We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pearl”
other travelers have booked this property
The Villas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villas
Sunset at Podernuovo Montegiovi from Podernuovo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Villas
Sunset at Podernuovo
Montegiovi from Podernuovo
The Villas
Casa Vecchia
Casa Vecchia
Casa Vecchia
View from Casa Vecchia Bedroom
Casa Vecchia Kitchen/Living Room
Casa Vecchia Kitcehn
Casa Vecchia Living Room
Casa Vecchia Bedroom
Casa Vecchia Bathroom
Casa Vecchia
Il Seccatoio
Il Seccatoio
Fountain
Il Seccatoio
Il Seccatoio Living Room
Il Seccatoio Kitchen
Il Seccatoio Bedroom
Il Seccatoio Living Room
Il Seccatoio
Il Seccatoio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castel Del Piano, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Pearl”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

There are only 3 places in the world where I had a rest 3 times and more. 2 out of them are my grandparents homes. 3rd place is Podernuovo. As usual everything was perfect. It is a real pearl. Thanks Alvina and Umberto!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2018
Thank you Ivan - we are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Podernuovo again. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Alvina & Umberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore66...
1 review
“A wonderful gem in Tuscany!”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I came here for 4 days with my husband to get some R&R after a trip to Rome and we were blown away by the amazingness of this place. Umberto and Alvina are the nicest and most welcoming people and made us feel comfortable right from the start. They know everything about the area and gave us so many great recommendations and helped plan our stay with as much or as little as we wanted to do. They also hosted a pizza night and we felt like we were chatting with old friends .... not to mention Umberto's cooking!!! The views are spectacular from their property- words just can't do this property justice, the town is a short walk, the delicious wine we drank (that they gave us) was made on their property, and we enjoyed their fresh fruits growing on the property too.
We stayed in the Il Seccatoio villa, which had a kitchen and outside grill that made it easy to do our own cooking , light a fire, and enjoy.
I only wish we could have stayed longer! We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Thanks for the great review - we loved reading your story as to how you found us and Umberto is thrilled that you enjoyed his wine as well as his cooking! Would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyS490...
1 review
“We will be back!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful is the word that comes to mind. Everything about our stay was lovely. Alvina and Umberto have prepared an exquisite home to stay in while enjoying the beautiful cold try side of Tuscany. Their pizza dinner, wine, garden, natural spring, vineyard and hospitality are all perfect. We will definitely return soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thanks for coming to visit. You were the perfect guests and we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron82
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perefct Tuscan Holiday”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having stayed at the property some years ago, there was no question as to where we would stay for our most recent Tuscan holiday. We had very relaxing time at Podernuovo and the fresh Tuscan air coupled with the majestic views of the valley proved restorative. Seasonal fresh produce from garden was waiting for us everyday and the kitchen was stocked with staples such as olive oil, wine and freshly cooked bread. Alvina and Umberto are very accommodating and always on standby for tips on day trips or recommendations for the perfect trattoria to enjoy some local cuisine. We were lucky to enjoy two home cooked meals with the hosts with all the produce coming straight from the farm. The villas have been tastefully restored and are conveniently located near Castel del Piano, a beautiful Tuscan town that offers everything you need. If the sun is out and the weather clement I'd recommend a sundowner by the grotto - it's the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the spectacular property. This was our second visit but like last time, we left wanting to stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire m
1 review
“"Relax, eat, talk endlessly about food, drink local wine, walk to walled villages... "”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A return visit for us, Podernouvo was even more beautiful with the lavender, grape vines and olive trees flourishing against the background of natural stone.

From a welcoming meal when freshly picked produce topped pizzas which were cooked in the original pizza oven and served with Umberto's (Barry's) wine; to drinks near the spring to watch the sunset on our last evening, our stay held many pleasures.

Some of the many choices involved relaxing with a book at our own villa, exploring the farm to say hi to the donkeys, or maybe driving to nearby destinations such as Sienna, the skiing fields of Mount Amiata or perhaps a truffle hunting excursion.

Our regular uphill walk to the nearby hilltop village of Castel del Piano - past the sheep enclosure, the cherry and apricot trees ladened with fruit inviting us to pick and eat, was rewarded by the expansive view over the fertile valley, taking in other walled hilltop villages. And of course the pleasure of excellent coffee, wine or perhaps gelato, enjoyed alfresco at our favourite cafe.

At midday, all the church bells ring together and metal doors clank, heralding the end of the morning trading and the beginning of siesta so it's back downhill to rest.

A wonderful environment in which to be Italian for a while, made special by Alvina and Umberto's hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buysluget
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“This beautiful hillside haven with its sweeping panorama of the surrounding country, mountain top villages and green val”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Unbelievable!

Podernuovo was all that we were expecting of Tuscany and then so much more. This beautiful hillside haven with its sweeping panorama of the surrounding country, mountain top villages and green valleys is simply stunning. We hardly bothered to leave the place as we could simply soak in the total Tuscan experience from here. Only bettering this was the amazingly warm and generous hospitality of our hosts, Alvina and Umberto.

From the very first minute it was such an embracing experience - nothing was too much trouble.
Umberto's welcoming home made pizzas, bread and wine are to die for! Alvina's delicious quince and walnut cake, jams, fresh vegetables - all from the property - well, wow! You name it they have it, donkeys, sheep, chickens, grapes, wine, olives, walnuts, quinces, figs, vegetables and much, much more - all reared, grown right on the property. Truly breathtaking.

The very private, beautifully comfortable accomodation matches perfectly - just everything is provided.

Absolutely fabulous all round - impossible to see how one can have a better Tuscan experience.

So sad to leave. But we'll be back!

PS, if you ask nicely Umberto may show you how to make the best sourdough bread you've tasted!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBla...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Time in Tuscany is the perfect place to stay. The hosts are delightful andmake you very welcome. With the farm animals, fresh produce from the farm, fresh bread, drinks at the spring you really don't need to go anywhere. But there are also places to visit and Alvina & Umberto will guide you to the best places.

Thank you for a wonderful 5 days, we hope we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing