We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice family restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosticceria Il Re Gallo

Rosticceria Il Re Gallo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very cozy and friendly restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was great. Very nice atmosphere and not touristy at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank liz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    239
    39
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
203 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good hospitality, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Il Re gallo is situated in the nice village of Castellina in Chianti. Menu is varied with a good wine list of wines from the region. Decor is typical Osteria, nothing fancy, lot of wood, cosy and appealing.

For starters we opted for a plate of pasta. I had the pici cacio e pepe which were cooked to perfection and tasted very good. For mains we all opted for the chingiale, a speciality of the region, you can't go wrong with chingiale here, which in fact was tender and tasty.The service is quite good and the waiter serving us was very friendly and assisted us in the best possible way. The only thing that bothered me was that the place was too hot.

Finishing up with a grappa and a chat with the waiter. I do recommend this place, good food, good service, reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A quiet dinner ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

After a really long day we came to the restaurant for dinner. The place is small, warm and a great refuge from a cold night. The staff are very friendly and the food was very delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Sagi Ve Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were driving to Florence from Siena and decided to stop by Castellina for lunch. From the start we were greeted by the warmth of young waiter of what looked like a family run restaurant who spoke good English. We ordered a truffle taster plate, truffle sauce ravioil, home made pasta with meat ragu and wild boar stew. Everything tasted excellent especially the pastas and truffle antipasti plate which had a quiche like tart with a layer of truffle paste. The prices are reasonable with good sized portions. This is definitely one of the better restaurants in Italy for us so far.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have eaten in most of the osterias in Castellina over the years but this was a very pleasant first. I indulged myself with the grilled beef steak and mushrooms which was excellent the steak may be too rare for some but it was just how I like it and the 2 types of mushrooms where full of flavour and a side of potato's and seasonal veg just topped it off. The service was very attentive and the waiter has good command of English. I will be going back and take my friends with me, the menu options would suit most and the prices are fair.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticceria Il Re Gallo also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Rosticceria Il Re Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing