We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, welcoming staff, nice rooms and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Terre Gialle
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Terre Gialle is a beautifully renovated building with very nice, well maintained grounds. The host was very kind and welcoming, and clearly no expense was spared in the renovation as the quality is excellent. It is extremely peaceful and picturesque. It was about a 3 hour drive from Rome (we rented a car at Termini Station). A great weekend getaway. If driving from Rome, don't bother with the coastal route - it is not scenic and was much slower.
Terre Gialle is close to numerous ancient hilltop cities which were fun to explore. Archidosso and Montelaterone were charming. Castel del Piano has everything you need (2 grocery stores, bakeries, etc.) and several charming squares with fountains and benches. Mount Amiata is a nice drive with pleasant restaurants at the top (still had snow in late April!).
Note that there was no TV, microwave, toaster, clothes washer, iron, etc. It's very minimalist and the room was not particularly comfortable for lounging, but that forced us to get out in the fresh air, which was good. We had read reviews which warned us that no food is available on site, so we stopped in Castel del Piano on our way and stocked up at the grocery. A highchair and cot were provided, which was very nice.
The only con: the steps to the bedroom loft were very steep and seemed a bit slippery, and I was nervous carrying my infant up and down, and worried about my 2-year old falling down. In the end, nothing bad happened and all was well. We put the 2-year old in the cot to ensure he wouldn't fall down the steps in the night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Residence Terre Gialle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Stanze ampie, la 25 e' perfetta
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgioS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Arnaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank dibapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Badesina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel Del Piano
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Impero Spa & Resort
Grand Hotel Impero Spa & Resort
#2 of 4 in Castel Del Piano
196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Spa & Resort
Park Hotel Spa & Resort
#1 of 2 in Arcidosso
226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
#1 of 4 in Castel Del Piano
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Aurora
Piccolo Hotel Aurora
#3 of 16 in Abbadia San Salvatore
240 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
667 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lorena
Hotel Lorena
#2 of 2 in Arcidosso
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Terre Gialle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Terre Gialle

Address: Loc. Terre Gialle nr.1, 58033, Castel Del Piano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castel Del Piano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Castel Del Piano
Price Range: $86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Terre Gialle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Terre Gialle is in Castel del Piano, in splendid Tuscany, below Monte Amiata, an area visited by tourists from all over the world every year wanting to visit one of the most beautiful, uncontaminated, exciting areas of this region from a historical-cultural, artistic, eno-gastronomic and landscape point of view.Surrounded by a private, six hectare ca. park, completely fenced in with its own natural lake, the complex’s comfortable, independent, finely furnished apartments offer visitors a typically Tuscan welcoming atmosphere.Guests have the use of private parking areas, sports plants including swimming pool with its own hydro-massage area, children's play area and solarium equipped with sun-beds and beach umbrellas, a polyvalent court for tennis, volley ball and 5-a-team football, bowls and a relaxation area.Ideal for couples and families, the Residence offers guests a way to escape daily stress in a charming environment that has preserved all its natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Terre Gialle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Terre Gialle Castel Del Piano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing