We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly great visit”
Review of Il Cellese

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Cellese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Took the family this year to this wonderful gem of a hotel in the heart of Chianti, Tuscany. While Marion and I visited the local restaurants and towns my son and daughter used the hotel as their base to visit Rome, Sienna, Florence and Cinque-Terre. We visit il Cellese on a regular basis and find the accommodation, meals and the service to be consistently excellent.
Silvia, the chef, prepares the most delicious meals, which quite frankly spoils you for other eateries. A constant comparing of her food is not fair but we sometimes have to say "Silvia's is way better". Silvia also manages the hotel with owner Sergio and his partner Svetlana. They are on site to help you with day trips, restaurant reservations, car problems, directions and translation. The location is spectacular. On the top of a tuscan hill, my camera lense never seems to capture the beauty of the view looking over the valley below and the hills in the distance.
There are a number of agri-tourismos in Tuscanny but I would recommend this little gem to you without reservation for it's fabulous staff who understand that the fun in travelling is not only in the country but the great people you meet on the way.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Gregg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 268 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited "Il Cellise " the first full week of May and our stay exceeded all expectations. My wife and I, our two sons and our daughter in law stayed in The Loft and Fienile. Both were beautiful apartments with their separate charm and personality and stunningly beautiful views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. Our host Sergio was always warm and hospitable as he and chef Silvia never hesitated to offer stories and insights which gave us a deeper understanding of Tuscan and Italian culture. Silvia prepared meals for us on two occasions in the dining room and hosted a cooking class which will live in our memories forever. The food was always wonderful.
"Il Cellise" was a convenient location for our day trips throughout Tuscany. We traveled to the hillside towns of Siena, San Gimignano and Volterra - the cities of Pisa and Florence and the seaside port village of Portovenere as well as numerous stops in picturesque towns for wine tasting and festivals.
We hope to return to this special place someday but for now we'll settle for the smiles that the recollection of "Il Cellise" brings to our faces.
Charlie and Mary Collins

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chazcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a family reunion there and Sergio took excellent care of everyone (ages 5-80). Had almost the entire Villa and made special arrangements for dinner for the week, which was excellent as well. Great location to explore Tuscany. The reviews are accurate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RECH310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We are spending our honeymoon here and we loved every second of it! Il cellese is the perfect location to relax and enjoy the Tuscan lifestyle!

The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the food is local, fresh and good value for Money. They also produce their own wine & olive oil which are both awesome.

PS if you rent a car to get there I would suggest a 4x4

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphacento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are a group of friends, we had a really amazing Vacanza Italiana in the beginning of May and Il Chellese was our Tuscany Home for a week. It is located in the heart of Chianti area and is the perfect point to explore the beauty and the atmosphere of the region. Sergio gave us good suggestions, to organize our time and to see, the highlights of the area. We stayed in Nicchie apartment, fully equipped, clean and comfortable. We booked the dinner, we were curious to taste some homemade typical Tuscany dishes and the food was delicious. And of course the WINE. They produce wine of great quality. The view from the property is marvelous, the swimming pool is perfect to relax and enjoy the sun and the scenery. The village nearby, Castellina in Chianti is such a charming place. Thank you Sergio, Silvia and Svetlana, for being kind and helpful hosts. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SiaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We selected Il Cellese based on it's central location in Tuscany and Tripadvisor's reviews. We wanted to experience Tuscany on day trips by car and have a "retreat" to return to after touring. We definitely scored!!! The views are breathtaking, the accomodations incredibly "Tuscan" unique, the tranquility refreshing. But what made it even more special was the owner Sergio and Silvia "The Chef". Their kindness and wonderful hospitality are like no other. Sergio takes enormous pride of his "farm" and wants everyone to enjoy it as much as he does. His cousin Silvia is an accomplished Tuscan chef and we ate there whenever the kitchen was open on the selected days, outstanding! We are hesistant to write this review since we are going to return and we wish it was our special secret!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy and Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Il Cellese is located in the quiet countryside of Tuscany, offers excellent rooms, a cosy atmosphere and great views to soft rolling hills and wine stocks wherever you look. We spend a week there. Il Cellese was our luxurious "base camp" for sight seeing by car to Pisa, Lucca, Firenze, Sienna ... The owner, Sergio, took time to show and tell us in detail about his wine production. Il Cellese produces 50.000 bottles a year and we enjoyed a few in the evening, when we cooked meals ourselves in the spacious kitchen or went to Il Celleses restaurant, where Sylvia reigned in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
1.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
551 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cellese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cellese

Address: Loc. Il Cellese, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $100 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cellese estate is situated in the heart of the Chianti region, one of the most peculiar and emblematic places of the Tuscany countryside, between the cities of Siena and Firenze. The seven apartments are situated in a privileged position on top of a hill; the view is breathtaking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Cellese Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Il Cellese Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing