We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of El Sangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Sangon
Ranked #18 of 40 Canazei B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here early March. I had a very pleasant room overlooking the mountains. The hotel is exceptionally tidy and clean. The owner, Aline, is very helpful and runs a very comfortable small hotel in her home. The rooms are all a good size and the bathrooms efficient and well appointed. The shower is on the small side, but workable. Comfortable bed, but the linens are a not 5 star hotel quality. Nor the bath sheets. They are typical Italian thin cotton ones. But they work. Heated towel rail helps. One downside is the hotel is fully controlled by a master computer. You have to take a room key when you leave the room (unless you get 2), which means the heating turns off.Not a major issue, but a bit annoying. There is a good ski locker with heated boot posts. The location is great. A few minutes walk downhill to the lift and the centre of the town. Coming home you can ski the home trail and a 5 minute downhill walk back to the hotel. WIFI was OK.
My only issue was with the breakfast. It was very mediocre. Aimed more at the european guest. It consisted mainly of wheat breads, biscuits and cake plus a few ordinary cereals and muesli to choose from. Only cows milk. Coffee or tea were ok. No espresso or cappucino, which is something I missed being Italy, the home of coffee. There were only hard boiled eggs offered unfortunately along with a simple cheese, salami and ham offering. Being a small pension this was possibly all that could be offered, but I found it insufficient to start a days skiing on. Good value and a very lovely owner who prides herself on her home. No pool or fitness centre or hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
haifa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is very clean, beautifully decorated, and excellent breakfast.
We were a party of three adults and stayed at the attic.
The only downside was the ceiling that was too low in most of the room space.
Consider staying there only with small child.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline B, Proprietario at El Sangon, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank You for Your review and would like to correct the information given by You talking about our rooms.
Under the roof we have some really beautiful rooms, totally furnished with local wood.
Under the roof is well know that the ceiling can be with different levels and the room (a triple) where You spent Your holiday is positioned in the centre of the house. The entrance, the bathroom, the double bed are positioned in the highest area of the room, where the ceiling reaches 4/5 mt. of height. Only the single bed is in a lower area (enough to stand and sit on the bed) and the wardrobe is in an higher again.
Our rooms under the roof are perfectly liveable with no restriction. Also our affectionate guest always ask the possibility to spend their holiday in those rooms for their mountain style and the warmth of this ambient.

In our area we are under rules that do not allow the building of rooms with measures under a minimum standard!!!

We thank You again and wish You all the best to you and family. Please bring our best regards to Your daughter in particular, hoping she had a good healing after her illness of the last days.
Aline, Fam. Valentini and El Sangon staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A group of Wharfedale Harriers, 9 runners and 2 support came to Canazei for the Skyrace. Three of us booked into El Sangon after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we were delighted. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very helpfull. Location was brilliant, rooms very clean and bright, breakfast excellent.
I had a single room and If asked how my stay could have been improved ! I would have liked Tea making facilities in my room and a larger bed. That said i would definitely book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

For our skiing trip,(2nd time and 4 places) this was the greatest place we have stayed at. Central,Quiet,2 mins to cable car, and a home away from home.

Room Tip: Front and R/H side for Sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed four nights with two friends. We had booked in for two double rooms as we were supposed to be four people. However, when only the three of us showed up, the owner had no problems in making an extra bed in one of the rooms so we didnt have to rent two, which made the accomodation cheaper for us. The location is great as you can almost ski straight into the hotel from the slopes. As Canazei is small, everything is close anyway. Would not hesitate to coming back here next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundtheworld69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We are a family of 4 persons. Husband and wife 50 years old, son and daughter 17 years old.

We stayed in a “family room” which is actually two separate rooms connected through a door. Each room has a bathroom with toilet, basin, bide and shower or bathtub. The rooms we stayed in was number 21 and 22. Unfortunately room 21 had a bathtub that was built in with tiles without ventilation so there was damp underneath leaving a strong bad smell in the bathroom. So we didn’t use that bathroom at all during our stay. Instead all four of us used the bathroom in no 22 which had a shower and no bad smell. It is a construction error of the bathtub, so I would recommend you to beware not to stay in such a room before it is reconstructed.

During our stay the locks to the skilockers in the basement didn’t function very well, so some people ended up not locking the cupboards. But I am sure the hotel owner will rectify this in the future. To us it was not a big problem since the hotel owner helped us unlock it with a master key.

One day, when it was snowing, windy and foggy, my daughter and myself thought of staying at the hotel during the day and read a good book or do some knitting. Then we realized that there is no sofas or comfortable place to sit and relax. There is an area at the first floor next to the breakfast room, but only with chairs and tables. So we ended up going by bus to Moena for some sightseeing instead..

This might sound negative, but it’s not. What I mention above are the only things I can think about that wasn’t perfect. The hotel is definitely in my opinion a great place to stay at. Clean, good rooms with balcony and only a very short walk from the cabin that takes you up to the skiarea. And the beds were very comfortable with really good mattresses.

I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbe-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline B, Proprietario at El Sangon, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guests,
We read with genuine concern your recent review of 'El Sangon'.

As you know 'El Sangon' was recently totally refurbished and redecorated to provide our guests with an exceptional level of comfort and style.
We spared no expense in design, reconstruction or quality furnishings, not to mention the many energy saving and high tech systems incorporated in the building.

So we are understandably extremely concerned to hear you had a problem with one of our new bathrooms! The bathroom in question, was designed for the local cold climate, and includes computer controlled heating and forced ventilation systems. Failure to activate the ventilation for an appropriate time could result in 'sauna' like conditions and potentially a heavy aroma.

We can assure you we have had no previous or past occurrence of the conditions you reported.


The new ski lockers were installed in December 2010.
They utilise the latest electronic operated, digital code security locks . During your stay we noted that these locks were being de-coded and re-coded through accidental misuse.
We have now installed clearer instructions on how to operate the personal security locks...so hopefully this will resolve this issue.


We are genuinely very concerned about any problems, be they ever so small, that our guests may experience during their stay.

We wish to reassure you that we do our utmost to provide the best possible service,and we hope to see you again at El Sangon.

Aline, Fam. Valentini and "El Sangon" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at El Sangon for a week and can only recommend this place. Everything is modern and clean, a nice breakfast with boiled eggs anf fresh pastries. The B&B is 200 meters from the main cable car in Canazei. The hostess Aline speaks English and was very helpful through our stay. Canazei is part of the Dolomiti Super Ski system and offers extremely good skiing. Canazei is a small town with nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canazei hotels
1.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#11 of 51 in Canazei
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garni Ciamorc
Garni Ciamorc
#23 of 51 in Canazei
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sangon

Property: El Sangon
Address: Strada de Ciampac 3, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new rebuilt B&B, in a quiet place, 5 minutes of walk to the historical and commercial centre of the village, and 2 minutes to the lifts of the Belvedere Ski and walking Area. The familiar and young accomodation offers singles, doubles, and triples, with private services, safe, Tv-sat, hairdryer, free W-lan, balcony. Breakfast is served on buffet. There's also a comfortable bar, skis and bikes depot with lockers and boots-dryer, internet point (free) wireless area, lift . A private parking and a sunny terrace complete the house named "el Sangon". Starting from July 2013 we produce clean energy with photovoltaic panels. Our commitment to the environment continues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Sangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing