We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best pastas I've ever had!”

La Taverna del Porto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best pastas I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Dropped by this wonderful place randomly on the way back to naples from sorrento. It was one of the few restaurants still open and even though the area wasn't exactly the nicest at night, I probably had some of the best italian food i've had in my life there that night.

We ordered 3 pastas and a pizza to share: Pasta ribbons in a cream sauce with mushrooms, spaghetti with capers, tomatoes and olives and frutti di mare (spaghetti with seafood). we had a marinara pizza.

the portions of pasta were huge and hearty and the pizza was cooked fresh in a stone oven. everything was presented perfectly and the waiters were so so friendly and helpful.

The highlight for me was the pasta, COOKED TO PERFECTION. Everything tasted great but i highly recommend the frutti di mare. a.ma.zing. The pasta was al dente and all the sauces were so flavourful.

The bill also only came up to 37 euros for the 3 of us, a large bottle of water and a bread basket included. super reasonable for everything that we got.

We liked it so much, we're driving all the way back there from Naples just so we can have more before we leave italy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marissa_dolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    116
    48
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best resturant in Cassteldemarre - forget the La Medusa - a far superior experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by fellow guests who were equally dissatisfied by the resturants hard sell & expensive alternative at the La Medusa. Here we found fresh, deliciously cooked fresh sea bass (€10). Good wine (€3 perglass) & above all a warm & friendly experience. The pizza was delicious too (we were given a free taster!) Perroni (€3). So excellent value as well. Whereas Sorrento resturants are overpriced, packed out & superficial in our opinion!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bellisima!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Rustic al fresco dining at it's best! Soak up real Italy with fine wine, buono beers, delicious pasta, fresh fish and pizzas like a mama makes! All this at a great price - we love it and went most nights entertained by the dynamic duo Leonardo & Damiano magnifico! Fantastico - si bambino!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattttttttttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That's amore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here twice now. Dinner last night ad lunch now. Will be back again for dinner tonight.
Friendly and fast service staff,
Simple menu but cheap. Eg amazing linguine with tomato capers and olives just 6 euro.
Also had the caponata: delicious crisp bread wafer topped with eggplant, onion anchovies and more. Zuppe Di cozze was amazing! Not really a soup but definitely one to mop up the juices wit the lovely crisp bread chunks soaking in the bottom. True nepolitan cuisine, no frills, rustic, but this kind of simple cooking takes real finesse. Still to try the pizza but It looks pretty authentic.
Wine is not a lot of choice if any, but both times I was very happy. A lightly sparkling falanghina for 10 euros perfect over lunch. And a chilled red for dinner.
Satisfied customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic local jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A fantastic meal and even better service from ALL members of staff even though I only spoke English. By far the best Italian food I have had in Italy and anywhere else for that matter, fresh, delicious and generous. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna del Porto also viewed

Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
 
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Taverna del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing