We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and romantic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Martino Casa Landi
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Landi for three days during our Italian honeymoon. This place is less of a hotel and more of a community of small apartments that are off the beaten path. Sort of like camping in Tuscany but with all the comforts of being at home.

We rented a one bedroom apartment with kitchen. Although it was not the fanciest place we stayed it was definitely the most relaxing and comfortable part of our Italian honeymoon. We were able to shop at local markets and make our own dinners. There was a cute table on our front porch where we whittled away the evenings drinking wine and eating delicious local foods.

The young men who run this community were all very friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on places to see and what types of wine to buy. They also gifted us two bottles of wine they had made themselves during our stay.

The pool is really beautiful. A great place to tan and read.

The only not great thing about Casa Landi is that the reception is only open three hours a day during the afternoon. So if you have any questions or wish to check in earlier in the day it isn't really possible to get assistance. That said this was not a huge problem for us. It was an issue our first day there as we couldn't figure out how to turn on the gas stove but Cosmo came over the next day and helped us with it.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the pool. Those have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VrstaSira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had checked another area hotel/inn before discovering Casa Landi nearby on a side road. The former was significantly more expensive than the latter.

We spent two nights and found the by-the-pool accommodation (a quad room bungalow with shared kitchen) to be exactly what we needed/wanted! Very quiet and relaxing!

Great location close to town and services. WiFi was included and worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BardofMountbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Totally relaxing informal stay on the edge of Castellini. New single story bungalows divided into 4 apartments and an older farm house with 6 rooms, in a small working wine/olive oil property. Spacious grounds, very nice though not perfectly manicured, including a pleasant clean pool surrounded by flowers and scrubs looking out over the fields to the town. The apartments are large and spotless and have a full kitchen, well equipped for self catering from the local specialty food and produce stores. There’s a small garden area outside each apartment to eat outside and kick back in the sun.

A charming walk through the field (down then up, ¼ mile) brings you straight into town. Castellini is classic small Chianti market town, with a pedestrian center of traditional buildings and an old church but not a large Rennaissance old town.

Friendly people running the place, but only there for check in at specific times (3-6pm). Otherwise make other arrangements. Free bottle of wine and some pre-packaged breakfast items for the first morning, after that you go buy your own. Internet available, fast but connection did not always work. Overall, this is not a classy villa experience, but it is Tuscan farm country in the sun. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed and casual, if you don’t mind this you will love the place after 24 hours

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy7P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in San Martino Casa Landi last June together with our 3 children for 1 week.
We have had a perfect holiday. The rooms were perfectly cleaned and the garden with the plays for the children is very usefull. The view from the pool is great and it's very relaxing spend time close the pool.
The accommodation is family run and the family was very kind with us.
Casa Landi is close to Castellina, you can reach the town from a pathg in only 5 minutes walk.
We reccommend Casa Landi to all!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sofoklis_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We liked the setting of casalandi, but felt it was over priced as you didnt get breakfast, but there are similar if not better including breakfast. the bed was very hard and a definate shortage of pillows!!
When we stayed the weather took a dip, and the room was freezing cold, and when i went to ask for the heating to be put on the reception had gone home and the phone number didnt work. The man on site was available but didnt speak English, but we did get there in the end!
The free wifi, was a joke, it made for a frustrating evening as it only really worked in one spot in the room.

Room Tip: read the reviews and make your own mind up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harley033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We went with the tripadvisor reviews in selecting this place and we weren't disappointed. Our 3 kids of 11 and under loved the place as soon as they got out the car and went off exploring the open space in the casa's grounds. Swimming pool was even nicer than in the photos but weather wasn't really good enough. The hotel is located quite high up on a hill so make sure you have some warmer clothes even in June. There's a nice path across hilly fields to reach Castellina in Chianti on foot but you might need a torch to see your way back after dark on a cloudy night so would be a good thing to pack. Watch out for the spectactular firefly displays at night as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We had the best stay here during our trip to Tuscany. The location was perfect for us, a short stroll to the historic centres of Florence, Siena and San Gimignano yet quiet and peaceful at night. We both were very impressed from our first moments there at the attention to detail and personal touches that made us feel special and relaxed. The staff we great, the view from the pool inspiring and the rate exceptional. I wish I could come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
531 reviews
4.5 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#8 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
92 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martino Casa Landi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martino Casa Landi

Address: Localita San Martino 26, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $72 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Martino Casa Landi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and Apartments close to Castellina in Chianti. All the rooms have kitchen use and access to the beautiful swimming-pool. We have also wi-fi internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Martino Casa Landi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martino Casa Landi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing