We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

stayed here for two nights whilst visiting pompei and erocolano. staff were very attentive and helpful. restaurant food was very good...quite pricey though...
Naples is a little run down in areas so this hotel was like an oasis!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear valid guest,

The management and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa would like to thank all our customers for the trust and for having contributed to our success this year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013! "

See you soon...

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa 4 star - Irollo Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    243
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
299
751
19
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for one night before visiting Pompeii. We received a very warm welcome, and had a relatively small but very comfortable room. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed excellent, professional service and some delicious food and wine. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Hotel Manager Assistant at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear our Guest,

Thank You so much for spending your time in writing such a lovely review about your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa!!
Please, keep in mind that our Hotel is open to its precious guests all the year round… so, contact us any time if you wish to taste the wide range of services and facilities we offer…
Looking forward to having you here again in the future for a longer, unique & unforgettable stay… we send you our kindest regards.

Jolanda Anna Landolfi - Hotel Manager Assistant, Francesco Donnarumma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A complete hidden treasure, amazing staff, gorgeous views, delicious food and a small paradise at night. After taking a wrong turn or two I found myself greeted by warm and friendly staff who immediately made me feel at home. A last minute massage request granted, guide booked for Pompeii and an upgraded room! Nothing bad to say other than two nights there would have been better than one!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystery77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear valid guest,

The management and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa would like to thank all our customers for the trust and for having contributed to our success this year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013! "

See you soon...

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa 4 star - Irollo Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Make no mistake La Medusa Grand Hotel is paradise. We recently stayed here on our honeymoon, we only wish we could have stayed longer. Please be advised I used a sat nav to find the hotel, the sat nav takes you to the end of the street outside a restaurant called IL Gambero, don't panic the hotel is about 400m further along Via Passeggiata Archeologica on the right. We turned thought the huge white gates and drove up the beautiful driveway to a fountain at the end, to be greeted by Francesco the hotel manager a true gentleman. With a frendily smile he welcomed us into the hotel, after a quick and painless checkin we left our bags. We had arrived early so our room was not quite ready, so Francesco took us fo a tour of the hotel, gardens and pool. It is an truly amazing place, he left us to grab a cool lemon ice drink (made with local lemons from Gragnano) and relax in the gardens. Within 15 minutes one of the hotel staff came and found us to say our room was ready, we were shown to our room. We opened the door to find our bags in the room, we walked into a large air conditioned room with a terrace overlooking the front gardens and fountain. We unpacked and relaxed. We returned downstairs, obtained a free wifi code and Francesco informed us there was a wedding today in their function room (on the 4th floor) but not to worry, but tomorrow we should check out the view from the terrace on the top floor.

We spent the next 5 days site seeing from this location and relaxing around the pool, all of Francesco's staff were so friendly and helpful. They even photocopy the front pages of american and english news papers everyday for hotel guests to take. The restaurant food was fantastic and the service was 1st class, as was the breakfast 'a veritable feast'. Francesco is a font of local knowledge, with advice on the local area from restaurants to tourist attractions.

We would like to say we were not affected by the wedding party at all, we would like to thank Francesco and all of his staff for making our stay so special. We will definatley return to La Medusa and would recommend it to anyone looking for paradise in Southern Italy.

Grazie Mille

Mr & Mrs Boyle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear valid guest,

The management and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa would like to thank all our customers for the trust and for having contributed to our success this year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013! "

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our group of seven from Geneva and Paris included two elderly ladies who have traveled in the most exclusive hotels and locations their whole lives, a couple and their two children who lived in Hong Kong and traveled throughout Asia, and myself. All of us know exactly what a great hotel is about.
And we know it has nothing to do with the amount of stars, it has to do with something very personal, a sense of hospitality, of wanting to do anything possible to make you feel more nurtured and cared for. It means they will go out of their way to make you happy.
The Grand Hotel La Medusa has a happy soul, and a very charming director, who welcomes you with a bow and elegantly kisses your hand - if you are a lady that is !
When you return from a long day in the ruins of Pompei you will hear him say " Welcome back home !" And the whole staff is just like him, smiling, warm, extremely courteous.
One feels in a nest.

The gardens are sublime, I met the owner who is an elderly gentleman who obviously has a passion for his gardens, and it shows.
There are many different corners scattered throughout the gardens where one can be completely alone and read in peace in quiet, you only need to look at pictures all over the net to get a sense of what it was like. Note that I thought the pictures I had seen before did not do justice to this place. It is much more beautiful than its pictures.

The decoration is very tasteful and, the staff warm and happy to see you at all times, the service is that of a 5 stars with the warmth of a family owned hotel.
I can only but warmly recommend this wonderful hideaway, as for us we will be back next year !

From all of us : ancora vi ringraziamo per quest'incantevole settimana ! A l'anno prossimo !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear my valid guest,
Dear Mrs. Mr. Terry and splendid family,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I was delighted that we met your expecations in so many ways.
It was our/my pleasure to look after you during this really amazing time in Stabiae and give you every evening my " welcome back at home". (sincere)...

Please do let me know when you plan to return to us and I will be welcoming you back personally....

Grazie mille ci vediamo l'anno prossimo...:)

My kindest regards from Stabiae,

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manger

and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa - 4 stars - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I took our very first vacation to Italy and this was our first stop on our trip and I can't even begin to express what an amazing experience it was. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the warmest staff imaginable. I can not express enough how warm the staff at this hotel was and how it was consistent throughout our stay. (From the maid service to the bartender or even the hotel driver everyone greeted us with such warmth and was more than glad to help us with whatever we needed.) Another wonderful experience was our room, which was bumped from a deluxe room to a junior suite due to some sort of overbooking on the hotels part. The pool was beautiful and looked exactly like the photos we saw on the hotels website (which is usually not the case with most hotels.) In fact the entire hotel looked like the photos seen on line. How refreshing it was to be in a hotel that provided its guests with an accurate account of what you are paying for. Furthermore, the back rooms of the hotel face Mt. Vesuvius and the golf of Naples, which made for a breathtaking sunrise and sunset each morning and evening. The neighborhood wasn't actually Naples, which worked out well for us and is good to know since Naples may not be the nicest neighborhood in the south. However if you are looking to head out to Capri and Pompeii, as we did then this place is perfectly situated for your stay in the south. My husband and I truly can not wait to head back to this luxurious and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: book a room facing the back of the hotel so you can really enjoy the beauty of mt. Vesuvius and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandimark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear my valid guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such glowing feedback following your recent stay with us.
I was delighted that you found the service and overall experience of staying with us a positive and an amazing one!!!

I really do hope that when you come back to Italy wll join us once , once, once... again.
a second or third or more vacation in Italy are possible and always beautiful ... ...and you are always welcome..at Grand Hotel La Medusa.

Best regards from Stabiae,

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manger

and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa - 4 stars - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well where do I start?!!!
This is more like a 5* hotel. From the minute you drive through the ornate iron gated entrance, you are visually promised luxury. Our 35 years experience of traveling and staying at some of the worlds luxury hotels (including The Ritz London, Sandals Barbados and Raffles Singapore) we were impressed by the warmth, professional welcome and privacy afforded to both of us - without the stuffiness. The friendly, helpful and professional nature of Francesco, the hotel manager, is reflected throughout the staff team. The hotel and its grounds are outstanding and impeccable, the views are phenomenal, the food is abundant and delicious, the rooms look and smell wonderful and the atmosphere is calm. We stayed for a week and saw all the highlights of the Almalfi coast.The hotel was a retreat away from the soaring 35 degree busy tourist centres where we were able to go back to a haven of beautiful gardens,cocktails and a cool swimming pool. A great place for weddings, singles, couples young and old alike as well as families. This hotel is one we will definitely return to even just for a long weekend. During our stay we noticed a small sign "a good man is the sum of his actions" and this summed up why our stay at the hotel was so enjoyable. Francesco is an excellent manager and has created a wonderful hotel. We wish to take this opportunity to thank Francesco and his staff for our time spent at La Medusa.

Thank you all!
from Tim and Gloria Condon
August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mr Tim and Mrs. Gloria,
Dear my valid guest,

I was really happy to read your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was so delighted that you and your wife enjoyed such a special occasion "your holiday" with us and that you had a wonderful stay with us....

I was so happy to read "nice, nice words on me...." and that you liked all the little attentions (.....ans small sign.....)..and we provide for our guests .

I have passed on your very kind words to all my great team....

I do hope that you will join us once again soon and thank you for passing on your thoughts to your friends and family.......and at internet world through tripadvisor...and more:)

Dear Tim and dear Gloria kind regards from ...Italy's secret tropical hideaway

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa - 4 stars- Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellammare Di Stabia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
#6 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Elisabetta
Hotel Elisabetta
#7 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stabia
Hotel Stabia
#10 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Property: La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing