We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight Of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta Casanova

Tenuta Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come on to discover the wine tasting in Tenuta Casanova and fun with Rita's cooking class. One day to appreciate the Tuscan wine, the extra virgin oil, the honey and Silvan's balsamic vinegar. In Tenuta Casanova, you will taste Silvano’s wines; Super Tuscany, Easy to Fall in Love and Chianti Classico, surrounded by beautiful and charmed Tuscan land.
Michigan - Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Highlight Of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This small organic winery is just beautiful! The owners , Silvio and Rita are very warm and friendly. Silvio started us off with a tour of the organic farm with bees , wild pigs, and olive trees. Then the small winery and balsamic vinegar operation. Very interesting and the vinegars we tasted were excellent. Then on to the cooking school run by Rita with an assist from Silvio and Lavinia (sp). Our class was small; just seven of us, and totally hands on (not a demo). We cooked a full meal with pasta, plus two desserts and four focaccias. All the while sipping the most delicious wine. Then we were seated in the dining room and served the foods we had cooked paired with several more wines. At the end of the class we could purchase the wines, honey, and vinegars. The best thing we did in Italy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    4
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend the day in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself and 7 friends spent the day here taking Rita's cooking class and then enjoying the vineyard and eating all our hard work. It was absolutely fabulous and although Rita doesn't speak much English, her very handsome sidekick Carlo was there to translate for us. We were cooking for about 5 hours, drinking the splendid wines produced here. Half our group were vegetarians so we made enough variety that everybody was full and happy. The Tiramisiu was the best we have every had. We made so much pasta that they wrapped 1/2 of it up for us to cook the next night at our villa. Everything was delicious, we were well entertained and all felt it was well worth the $ spent. Highly recommend this activity to spend a day at a real Tuscan farm and vineyard and learn how to cook the local dishes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bajagirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW!! The most unbelievable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Tenuta Casanova was recommended to us by a couple we met at our hotel. We booked lunch and a tour the next day and figured it would be a nice way to spend the day. It exceeded out expectations by far. When we got there we were greeted by the owner Sylvano and let us walk around his farm and winery while he got lunch ready. We were able to walk next to the grapes and olive trees and even into his garden where he grows the vegetables for our meal. He then came out and gave us a tour of the wine and vinegar production process and explained in detail what he does to enhance the quality of his product. After the tour we had a wonderful lunch outside where he introduced us to his wines and balsamic vinegars. I highly recommend the apple balsamic vinegar. Especially on the ice cream. The lunch was outstanding because everything is grown there on the farm and the view was fantastic. If you ever go to the Tuscany region Tenuta Casanova is a must see. It was only a 1/2 hour from our hotel outside of Sienna.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sport1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Tuscany and one of many wine tastings and tours that we have done. This, without question, is the best we have ever experienced. Everyone at the winery is charming, the wines are wonderful and the food is the best meal we had during our entire 3 week trip and we ate at many fine restaurants. The food is authentic and fresh and served in an incredible setting. This is the winery to visit!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kdo7383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tuscan experience & Italian gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rita and Sylvano have build a great farm, winery, and home, and luckily for us, are willing to share it with tourists. The cooking class was a great full day experience, and we shall not forget it. If you have the time, don't miss this "home made" food and chance to expand your knowledge of this famous region. Thanks from Brian & Linda (Canada, Switzerland, and Lago di Como).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta Casanova also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tenuta Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing