We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Martino Casa Landi
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is ok for one night. Would not stay there for a long period. Rooms are small and humid. Owner is helpful and nice. Quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    20
    12
    15
See reviews for
12
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Casa Landi was a little bit of dissapointment after visiting other agricultural casas in Italy - the houses where you stay are dispersed across the establishment territory, which is not united, features some shaggy facilities - plastic chairs and tables, grill, children playground, all very simplistic. No breakfast. I would say that it is good enough for a temporary camping site, but to feel the most beautiful Italian wineyard scenery or it's feel - not enough. The rooms are also pretty simplistically decorated. The reception was there during the day time, in the night - it is closed. They advised us a marvellous restaurant in Castellina.

We were lucky to live in the house by a small vineyard, so we had a view.
The trail to Castellina passes through a field with different bushes, which in the night is obviously very dark, otherwise - a pleasant walk of 20-30 minutes and you are in the centre of Castellina.

The town itself is marvellous!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IneseJurevica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Landi for three days during our Italian honeymoon. This place is less of a hotel and more of a community of small apartments that are off the beaten path. Sort of like camping in Tuscany but with all the comforts of being at home.

We rented a one bedroom apartment with kitchen. Although it was not the fanciest place we stayed it was definitely the most relaxing and comfortable part of our Italian honeymoon. We were able to shop at local markets and make our own dinners. There was a cute table on our front porch where we whittled away the evenings drinking wine and eating delicious local foods.

The young men who run this community were all very friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on places to see and what types of wine to buy. They also gifted us two bottles of wine they had made themselves during our stay.

The pool is really beautiful. A great place to tan and read.

The only not great thing about Casa Landi is that the reception is only open three hours a day during the afternoon. So if you have any questions or wish to check in earlier in the day it isn't really possible to get assistance. That said this was not a huge problem for us. It was an issue our first day there as we couldn't figure out how to turn on the gas stove but Cosmo came over the next day and helped us with it.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the pool. Those have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VrstaSira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had checked another area hotel/inn before discovering Casa Landi nearby on a side road. The former was significantly more expensive than the latter.

We spent two nights and found the by-the-pool accommodation (a quad room bungalow with shared kitchen) to be exactly what we needed/wanted! Very quiet and relaxing!

Great location close to town and services. WiFi was included and worked fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BardofMountbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Totally relaxing informal stay on the edge of Castellini. New single story bungalows divided into 4 apartments and an older farm house with 6 rooms, in a small working wine/olive oil property. Spacious grounds, very nice though not perfectly manicured, including a pleasant clean pool surrounded by flowers and scrubs looking out over the fields to the town. The apartments are large and spotless and have a full kitchen, well equipped for self catering from the local specialty food and produce stores. There’s a small garden area outside each apartment to eat outside and kick back in the sun.

A charming walk through the field (down then up, ¼ mile) brings you straight into town. Castellini is classic small Chianti market town, with a pedestrian center of traditional buildings and an old church but not a large Rennaissance old town.

Friendly people running the place, but only there for check in at specific times (3-6pm). Otherwise make other arrangements. Free bottle of wine and some pre-packaged breakfast items for the first morning, after that you go buy your own. Internet available, fast but connection did not always work. Overall, this is not a classy villa experience, but it is Tuscan farm country in the sun. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed and casual, if you don’t mind this you will love the place after 24 hours

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy7P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in San Martino Casa Landi last June together with our 3 children for 1 week.
We have had a perfect holiday. The rooms were perfectly cleaned and the garden with the plays for the children is very usefull. The view from the pool is great and it's very relaxing spend time close the pool.
The accommodation is family run and the family was very kind with us.
Casa Landi is close to Castellina, you can reach the town from a pathg in only 5 minutes walk.
We reccommend Casa Landi to all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofoklis_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We liked the setting of casalandi, but felt it was over priced as you didnt get breakfast, but there are similar if not better including breakfast. the bed was very hard and a definate shortage of pillows!!
When we stayed the weather took a dip, and the room was freezing cold, and when i went to ask for the heating to be put on the reception had gone home and the phone number didnt work. The man on site was available but didnt speak English, but we did get there in the end!
The free wifi, was a joke, it made for a frustrating evening as it only really worked in one spot in the room.

Room Tip: read the reviews and make your own mind up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harley033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#8 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
9.1 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#7 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martino Casa Landi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martino Casa Landi

Property: San Martino Casa Landi
Address: Localita San Martino 26, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Martino Casa Landi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and Apartments close to Castellina in Chianti. All the rooms have kitchen use and access to the beautiful swimming-pool. We have also wi-fi internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Martino Casa Landi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martino Casa Landi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing