We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Rosticceria Il Re Gallo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice to sit outside and eat wonderful food and drink local chianti. Inventive menu and friendly service

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sirlarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    262
    47
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“nearly every evening I wrote the book ;-)”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

very familiar. My dad loved it! They took care, seated us well, helped with the menue (the italians -.-), sold us decoration :-D Cooked what we expected --> fine, simple, reduced as we like it.
AND... they present me a nice ashtray before I departed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargitSteinbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although my husband had been told to get the wild boar, they were out of it by time we got to order (8:30 reservation). He stuck with the filet and said it may have been the best that he has ever eaten. I had the appetizer of ham and melon--melon is very ripe now and is so incredibly sweet. The Chianti was very nice and chocolate sprinklings were added to the tiramisu when I mentioned my husband loves chocolate.
The wait staff started out very slow--took about 20 minutes to get water to us and we started to wonder if we were between waiters. However, once they took our order, they were very good and meals came quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherie646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This restaurant sits on a small piazza in the town.The wait staff was friendly and the food was very tasty. We enjoyed a very nice lunch there during our visit to Castellina on a family trip to Italy. If you ever make it to this small hill town, we recommend that you give them a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Superbe Tuscan cuisine!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a real great place to eat. Good service, and fantastic food. They offer nice Tuscan cuisine, very refined and superbly tasting. Prices may be somewhat higher than other places in town, but it is worth it. We were lucky to walk in and find a seat, but you should really make a reservation as they fill up very quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticceria Il Re Gallo also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Rosticceria Il Re Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing