We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Chalet Violetta but Chalet Traviata”
Review of Chalet Violetta

Chalet Violetta
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canazei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Violetta
Ranked #26 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Canazei
Wrexham North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not Chalet Violetta but Chalet Traviata”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a week at Chalet Traviata on 2nd February 2013. This was the 3rd time we had stayed at this Chalet. Some friends had stayed a few weeks prior and a few complaints had been made about the food. I e-mailed Crystal 2 weeks prior to departure regarding the food complaints, and in fairness to them, they investigated and came back with a detailed reply, and assured me that systems had been put in place to improve standards. During the week we stayed (a group of 6 skiers) the food was very good. The staff as always were great, and the Chalet was very clean and always warm. We used to leave the hotel at just before 8:15 and get the bus to main gondola. Never had to wait longer than a couple of minutes. Yes the main gondola can get busy after 9 in the morning, but if you are there by 8:30 you will not have to wait longer than 5 minutes. If you're moaning about the lift queue, get there by 8:30. Alternatively, get the bus the other way and go to Alba. Get off at the cable car park and have a lovely couple of hours playing. Ski over to Pozza, then back, finishing off with the 2kms black (really a French red) under the cable car. After that, get the bus to Canazei. Canazei is a nice, traditional Italian resort. We used to finish the day with the home run back to resort, then into the Rosengarten pub at about 5 o'clock (which is a couple of hundred metres from the end of the home run, and you walk past it going back into resort) Few beers at 4 Euros a pint, then back to chalet for dinner. I would certainly recommend this chalet. It’s always unfortunate when people have a bad experience on holiday, but personally, all our party had a fabulous time. The ski area is incredible. Mainly suited to beginners up to intermediate standard. Not much for advanced, although Arabba has a few slightly more challenging runs. You will not ski a quarter of the available runs in a week. Locals are very friendly although unfortunately, the eastern Europeans are discovering this area and bringing their arrogant attitude with them. Hope they doesn't spoil this area in the coming years. All in all, I would say this is a great place for families and groups. If you are going to this Chalet, or this resort, you will have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Room 2 is next to dining room so can suffer from a bit of noise pre-breakfast and post-dinner. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bucks uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Chalet:
The chalet was warm and comfortable. Take slippers/indoor shoes as no outdoor shoes once inside to keep the tiled floors clean. Large lounge with TV/DVD (take own) and board games.
Tea and coffee self serve available all day in lounge. Self serve honesty bar with very reasonable drinks prices plus choc bars.
Small heated boot room and exit to back of chalet.
Rooms small but clean and comfortable (We had quad room - 11 so knew it would be small but not a problem with the lounge)
Dining room (and lounge) is in basement and so lacks the views of some places and is rather chilly due to tiled floor so slippers/jumper are needed.
Food is fab - nothing fancy just good homecooking and fantastic home made cakes put out from 2pm. Breakfast - cereal, juice, fruit bowl, croissants, bread/toast plus cooked options each day (eg eggs, tomato and hash brown or sausage mushroom and egg)
Kids tea served at 5:30 (pizza, fish fingers, spag bol, chickn goujons etc then pudding)
Adults dinner at 7:30

Childcare:
Great childcare - our two were in whizzkids and so they got taken to and from there lesson every day and given their lunch (half day was 8:30-2)

Location:
As we were there with kids we didnt have much reason to go out and so being 10-15 mins walk from town wasnt a problem. Buses run regularly but less frequetly between 12 and 2pm and can be extremely busy - squeezed on like sardines which is not great for young children but there is often two only a few mins apart so worth wiating for the next one. Sledging/bum boarding outside the chalet was good fun with the kids and when you do walk into town you can walk by the river rather than on the main road.
Bus was 5 mins to Alba (kids lessons are here) and 5 mins to Canazei (access to Sella Ronda)

Skiing
Skiing was fantastic and I would go back for the great slopes and the way they interlinked and were so easy to follow. Canazei is busy and you will queue if you get to the lift after 9:15am until about 10:15 (queue time about 20-25mins) but once up due to number of slopes and access to Sella Ronda in 2 directions it is not too busy on the slopes( esp for half term week)
Alba was much quieter and is where kids under 12 have their lessons. Slopes virtually empty, nice and wide, mainly reds with one black down to the village. Once up teh main gondala it is mainly chair lifts with a few drag lifts.

Costs whilst there:
Very reasonable compared to French resorts and this was a big plus for us
In the chalet - honesty bar - choc bars 1 Euro, beer 1.50, bottle of wine 5 euro and cans of coke 1 euro.
On the mountain and in town - coffees vary 1.3 euro to 2.50 (with cream), hot choc 2-3 euro, Panini 3.8-5 euro and a whole large pizza (share between 2 adults for lunch) 5-9 euro depending on toppings. Beer 2-3 euro small and 4 euro large, water 1.5 etc etc

Room Tip: 11 and 12 look out the front and share a balcony 9 and 10 share a bathroom and overlook the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank animal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here 3 years ago. A party of 10 and our Grand Daughter who was 2. The rooms were clean light and roomy. The food was good and although it was a bit out of Town the buses ran frequently. But we used to walk back from Canazei after skiing as the buses were so full and trying to get on with a 2 year old was not easy,
We are planning to return in 2014. The reason is for the child care. Our Daughter has a 1 year old as well now and they were really impressed last time with the Nursery Care that they want to return in the knowledge that the children will be happy and well looked after. The skiing in the area is really lovely and even if there is not a lot of snow the pistes are kept very well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190735Mandy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A typical Alpine Chalet, nestled amongst the pine trees, above the picturesque village of Canazei, offers all the comforts you'd expect from a well catered lodge with a war and friendly family atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasJRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I don't often go back to the same place, but we enjoyed our stay so much in 2010 that we are going back there in March 2013.

I went with my wife and 4 month old daughter. We opted for this chalet because it offers excellent facilities for those with infants. Lots of equipment such as sterilisers, changing mats etc can be borrowed which is really helpful. The Crystal resort creche is also situated in this chalet. Our daughter was too young to go in the creche but we did have one of the nannies babysit for us one night so had a quick look in the creche and it looked really nice.

We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms which was a good size, clean, light and airy with ensuite shower. Crystal provided a travel cot.

In the lowere ground level there is a lounge, dining room and ski closet. I've stayed in lots of chalets and this one has one fo the best communal areas, with lots of comfy sofas, a big flat screen TV and DVD player, and an honesty fridge which the staff keep stocked with beer and wine. It's a great place to unwind and chat to fellow guests.

Food was excellent throughout our stay, and the chalet staff were in general extremely good - probbaly the best I've ever come across.

The Chalet is probably a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town and the main lift but there is a ski bus stop just across the road and the ski bus service is quite reliable and not overcrowded.

Decor wise I'd say it was a 3.5 out of 5. Clean and functional rather than plush.

Overall, one of the best chalets I've stayed in for the money and had a great holiday. I can see myself coming back here with my family again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank narcoticsuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canazei hotels
0.5 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Col Da La Vila
Col Da La Vila
#14 of 40 in Canazei
46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fedaia
Hotel Fedaia
#5 of 40 in Canazei
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Contrin
Residence Contrin
#2 of 39 in Canazei
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Violetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Violetta

Property: Chalet Violetta
Address: Via Costa 20, 38030, Canazei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The catered Chalet Violetta is well located for accessing the vast Sella Ronda ski area. In a quieter location in Canazei, they have many facilities and house the Pepi Penguin and Whizz Kids Clubs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing