We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The four stars must be in place of four certain letters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vanvitelli
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Caserta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Utterly, utterly appalling.

Broken loos, tiny, cold rooms, no TV, dodgy wifi, dirty shower heads, cold, scrambled eggs and congealed bacon. Add to that, the messing up of bookings, over charging by days (plural), not accepting credit cards, not even *knowing* where the nearest bureau de change was, not allowing guests to use the hotel bar because of a 'private' booking... I could go on, but frankly, I'd rather forget the whole sorry experience.

Recommened it to a friend? You must be joking. I wouldnt recommened it to an enemy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devisome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2009

Very nice hotel & very kind staff, rate was really low (only 80,00 euro for two people with breakfast !) but they should be more carefull in the cleaning.
We had a room with a nice terrace Great hot & cold breakfast !
I was amazed when I saw a lot of people taking away food from breakfast room !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 14, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

I´ve returned yesterday from a short one-night trip to southern italy.
Arrived by plane in Naples. Take care on the way from the airport by car, the right direction is to motorway A3 RO (means Roma) - SA (means Salerno), the tangenziale direction centro is the wrong way.
The hotel is 10 to 15 minutes from the airport, use the Caserta sud exit from the A1 direction Roma, directly on the main road to Caserta centro.
First I was not impressed when I arrived, the location surrounded by a large industrial area and near the motorway. I thought about how to sleep well this night. But no problem, the hotel was good maintained for this sort of thing. My room, second level, facing the southwestern side, sunny and warm but also the motorway side has a soundproofed window and I slept very well, really more than I want for this short trip and my timetable.
It´s like a oasis, a water fountain in the garden area, a typical
historic grand hotel building, a impressive hotel lobby,
the staff friendly, no time to wait for check in when I arrived at
1 pm.
The room large and nice decorated, spotless clean, the bathroom without a bath-tub but with a special shower cabin for massage shower also, ok so far.
No noise from the rooms beneath.
Breakfast was buffet style in the building beneath, not that much details, but all what I need early in the morning.
Above average for a italian breakfast.
Booking was done through HRS, a german hotel-consolidator, 85.--EUROs B&B, also ok.
My main target for this trip was Pompeji, around 20 minutes by car, Caserta itself has its own attraction, the Reggia di Caserta,
my other target for saturday only minutes away.
The Vanvitelli is not the place for a pool vacation, but absolutely ok as a central hotel for sightseeing in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

Ideally situated at the junction of the A1 and A30 autostradas - perfect for stopover between north and southern Italy or for those wishing to visit Naples without staying in the city. (Perfect also if you have hire car as I understand companies are not too happy about taking hire cars into Naples). Immediate area may not please everyone as this is an industrial/commercial area but the standards in the Vanvitelli more than make up for this! Room was large, newly decorated, spotlessly clean, underfloor heating/air conditioning dependant on time of year. Breakfast exceptionally good. Altogether, very good value for money. We notified hotel of our expected late arrival - this was not a problem, in fact we were given very clear instructions - via email - how to contact and access hotel as the security gates are obviously locked during the night. Very secure hotel. Will definately return and recommend to friends and family who will be making the same journey in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CostieraAmalfitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2005

I' ve been four times during autumn 2004, everytime for a week or so for business.
The hotel is really beautiful, the lobby is splendid, front desk people very polite and quick in check-in and check-out, the rooms magnificent and pretty quiet in spite of the location of some right at the motorway.
We had often dinner at the roof garden restaurant and we were completely satisfied about the food, the quality/price rate and the politeness of waiters.
But what we found exceptional, one of the best ever tried, is the breakfast buffet with all kind of fresh pastry and all you can dream of in the morning.
The ambience is rich and pompous in its neoclassical style but warm, if you are looking of something simple, please choose another place.

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

We stayed at the Vanvitelli for 3 nights in August 2005 & I must say it’s an absolutely brilliant hotel although the front of the hotel looks over the main A1 motorway it didn't detract what a great hotel this is. if you want a nice quite stay in a classy hotel then this is the one for you, it’s just full of class, from all the furniture in the hotel to the statues, waterfalls & swimming pool, although the breakfast was the normal run of the mill continental it was still very nice, the restaurant on the top floor was excellent & we had one of our best meals in Italy in the 2 weeks we were there, the staff were very friendly & helpful, this would be a great hotel for honeymooners who would like some great pictures & a classy hotel, by the way great little restaurant right next door to the hotel in the side road. agree with one of the other posts about the staff, when asked if there was a cash point near by we was told we have to drive into caserta, about a 10 min drive, needless to say we found one about 300 yards down the road!

Stayed: August 2005
3  Thank paulkalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caserta hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Caserta
Hotel Royal Caserta
#1 of 15 in Caserta
1,256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plana Hotel
Plana Hotel
#2 of 15 in Caserta
503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Caserta Sud
Novotel Caserta Sud
#7 of 15 in Caserta
581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina
Villa Maria Cristina
#5 of 15 in Caserta
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Plaza Caserta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vanvitelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Address: Viale Carlo III, 81100, Caserta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Caserta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caserta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caserta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caserta
#4 Business Hotel in Caserta
Price Range: $88 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vanvitelli 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Vanvitelli is an hotel symbol of Caserta and it become a reference point for tourists, artists and businessmen. Unexpected openings and airy spaces, large meeting rooms and 240 rooms in a big park-pool. The Grand Hotel Vanvitelli is the royal residence, with all comforts and a perfect hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Vanvitelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Caserta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing