We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel near Caserta Vecchia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caserta Antica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caserta Antica
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Caserta
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel near Caserta Vecchia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in mid-June. It was a perfect place to stay for a visit to the medieval walled town of Caserta Vecchia. Our room was of decent size, clean, good AC and a nice small patio overlooking the beautiful pool. The shower in the bathroom was small but serviceable. The hairdryer was a challenge to work as it was partly a hairdryer and partly a small heater for the bathroom; we never quite figured out how it worked. The pool is large and clean and has lots of nice pool furniture around it. They offered to serve dinner out by the pool both nights that we were there; it was a very romantic place to enjoy a meal. The breakfast was simple but adequate, coffee made to order, fresh fruit, croissants, yogurt, juice. Parking our car was a little bit of a challenge - either leave it on the street where others had parked or try to squeeze it into one of the small spaces available down near the pool. We elected the more spacious street parking, even though the car was blocking part of the road. Our only disappointment was the very poor wi-fi service. Even when I took my iPad out to the hallway where the router was situated, I couldn't get the service to work.

The walk into Caserta Vecchia was less than 10 minutes. We had a nice dinner there on the evening that we didn't eat at the hotel. A word of warning - our car's GPS was guiding us up and into the old walled part of the town. DO NOT drive in the old town unless you enjoy the challenge of small narrow cobblestone streets. Park your car on the outskirts and walk in.

We enjoyed being up in the hills away from all the hubbub of Caserta and Naples. It was an easy drive to the autostrada. We went to Herculaneum one day without any problem.

On Saturday evening, Caserta Vecchia comes alive with locals. By 9 pm all the restaurants were really busy, including the very nice restaurant in the Hotel Caserta Antica.

The owner of the hotel was always around overseeing what was going on at the hotel and its restaurant. We got the feeling that he really wanted everyone to enjoy themselves. He spoke a little English but most of the staff was primarily limited to their native language so it was helpful that one of us spoke a reasonable amount of Italian.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as the other side faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    76
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
53
69
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Sublime hilltop location clean, quiet rooms, good restaurant, convenient to 12c historic centre. Would stay again. Very friendly. Parking. Swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Don't be discouraged by the location. True, it's away from the downtown and Reggia caserta, but it's quiet and quite relaxing.
Just make sure your room is on floor 1 or 0 if you want the wireless Internet connection.
There's also a nice pool outside, and a small play area for young kids...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supercazzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

We did not want to stay in Naples, so picked Caserta to stay the night. First, the hotel is not in Caserta it is 20+ minutes from the A3 and northeast of Caserta on some very small, unmarked roads. The hotel is not in a tourist area and next door is a large concrete building that is in disrepair. Booking.com lists the hotel as having a resturant and we could "choose from a wide range of local dishes" . . but we were told that there was no resturant for dinner, only breakfast. My husband came down later and asked where the local pizzarria was and they happily pointed the way.
The room was average size with average to poor furnishings. The desk would wobble when you set something on it other than the tiny TV. There was curtain hardware on the wall over the bed, but nothing on them. Nothing on the walls at all . . .no picture, painting, etc. The shower had good pressure, but if you looked up you saw mold all over the ceiling.
The linens were nice and bed was average. Being that it was off season . .the family living in the hotel was bit noisy. The children would run and up and down the empty corridors and once even banged on our door. Management quickly took care of the problem and the rest of the night was quiet.
Breakfast was nice with warm croissants, cereal, yogurt, and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalyRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caserta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Caserta
Hotel Royal Caserta
#1 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plana Hotel
Plana Hotel
#2 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Vanvitelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Plaza Caserta
2.6 mi away
Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta
2.8 mi away
Hotel Europa Caserta
Hotel Europa Caserta
#9 of 16 in Caserta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caserta Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caserta Antica

Property: Hotel Caserta Antica
Address: via Tiglio 75 Sommana, 81020, Caserta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Caserta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Caserta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caserta Antica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the hillside above Caserta, 15 minutes' drive away, Hotel Caserta Antica enjoys a peaceful, panoramic location between 2 medieval villages. Sunbathe by the large outdoor pool. Caserta Antica Hotel is a pleasant 15-minute walk from Caserta Vecchia, and just a few steps from Sommana, a charming, old village. After admiring its historic buildings, eat out at one of the pizzerias here, where you can enjoy lovely views over the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Caserta Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing