We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask before you go there!”

La Reggia di Caserta
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.75*
and up
Caserta Royal Palace Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 83 things to do in Caserta
Certificate of Excellence
Silkeborg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ask before you go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

When we visited the palace the lady at the ticket counter could tell us that it was 'closed today'
The lady was not able to tell us which days it would be open, just that it was closed some days a week. Advertised as a big tourist attraction we found it strange that it was closed on a Wednesday in the middle of the summer. We traveled quite far to see the palace.
As we didn't get in, we can not tell if the palace is good or bad, but the service and the information is not good. If you plan to visit, be sure to call first so that you know if they like visitors that day or not.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank xglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,513
    1,420
    623
    304
    258
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This palace is literally located in the middle of nowhere. When you walk out of the little train station, the palace is right there in front of you. It doesn't seem to be a very popular destination. Maybe because compared to the other sights in Italy, this one is relatively very "new". Many rooms of the palace have the original furnishing which is interesting to see. Some rooms are used to exhibit paintings of that period. There were also a couple of other expositions going on in the palace and they were covered by the basic ticket. But the gardens are actually the reason I would consider going back to Caserta. The walk is not easy, especially in the summer months.. about 6 km to the waterfall and back. If you turn off the main road into the woods, you can also see a large swimming pool and the English Gardens which are absolutely amazing. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to see everything. Also, bring some food. We finished in the afternoon and had a really hard time finding any restaurant that was open. Bring a bottle to fill at the drinking fountains in the gardens.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Revision of review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just adding read review and thought thats a bit short.The gardens are beautiful with fountains and waterfalls but it is a good 3 km walk to the large manmade waterfall at the top.They do have buses going up there but you miss a lot of the scenary taht way and you get packed in like sardines.They also have horse and carraige for a more relaxed travel.The english garden runs down the side and again a good 2-3 km long but they are truly worth the walk.The inside of the palace is stunning,ceilings look as though they were painted last week,the colours are so vibrant.As I said the large stairs were used in Starwars The Phantom Menace.The only problem we had was finding our way out of the underground car park to the palace,even the locals had problems but the palace and gardens were fantastic.We visited in Oct 11 and paid 16 euros for both the palace and the gardens.If I remember correctly the palace on its own was 11 euros.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbloke666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEAUTY UNDER A MIST OF DUST”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Palace is beasutiful but, sadly, it is not well kept. Hisorically it is a gem, but if the management is lacking it takes away the verve of the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sengleana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Historical Gem... but going to the dogs..Alas!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thursday 26th July I visited this grand palace, which is known to be the Italian Versailles!!! Well... it is beautiful, it was grand, it is huge and the treasures in it are priceless!! But alas, the Region of Campania should take MORE care of this jewel. Most rooms are dusty, and it shows that it's not cared for. A great pity!! I know it needs huge sums to keep it as Versailles is kept, but is it possible for the Italian government to overlook such a means of touristic gain!!!??? All Italy is a cultural treasure, why is |Rome so beautifully kept whereas this historical gem is not?????????? Is it the stigma of the south??? The government should be ashamed... come on pull your socks up and have a GOOD PRO all over the world so that people will visit more, and the money used for its upkeep!!!
Come on Neopolitans!!! Get moving!!!

From Malta

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sengleana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reggia di Caserta also viewed

Caserta, Province of Caserta
 
Caserta, Province of Caserta
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Reggia di Caserta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing