We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“La Medusa experience July 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Medusa experience July 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

La Medusa is a beautiful hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and the environment, service and food could not be faulted. We originally thought we would eat out but the surrounding neighborhood leaves something to be desired, so we upgraded to half board and didn't regret it. Breakfast and dinner on the terrace was idyllic and the pool was warm with plenty of room for all. The room (309) had a balcony and overlooked Vesuvius. We visited Pompeii one day but decided to just enjoy the hotel for the rest of the time. Probably not best located if you want a base to explore the Sorrento peninsular, but if you are looking for a few days of luxury I cannot recommend it highly enough. There are also 2 roman villas within walking distance which are a must see.

Room Tip: Rooms are rear of hotel overlook Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Pete,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand Hotel La Medusa with the TripAdvisor community and with us.

We are grateful for your words and we couldn't agree more about the beauty of our Hotel and how enjoyable the view is from here.Thank you for having acknowledged the intimate and romantic atmosphere that reigns supreme in this ancient mansion built in XIXth century as a private home, located in the heart of the city, few steps away from all major attractions, making it the ideal base for exploring the treasures and marvels of Sorrento Coast, Pompeii, Hercolaneum and the beautiful Villa Arianna and Villa San Marco.

We look forward to your renewed visit to our city and exclusive Hotel for another experience to treasure.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    233
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
286
696
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 7 fantastic days at this little paradise. From our first day we were more than pleasantly welcomed by the friendly staff waiting at reception, who kindly arranged for their shuttle bus to pick us lost Brits up from the centre of Castellammare. The shuttle bus driver, Stephano, all the staff at reception, the restuarant staff, the lovely lady in the spa and all the other members of staff who we met through out our stay we're friendly, professional and very knowledgeable about the entire area. We would recommend the hotel based on their expertise alone. But aside from the staff, the hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful, the gardens are stunning. The view from the top floor facing Mount Vesuvius is stunning any time of the day. The only couple of down fall's were that although we were told that the hotel had free WiFi throughout, we were barely able to get any connection in our room or by the pool. Also, breakfast was nice but it was very repetitive and we got quite bored towards the middle of our 7 days.

The hotel undoubtedly is a little paradise away from the busy bustling towns which is a plus of course after a long day exploring however it is a distance from the local station, choices of restaurants and shops. The shuttle bus does provide free services in the morning to the local train station which takes you either to Naples and Sorrento.

A couple of tips if you are planning on booking a stay at La Medusa, bare in mind the location of the hotel and be prepared to do a bit of travelling if you are with out a hire car. If you are with out a hire car we highly recommend you book a private car through the hotel to take you around the Amalfi coast which is truly a wonderful experience that must not be missed! The booking was pricey at €195 for 2 people however it is 6 hours worth with a pick up and drop off from the hotel door step and a visit to towns of your choice along the Amalfi coast and a time schedule of however you wish to plan up your day.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here it is a wonderful, well kept hotel and highly recommended for those who want to have a relaxing holiday.

Thank-You La Medusa, we hope to see you again one day.

Grace and Tom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Grace and Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand Hotel La Medusa with the TripAdvisor community and with us.

We are so happy to learn that you felt honoured thanks to the attitude of our wonderful and passionate team. Your appreciative comments will be shared with it.

We are grateful for your words and we couldn't agree more about the beauty of our Hotel.

With regards to your suggestion, please be informed that we have enhanced the WI-FI signal inside the hotel and in the next coming days the wireless Internet access will be available in the swimming pool area.

We look forward to your renewed visit to our city and exclusive Hotel for another experience to treasure.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a really beautiful hotel surrounded by gardens and stunning mountain views. If you want to relax, enjoy the large pool and good restaurant then you will be very happy. If you want to go sightseeing and visit the usual Grand Tour spots, then this is probably not the ideal hotel. Located 30 minutes walk outside the town of Castellammare, there is (apparently) no public transport - so you must take a taxi or walk through some shabby terrain. The hotel offers a shuttle service on demand which is expensive. They charge 10 Euros a head - which makes for very bad value compared to a taxi. There is also the problem of bad traffic congestion in the surrounding area, so waiting for the shuttle to come and collect you is not ideal. In Castellammare the local Circumvesuviana train is quite frequent and can prove a rewarding experience - particularly when meeting the locals! If you drive, take some Valium and bring entertaining company.
We (a dad and two kids aged 13 & 10 years) had a wonderful stay here. We enjoyed the pool, the restaurant service, and exotic breakfast presentation. It is truly a Grand Hotel on a small scale.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation and for having shared your wonderful feedback with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it is such a pleasure receiving compliments on the service delivered and learning that our team members were brilliant and capable in helping you throughout your stay.

With regards to your suggestion, please be informed that the hotel provides a free shuttle service to the train station/city centre 4 times a day.We also plesed to inform you that the price for a transfer to the train station/city centre, at different times, is € 10,00 per room and not per person.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the soonest future.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

An excellent hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff, who could not do enough for us. If driving beware there are no rules in Italy. The facilities at the hotel are excellent, and the food very good. We were half board which was just as well because there are not many places to eat close to the hotel, and without a car it must be difficult.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Allan,

Thank you for having selected The Grand Hotel La Medusa!!!!!!

We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful sojourn.

We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we made the reservarion we couldn' t imagine how beautiful would be this hotel. With a marvelous english garden, every place you look, you discover a new surprise. Staff excellent, dinner special, and the room fresh and clear! Unfortunetly was only one night!

Room Tip: With wiew to the garden and the Vesuvio volcan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SusanaKoszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear SusanaKos,

It is always such a pleasure receiving kind notes and reading lovely comments and appreciations.

Your expertise and knowledge of our hotel clearly appears through your kind note, describing The Grand Hotel La Medusa in great detail. Thank you very much for having shared it with the readers of this site.


We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future!

Yours sincerely,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

An excellent hotel with highly professional, courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. The gardens are beautiful and all areas of the hotel are maintained to a very high standard. Evening meals were excellent. Breakfast was a little boring and could be improved just by having a selection of fresh bread/rolls (same white baguette rolls served at breakfast and evening meals every day) plus the same with the ham & cheese. Even a few tomatoes with the fruit would be nice, although I do appreciate Italian breakfasts are usually sweet. The hotel, which I understand was a private villa, is in a very unlikely area for a hotel, but once inside the grounds the views and surrounding mountains make it a very special place. If you are a beach lover, this is not an ideal location and the local town is not renowned for tourism. However, Naples etc are within easy reach and Amalfi is about an hour's drive. Ravello in the hills above Amalfi should not be missed. Would return for a short break because of the high standard of customer care.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the side of the hotel with a view over Bay of Naples. However, beware the noisy coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 1306Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Shirley,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation and for having shared your wonderful feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased that The Grand Hotel La Medusa was your inspiration!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it is such a pleasure receiving compliments on the service delivered and learning that our team members were brilliant and capable in helping you throughout your stay.

With regards to your suggestion, please be informed that the most beautiful beaches in the area can be reach by train in 5 minutes and the hotel provides a free shuttle service to the train station. We do our best to prevent any discomfort to our clients related to the beach distance.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to your “inspiring” hotel in the soonest future.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had to most amazing stay. Hotel is gorgeous, the food is amazing and the staff are fabulous. We were totally spoilt by everyone, they are all so attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is located close to lots of sites but you do have to drive to these so beware of the Italian drivers, they can be quite erratic. All in all a holiday destination that is definitely recommended xx

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Lisa,

It’s a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, enjoying the various services.

The location is indeed a peaceful one but so centrally located that it makes it convenient for most activities in the area.


Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellammare Di Stabia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Manfredi
Relais Manfredi
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stabia
Hotel Stabia
#9 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Property: La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing