We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“room disappointing but resort and staff were great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta delle Ripalte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenuta delle Ripalte
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
arundel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“room disappointing but resort and staff were great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had paid for a superior room, which we did find disappointing. Very basic furnishing and window other than that through the glass in our door. This made it feel very claustrophobic. This was room 108. Avoid it at all costs. Bathroom was a good size, though, but overall it felt cell like due to no window and no view. There is a variety of accommodation in the resort so i'm sure it's possible to get a better room. However, for the money we spent £250 p/night it was very basic accommodation. We did complain and to be fair they offered to move us for the last two nights (we were only there for 4), but given that we couldn't be moved immediately, you lose incentive to move later. They only negative was that the staff didn't chase us up to move us on the set day and when we didn't go back to reception they were happy to leave us in the original room.

However, the staff in general were very good. The facilities seemed great (yoga, tennis, bikes, riding, swimming pool). We can't comment on these in any detail as we didn't use them, given that we were there for only 4 days. There was however, a small supermarket in the resort which was great - with fresh bread and pizzas at night - this seemed very popular with those staying with families. The restaurant in the hotel - was good, but not amazing value. Breakfast was 14 euros a head and was basic italian fare - cake, pastries, juice, cheese and ham. I've had much better. I would recommend going to the supermarket and buying some fresh bread and jam. In fact, if i was going again, I'd stop at one of the big supermarkets on the way up to the resort and stock up.

The best beach was Calanova - secluded and had a fantastic restaurant (open at 12.30 for lunch and later for dinner) - we ate there every day at lunch and never had a bad meal, and a cheaper bar which served more basic food from about 10am.

the lifequard keeps the beach spotlessly clean and you can rent two beds for 25 euros including a bottle of water. You can rent pedal boats. Recommend taking a snorkel and shoes to wear in the water. Water is crystal clear and very clean.

It's is true that the resort is at the top of a hill and accessible by car only. Equally that the beaches are a long walk if on foot and an easy bike ride down, but a killer bike ride up. I would definitely recommend hiring a car at Pisa airport, driving to Piombino to catch the ferry and then drive to hotel (about 30-40 mins) though you do need your wits about you. At the roundabout at the top of Capoliveri you take the 3rd exit and folllow this road all the way to the top. the tarmac gives way to unsurfaced road and spectacular views. It is quite wide, but not for the faint - hearted. It is ok if you take it easy and look ahead for other cars. I am used to mountainous roads, but I have to admit to feeling a little uneasy at times. we managed it fine in our hired fiat 500. The resort does offer shuttle buses to the beach, but a car is a real bonus as it gives you freedom to explore. After days on the beach we drove off to Portoferraio and had a delicious meal at a local restaurant a short walk from the port, called Enoteca Gustavino. The host was fabulous and the food was incredible in terms of taste and value. We both had seafood antipasti to start with (including anchovies, octopus and mussels). I had spaghetti with clams and chilli (the best) and my husband had chickpea and cod soup which he loved and he's not that into fish, so it was definitely good. We had beer and wine and it was just over 50 euros. Another night we ate in Capoliveri at La Taverna dei Poeti and again had a great meal, though this was more expensive than Gustavino and I probably preferred my food at Gustavino. It was however, a great experience with the expansive host and his obvious passion for the food that was served. The fish is caught locally by his father. There is also steak and pork for those who are fed up with fish!!

Overall, while our room was disappointing value for money, the resort still scored high as it offered us just what we wanted: peace and quiet, great beach at Calanova with delicious beach side food. Can't fault the service especially at Calanova beach.

If you can't stomach windy, mountain side roads this is not the resort for you!

Room Tip: avoid room 108 and research more on what is available. Ours was deemed to be a superior room as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    17
    17
    9
See reviews for
64
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the tents that are situated in the grounds of this hotel and vineyard and had a fantastic holiday. The tent was beautifully situated on a headland looking out over the sea. We had a very relaxing week and made good use of the tennis courts, bike rental, pool and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this as a family holiday location but with the long dirt road to get there and some of the hills a car is essential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

First, thanks to the wineyard, this place is an agriturismo. However, this is probably the biggest i ever went to: several villas, flats and rooms. This is really a resort with tennis courts, swimming pool, riding available, etc. The flats are clean, with bbq and big terasses. On the cons, flat are all looking at square court, which can be a bit noisy during summer time. But apart of this, you have 450 ha of space for hiking, beaching, and this place is a heaven for bike lover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monaco_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed Here for a week for a holiday. 
This place of Elba is beautiful, but how many problems this residence!!!
1)to get to the resort you have to proceed along an off road street for 15 km with a lot of holes, no lights and acrossed by wild pigs at night: unbelievable!!!or you have a motocross or with a car is very very hard! once you ger there it will be very hard that you move from there to discover Elba.
2) I stayed in a monoflat but very minimal and very small for 2 persons.
3)staff: absolutely unfriendly and rud. Once you have payed they do not care for your needs.
4)restaurant: expensive, second rate and with impolite waiters.
4) beaches around the resort are nice, rocky and sandy but very hard to reach on foot and bikes.
5)tennis: good levels of the masters but the courts are not so special.mostly the courses are attended by children and not from adults too as they advertise.
By the way Costa they Gabbiani is a very beautiful natural park to visit but not where to spend a holiday in Elba!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

If you want to relax , enjoy the silence, dive into deep blue waters this is your spot .
I was in the Villa Gabbiani with friends , nobody around, only seagulls and mediterranean nature.
Elegant service at the restaurants with excellent simple italian food .
This is the best venue I have seen on Elba island and maybe in whole italy .
Wow factor garanteed !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poupee60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at ripe alte. The way to the hotel was shocking, because the road was in a very bad condition. We need ca. 10 minutes from the nearest city (Capoliveri), but the view was breathtaking! We came perfectly at sunset (we saw the sun went down to the sea). The next day we hiked around, and went to the beach to coll down with a swim! The hotel has 3 private beach (you can take your pivate stuff and leave it at the beach). The national park was very beautiful, you can see mountain goats. I hope I am pretty helpful with my review. There were many flies at the apartment, but we killed them all =) .. but this hotel is the only hotel in the middle of the national park .. so for the picky *bit*hes*, don't stay here. But if love nature you will love tenuta delle ripalte.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wawau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capoliveri
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
2.7 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
12.1 mi away
Hotel Montemerlo
Hotel Montemerlo
#1 of 5 in Fetovaia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Capo di Stella
Hotel Capo di Stella
#5 of 5 in Lacona
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta delle Ripalte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta delle Ripalte

Property: Tenuta delle Ripalte
Address: Localita Ripe Alte SNC, 57031, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Capoliveri
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Capoliveri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenuta delle Ripalte 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tenuta delle Ripalte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Delle Ripalte Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing