night. The village is amazing, and most staff, we learned, live on the property. The views and sights are nothing short of breathtaking, but it's really the level of service that, in our view, set this experience apart. Everyone was so genuinely kind (not the level of "kind" that comes from just wanting your money.) The wait staff as the Osteria was amazing, as were the ladies at the front desk, who put up with our "new reservation" not once, but twice.

The rooms are fantastic. Clean, large, and well-suited for leisure travelers, situated in old buildings. There is no tv (but who wants one, anyway?) and wi-fi is free, but only one in your party can use it at a time.

Next trip to Italy, we are skipping the cities, and going directly back to Fonterutoli.

Room Tip: I think the rooms upstairs had better views and balconies, but ours was on the main level and was st...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volleyflavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Castello di Fonterutoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 10 days in the Roseto appartment and loved it. We had the privelege of the private pool, which is reserved for the 3 suites. We were 6 adults and 2 kids and stayed comfortably in the spacious rooms.
The staff was very welcoming, and we had the opportunity to get a tour of the both the old and new winery of Mazzei, who has been making wine at Fonterutoli for generations.
The highlight of our days was breakfast, where the lovely Jean starts your day off on a high it is hard to come down from. :) (ps. make sure to request her famous scrambled eggs!)
Fonterutoli is a great starting point for visiting the beautiful wine region of Chianti Classico, and convenient for day trips north to Firenze (45 mins) or south to Siena (20 mins).

Room Tip: All the appartments of Fonterutoli were lovely, but we recommend booking the whole Roseto flat and g...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_Ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed he for one night in may 2013. We just selected due to wine we love and decided to look at place where is made
It is very small Locanda, not even town juts in hear of chianti region. Oned by Mazzei's family, Fonterutoli is one of 3 wine yards they owned.
Rooms are based in real old building, with very nice, and would even say antic furniture. We stayed in big house, with two bedrooms and bibliotheca. We feel almost as we are living here. You get into real Italy, with real books, soul, and authentic atmosphere. With beautiful outdoor view on Chianti hills, and wine yards
For all visitors are free wine tasting.
We also were very surprised and fully enjoyed dinner in Osteria Fonterutoli
If you around do not miss an opportunity to get into real soul of Chianti region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We travelled as a group and stayed in this charming village where nothing has been spoiled, and it retains its autenticity from a past time. The winery is amazing and you can tell that it has been in the hands of the same family, teh Mazzei family, for several centuries. The rooms, even if simple, are extremely comfortable and have everything you need.
The wine tour was amazing and the wines also. This is one of those jewels you dream to find in Tuscany, and not always one finds! We will be back soon for sure!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I will start with - the review by "soowendy" is interesting to say the least. I guess I can sympathise that having your own little town could be a little overwhelming for some travelers - but we loved it!!
Essentially Locanda di Fonterutoli is owned by Mazzei, a reputable winemaker and it appears the B&B is a side venture to this business. Now to the important stuff...
The check-in was swift and painless, with the receptionist showing us to our rooms once going over the particulars about breakfast being served across the road at the restaurant (Osteria Fonterutoli). We were travelling in a group of four, so the family room made sense - at EUR180 for the night. At first we saw the eeriness that "soowendy" alludes, however once we realised the situation of the winery and the town - it all made sense. We were shown to our rooms and then the communal areas which just topped off the standard of this B&B, a "man room", kitchen, pool and many areas to sit back and relax were on offer. Rooms were spacious and nicely furnished, bathroom was clean and well equipped. Some construction was underway near the pool area during our visit, a little disruptive, but then the pool could do with some work itself!
All things considered I rated this "very good" given the excellent communal facilities, rooms and breakfast when coupled with the relatively inexpensive price tag. An interesting experience that was comfortable yet different - isn't that what travelling is about?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshEvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

In response to sowwendy critics and her review it is not the same with ours. we stayed in locanda di fonterutoli and we got the glicine piccolo and we are very contented and satisfied. the place is old but evrything is all clean and order. the lady who works there is very helpful and always answering our needs. we want to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clear m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a beautiful room (Rosa) in a wonderful old building. The only negative thing about the room was that there were no air conditioning.

Great service and fabulous breakfast. The restaurant on the estate is also superb!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MereteNylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
526 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casafrassi Hotel
Casafrassi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
195 reviews
4.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fonterutoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fonterutoli

Address: Via Puccini 4 - Loc Fonterutoli | Fonterutoli, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $121 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Fonterutoli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Fonterutoli estate offers 12 country-chic rooms inspired by the colors of Chianti and restored with authentic taste by the family architect, Agnese Mazzei. All the rooms are located in the historic homes of the Fonterutoli hamlet, the true heart of the estate since centuries, and provide the special feeling of "living in a Tuscan country village". The hamlet houses the Fattoria, Roseto, Limonaia and Carpentiere historic homes, where all of the rooms are located, as well as the Enoteca di Fonterutoli where wine tastings are held, and the Osteria di Fonterutoli Restaurant, both only few steps away from any of our rooms. Ranging in size from 70 to 200 square feet (20 square meters to 60 square meters), all of the rooms boast their own personality with charming, comfortable bedrooms, individual bathrooms, village views, and panoramic terraces with countryside vistas. They all maintain the ambiance of a quintessential Chianti country house. Ancient terra cotta floors, exposed ceiling beams, and precious family antiques provide a warm and inviting atmosphere, making Fonterutoli an ideal environment in which to savor Tuscan country life. Outdoor activities such as hiking, biking and horseback riding can be easily arranged during Guests' stay. Wine tours of our spectacular winery, wine tastings as well as visits to nearby villages and towns, local farms, factories and artisan shops can be organized. Cooking classes can also be arranged and are available on the property. Guests can reserve individual rooms located within the historic homes throughout the hamlet. Upon request, or in case of larger groups, the entire apartment can be reserved, where guests have full use if the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Fonterutoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fonterutoli Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing