We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant in Castellina”
Review of Tre Porte

Tre Porte
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Castellina”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We ate here one night while in Castellina. It was a cool and rainy night -- otherwise we would have eaten on their outside terrace. The waitstaff qwere very friendly, although the night we ate there it was obvious they were a bit overwhelmed by the crowd they had, and could have used a few more waiters. The food was very good, and the wine choices reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LarryandBettyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    192
    75
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food in Chianti”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a good restaurant in the little town of Castellina in Chianti. All the meals were delicious and the service was good. The house wine was real good. Definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPer_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK food but terrible service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited Tre Porte on our first night in the area, choosing the restaurant because it was busy - and not just with tourists. The upstairs part of the restaurant is lovely - all ceiling beams and stone walls - but unfortunately it was full so we ended up downstairs which is considerably less rustic and pretty. Once seated we were forgotten about for at least ten minutes before we finally got menus and then it took ages for the waiter to come back to take our order, and the speed/quality of service didn't improve from there. Our starters arrived quickly enough, but it took over 45 minutes for our mains to arrive after our starters were cleared away - and when they did come, they were just "OK" - and then we had another wait of around 30 minutes until they brought the bill. Perhaps the service would have been better had we been seated upstairs but, as it was, we left feeling far from impressed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuldReekieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon delicious pizza!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Driving through Chianti we came upon this restaurant in Castellina in Chianti with no recommendations but found the restaurant to be bustling with locals and tourists. We ordered pizza and a bottle of Chianti. The pizza was fantastic! Arguably the best pizza we had during our entire trip. If you're happening through this quiet town at lunch time, it's definitely worth a stop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatieMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a great restaurant in the little town of Castellina in Chianti. Carlotta and her crew do a great job in putting out real Tuscan food. The pizza is great too, but the other main courses are worth coming back for. Don't miss this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tre Porte also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tre Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing