We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly!”
Review of Borgo Sicelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Sicelle
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the first time we spent our vacation in Tuscany. We were very excited about what will be the area, which was previously seen only in movies. We were not dissapointed. Our accommodation and our hosts well-represented the kindness of the people who live here and the sights and sounds of the landscape. Unfortunately, only a week we spent here, and many excursions. At the end of the days was good to taste a tasty Tuscan wine on Borgo Sicelle's terrace. Thank you for Silvia & Franco.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szilveszter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited Borgo Sicelle now for the 8th time and everytime we feel if we are coming 'home'. Franco and Silvia are always willing to help and to advise us and all other guests regarding trips, special events, weather forecast, restaurants etc. This year we decided to stay for almost 3 weeks and it really was worth it! This summer (2012) was hot, so we spend every day several times in the swimming pool and saw the beautiful view over the mountains. Even after so many years we still enjoy every minute. Borgo Sicelle is located on top of the hills in the Chianti area, 25 km away from Florence and 35 km away from Siena. We saw a lot of other hotels, agriturismo etc. but Borgo Sicelle is one of the very few with this magnificent view. Besides that it is a very relaxed small area, and ok there is only one small restaurant at a walking distance, but that also means that you don't have all the noise of a crowded area. Again we explored the area with our mountainbikes. Especially between all the vine yards it is great cycling at the so-called 'strade bianche', rough roads but not (too) tough. For all admirors of cycling: you can find cycling roads in all sorts and yes, at times it can be slightly steep... The food & wines (visit the Enoteca at Panzano) are delicious, the culture and events in all cities and villages are fantastic and Borgo Sicelle is a great starting point for everything you want to do in the Tuscany. Next year we will return, because there is still so much to see and to discover. Arrivederci!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have the beautiful view directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BorgoSicelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Borgo Sicelle is a tradition for us...every summer we spend here couple of days. This year we visited this great location as a couple with our friends and again the stay was simply perfect.
A positive change was that Franco arranged wifi so for those who need to be sometimes in touch it is a big help.
We like the amazing view, perfect location, swimming pool and the willingness of Franco and Sylvia. They know everything about market days, shopping possibilities, always sufficiency of maps and plans, traffic information etc.
We like the location, possibility to get a trip to different cities (Firenze, Sienna) and Chianti villages. Our friends organized a day trip to the see so this also possible to get in one day.
We visit also a nice tratidional restaurant across the street - you don´t need a car to get home after you get delicious food or wine.
Again - warmly recommended. Ciao next year!!

Room Tip: In some ground floor appartments you can hear some noices from the apparments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We've just spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was clean, spacious and quiet and the view from both rooms was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed sitting in the garden or by the pool and visiting the many pretty villages all a short distance away.
There is only one place to eat within walking distance and we found that disappointing but there are several just a short drive away including the cheap and cheerful Pizzeria in San Donato. Some nights we used the excellent BBQ and ate on the patio overlooking the valley of vineyards and olive groves - superb!! The only improvement we could think of would be air conditioning in the bedrooms, although there was a good fan. We would certainly recommend this beautiful place and would hope to return one day,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have wonderful memories of my stay at Borgo Sicelle and my days of exploring the Tuscan countryside from Florence to Siena. Borgo Sicelle is calming and lovely, and Sylvia and Franco are gracious, kind and helpful. My agenda for the day was decided each morning as they shared their thoughts on villages I might enjoy, vineyard tours, market days, etc. I looked forward to returning ‘home’ at the end of each day, not wanting to miss being there as the sun set. And on a particularly warm afternoon, I had the pool to myself, swimming, admiring the countryside, swimming. I’ve returned from previous vacations often wondering where next. I now wonder when I might return with family and friends to the countryside of Tuscany and Borgo Sicelle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Borgo sicelle is an old village that have been renovated and turn into holidays appartments to rent. The appartments are properly renovated, nothing fancy but comfortable and the place provides many facilities. The noise isolation can be a problem with your neighbors have a different rythm that yours. But the main advantage is the central location in Tuscany, closed to all cities to see: Florence, Pisa, Siena, and all the small villages in the Chianti.
We have enjoyed everyday the terrasse where tables and chairs are available for guest with a stunning view on the valley.
What really makes the difference is the friendliness of Franco & Silvia: where ever you go, they have maps & directions information ready, hints about how to get there, where to park the car, what to do, what not to miss. They have made our stay very easy and have been very much available no matter what request we had.
I definitely recommend this place for nature lovers who look for the best quality/price location in the heart of the Chianti.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a great base for our explorations of the Chianti area of Tuscany. The views from the patio and pool area are stunning - everything you would imagine of the Tuscan region!!! We had wine and cheese watching the sunset one evening and thought we were dreaming because it was so beautiful.

Franco was very accommodating, giving us recommendations for day trips before and during our stay. We even received a nice bottle of wine from his brother-in-law's vineyard as a welcome gift - really good I must say!

There were plenty of amenities to make our stay very comfortable - - especially the two washing machines - they weren't too difficult to figure out. I recommend bringing your own washing detergent. There is some there but it is powder (I'm used to using liquid). It was also surprisingly quiet considering there were other guests on the property. There was a kitchenette, although we only used it for breakfast but it would be perfect if you wanted to make dinner one evening. There is wi-fi if you are so inclined during your stay. You may need to be in the courtyard near the office to get a signal but it is free nonetheless.

Coming from California I was expecting a bit more in terms of wine tasting in this region and wish I would have done more research on this. Also, beware of the safety cameras all around Chianti while driving. It helps to have GPS so you know when you are approaching one. You definitely need a car in this area and I would highly recommend a small one - there is a reason so many people drive small cars in Italy! The roads are very windy but the views well worth it!!! The restaurant just down the road (not the one across the street but if you turn left onto the main road) is very good but a little pricey.

I highly recommend Borgo Sicelle and would most definitely return here if coming back to this region.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank days32110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
546 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
144 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casafrassi Hotel
Casafrassi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
397 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Sicelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Sicelle

Address: Localita Sicelle 59 | Siena - Tuscany, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Sicelle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Sicelle, originally a small farm typical of the Chianti region, the perfect location for excursions to Florence (27 km), Siena (35 km), S.Gimignano (25 km) and pretty towns such as Castellina, Greve, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. It is situated on the top of a hill in a panoramic position, a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and the incredible Tuscan sunsets.There are ten apartments, from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Sicelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Sicelle Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing