We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this”
Review of Dolomiti Ski Tour

Dolomiti Ski Tour
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your guide to skiing Dolomiti Mountains, Italy…all you need to know for an unforgettable italian dolomiti ski holiday experience. Each of the resort links above has all the information you need on skiing, accommodation, what to do and how to get there as well as FAQ's including advice for families - in fact everything you need to help you plan and book your ski holiday in the Dolomites.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Wirral
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We loved this”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Either way round it was fun. If you are competent skiers it wont take u the time they say. Unlike rest of pistes it was very clearly signed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    36
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dolomiti ski area”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been lucky enough to ski this area twice. 2005 and 2007 and hopefully 2013.
I went with a group who usually ski big areas and like to travel as well as revisiting the best runs.
After Soll, Saalbach, Sauze D'oulx, Mayrhofen, I just had to go back.
The area is stunning for scenery and there are some gems of runs. Based at Selva, the Sella Ronda is great in both directions. Arabba is probably the most demanding. Val Gardena is good but Alpe di Siusi is a bit tame though scenically attractive.
There was good apres ski in Selva but less to do in the evening.
Best runs - down to La Villa, Saslong, Seceda to Ortisei, top to bottom Arabba and others.
This is somewhere you have to do to appreciate it but it may spoil you for others.
Enjoy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Fantastic skiing!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was impressed very much by skiing! I think, it was impossible to visit all slopes during 6 days, but we tryed)
Sella Ronda-we was twice, on ornage and on green way.
We lived in Campitello di Fassa and last day we go by bus to Alba -Buffaro-Pozza,
and we found out the best black slope in Pozza without any tourists-it was like birds' fly!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gulnar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria/Tuscany/Dolomiti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ten Great Reasons to Ski the Dolomites”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a fantastic ski holiday that spoilt me! How else can you start each day on a new slope, be first on the piste, stunning scenery, the “best“ lunch stops other than being on The Ski Safari?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An incredible ski area”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went on a week long snowboarding vacation in the Dolomites, staying at a rented apartment in Campitello Di-Fassa and heading out every day to the Canazei ski area. We've been to nearly all the pistes in the Fassa area (at least, Campitello and Canazei) and covered quite a few in Val Gardena and Arabba as well.

First off the skiing conditions - we went at the very end of february after quite a while of relatively hot weather and no snow. It was about 9 degrees celsius during the day and 3 at night, with very clear skies and lots of sun - yet the snow cannons were working all night long and the staff on the slopes were working all day making all the slopes perfect. We had plenty of good fresh snow every day and never had to struggle with ice on any of the major red pistes.
However I would recommend staying off the blues - they are very flat, sometimes icy, but mostly just uncomfortable for snowboards. Skiers should be fine.

There are lots of parks in the Dolomiti area, we visited the Gardena and Canazei ones and they were lots of fun but mostly for beginner and intermediates. If you're a pro, the parks in nearby austrian resorts will suit you better.

The different huts and restaurants on the slopes serve great Italian food with some Austrian influences, excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable.

Ski lifts are mostly fast and hardly any queues, but there are no park-specific lifts, and the main gondola lifts from the towns to the slopes can get crammed. Not a lot of T-bars, which is a good thing.

Overall being the largest ski area in Europe accessible with one (rather expensive, about 250 eur) pass, there's enough slopes for everyone and you will never be bored there. Services are great, the view is amazing and the feel is relaxed and happy. If you're looking for wild nightlife, huge jumps, or flashy youths - Austria will suit you better. If you're into exploring new pistes every time, amazing scenery and good, relaxing sport - the Dolomiti superski area will be just right.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Moti_Granovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolomiti Ski Tour also viewed

Canazei, Province of Trento
Canazei, Province of Trento
 
Canazei, Province of Trento
Nova Levante, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Dolomiti Ski Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing