We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful evening in Chiati vineyard”
Review of Tenuta Casanova

Tenuta Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come on to discover the wine tasting in Tenuta Casanova and fun with Rita's cooking class. One day to appreciate the Tuscan wine, the extra virgin oil, the honey and Silvan's balsamic vinegar. In Tenuta Casanova, you will taste Silvano’s wines; Super Tuscany, Easy to Fall in Love and Chianti Classico, surrounded by beautiful and charmed Tuscan land.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“delightful evening in Chiati vineyard”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A small group of nine people spent the evening at Sylvano and Rita's organic farm. Sylvano was an excellent and practiced host who introduced us to his balsamic vinegar, olive oil with truffles, wine and honey. His Farm is everyone's ideal of Tuscany and he and his wife work hard to deliver an outstanding experience for visitors. LOved it and would recommend a visit and even one of the cooking classes if you have time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    4
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A Tuscan Must!!"”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The day started when Silvano picked us up at Riserva di Fizzano, and introduced us to his philosophy and the history of his spectacular organic farm. When we arrived, we met our cooking partners for the day, and were treated to wonderful glasses of wine (produced on location) while Silvano explained how our day would unfold. We toured the outside of the facility, seeing the grape vines, olive trees, rosemary hedges and wild boar, and then the rooms in which the wines and balsamic vinegar are aged.

Then the real adventure began! Rita joined us and we embarked on our journey of preparing an amazing authentic tuscan meal consisting of pastas (with white truffle olive oil or tomato sauce), gnocchi with pesto, 4 kinds of focaccia, a vegetable tart and tiramisu. Incredibly fun and delicious! During the entire culinary process, we were able to enjoy various types of wines that are produced right at the farm.

To end our dining experience, we were each treated to a vanilla ice cream scoop with a drizzle of 30-year aged balsamic vinegar -- wow!

All in all, this was absolutely one of the very best highlights of one of the best vacations of our lives!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_L2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great people and a great Tuscan cooking school”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We send lots of our guests here, and not a single one has come back without telling me what a fantastic time they had. That on it's own is enough for me. But they are also lovely people, and they make THE most fantastic vinegar too. Highly recommended

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon-at-Patrignone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best part of the day!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was expecting just your regular wine tasting when we got to the winery. However, Silvano doesn't just make wine. The pairing of white wine with bread and the olive oil that they make was great. We then tasted a regular cracker with a drop of white truffle olive oil which was so unexpected. Their chianti was paired with plain beans and their three year old balsamic vinegar, along with chiese and honey (which they also produce at the winery). The most unexpected and divine part of the tasting was a bit of plain vanilla ice cream with a few drops of 30 year old balsamic vinegar. I can still taste it. Well done, Silvano and Rita!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EsteeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Priceless!!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Silvano is a master with the wine and Rita is a master when it comes to cooking. They both make this cooking class an experience of a lifetime. It was by far one of the best cooking classes I have attended and will do again in the near future. The whole entire day was a learning experience I'll never forget. The estate is beautiful and all the products produced there are organic.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Outcast6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta Casanova also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tenuta Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing